Opinion: Florida Citrus Growers United In Fight For Survival

Frank GilesI am proud to report that the 2014 Florida Citrus Show was the best in the event’s history. We enjoyed a record-breaking attendance of nearly 800 people and the show was buzzing with activity on the tradeshow floor and education sessions. Everyone was engaged on a level that I’ve not seen before.
What came through loud and clear during the two-day event in late January was the increasing urgency to find solutions to HLB. Not to say the citrus industry hasn’t already been alert to the threat of HLB, but last year’s fruit drop and the current season’s drop and small fruit have heightened awareness.

The Citrus Show hosted more than 25 educational presentations — many on HLB. Talks focused on what can be done now and the promise of future breakthroughs to fight the disease. There’s plenty to talk about and it was evident during the event.
One of the drivers of the Show’s turnout is the hunger growers have for information on HLB and what can be done to keep Florida’s signature crop viable for years to come.
The discussion on the tradeshow floor and in the education hall drove home the gravity of what is before us. I heard on several occasions the dreaded “infrastructure” discussion. If we drop to this many boxes, will we lose a juice plant? What about custom harvesters, equipment dealers, grove care businesses? The list goes on.

I was told by a few folks who are in the know when it comes to HLB and the research efforts now in play, we might have as little as two years to find a solution or set of solutions to HLB. You can see why there was a sense of urgency at the Show and is throughout the industry.
Growers are increasing the pressure on the scientific community to produce results for the millions of dollars being invested in research. Rightly, they have argued we simply don’t have time to wait on typical scientific time lines where absolutely every “i” is dotted and “t” is crossed. They need answers and tools to fight this disease now.
It puts our researchers in an uncomfortable position of potentially taking a risk on a hypothesis that may not be fully vetted to their liking. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve heard a scientist say, “These are very preliminary findings. We need more research to get proof of concept.”
Those are wise words in ordinary times. These are not ordinary times. The good news is our researchers realize this and I saw evidence at the Citrus Show they are looking to move faster and get solutions to the grove.

On the flip side, growers must appreciate that if researchers step out on a limb and fail — at least they are trying. I had one grower put it to me this way: “If I get a tool or technique to fight HLB and it doesn’t, I won’t be mad at the researcher. I will be mad because it didn’t work.”
The dire nature evident at the Show has kicked things into an even higher gear. Recent funding of $125 million in the Farm Bill and millions more from growers and other sources are putting serious horsepower behind the race to find answers.

During the Show, we heard about some amazing science at work like antimicrobials that kill the HLB bacteria, RNAi technology that will disrupt the psyllid, and much more. We are getting closer to answers.

Finally, I left the Florida Citrus Show with a sense that this industry is as united as ever to win this war against HLB. Growers, researchers, allied industry, even consumers — we are all in this together.

Topics: , ,

Leave a Reply

Citrus Stories
Brandt logo
Citrus
April 28, 2016
Brandt Acquires Majority Interest In Utah-Based Baicor
Baicor will operate as a subsidiary in Brandt’s specialty formulations division. Read More
Jones Potato Farm field in Parrish, FL
Citrus
April 27, 2016
Meet Florida’s New Crop Of Agricultural Environmental Leaders
Annual award program recognizes farmers practicing environmentally innovative techniques. Read More
guessing game using walnuts
Citrus
April 26, 2016
Deception Is A Dish Best Never Served [Opinion]
Recent mainstream media kerfuffle over local food legitimacy stirs up the need for more clearly defined terms, better awareness among consumers. Read More
Cherry Harvest
Citrus
April 26, 2016
Farm Bureau Says Labor Visa Backlogs Threaten 2016 Crops
Agency calls for swifter processing of paperwork so growers' requests for crews can be met. Read More
cash money in hand
Insect & Disease Update
April 22, 2016
USDA Grants $22 Million More To Fund Citrus Greening Fight
The agency has invested more than $380 million between 2009 and 2015 to address devastating disease. Read More
A tattered and wrinkled thank you note
Citrus
April 22, 2016
Happy Trails To A Great Researcher, Better Friend [Opinion]
Dr. Brian Boman worked with growers to examine their nutrient and water use and how practices could be modified to not only lessen environmental impacts, but also increase growers’ profitability. Read More
reactive vs. proactive illustration from Florida Department of Citrus
Citrus
April 21, 2016
Repeat After Me: I Believe In Florida Citrus
As scientists continue to develop new and innovative ways to combat HLB, we must keep consumers in mind as well. Read More
The Latest
Citrus
May 4, 2016
$6 Million Available For Antimicrobial R…
Program to develop strategies to reduce public health risks in food chain. Read More
Citrus
May 3, 2016
New Program Targets Abandoned California…
Bayer and California Citrus Mutual have teamed up to help protect the state’s commercial citrus industry from deadly citrus greening. Read More
Citrus
May 2, 2016
As Hurricane Season Nears, South Florida…
All basins around the region experience rainfall deficits during April as totals fall far below average. Read More
Citrus
April 28, 2016
Brandt Acquires Majority Interest In Uta…
Baicor will operate as a subsidiary in Brandt’s specialty formulations division. Read More
Citrus
April 27, 2016
Meet Florida’s New Crop Of Agricultural …
Annual award program recognizes farmers practicing environmentally innovative techniques. Read More
Citrus
April 26, 2016
Deception Is A Dish Best Never Served [O…
Recent mainstream media kerfuffle over local food legitimacy stirs up the need for more clearly defined terms, better awareness among consumers. Read More
Citrus
April 26, 2016
Farm Bureau Says Labor Visa Backlogs Thr…
Agency calls for swifter processing of paperwork so growers' requests for crews can be met. Read More
Citrus
April 22, 2016
Happy Trails To A Great Researcher, Bett…
Dr. Brian Boman worked with growers to examine their nutrient and water use and how practices could be modified to not only lessen environmental impacts, but also increase growers’ profitability. Read More
Citrus
April 21, 2016
Repeat After Me: I Believe In Florida Ci…
As scientists continue to develop new and innovative ways to combat HLB, we must keep consumers in mind as well. Read More
Citrus
April 20, 2016
USDA Offers $4 Million For Pest Manageme…
Funding to be used to increase crop protection practices, tackle high-priority pests. Read More
Citrus
April 18, 2016
Field Tour Provides Reality Check For Fl…
Annual event allows representatives of federal and state agencies to get an up-close look at Florida agriculture. Read More
Citrus
April 15, 2016
What We Know Now About Citrus Nutrition
Greening has changed how growers approach fertilizer programs. Read More
Citrus
April 14, 2016
Forecast: Brace For Average Atlantic Hur…
Exiting El Niño setting stage for return to normal storm activity in the tropics. Read More
Citrus
April 14, 2016
Behind The Scenes With Miss Florida Citr…
The industry's newest representative is ready to learn and advocate. Read More
Citrus
April 13, 2016
Regarding Alma Mater Matters, It’s…
You don’t necessarily have to wear your competitive edges on your sleeve to succeed, but without a passion and drive for improvement, what’s the point? Read More
Citrus
April 12, 2016
Latest USDA Forecast Says Florida Orange…
Momentum carries over big time from last month’s elevated expectation in output. Read More
Citrus
April 7, 2016
California Citrus March Attracts Hundred…
First annual Citrus Stride raises 150 tons of fresh citrus for state’s food banks. Read More
Citrus
April 4, 2016
Dry Season Conditions Finally Arrive For…
March rainfall mostly below average around region, breaking string of historically wet weather. Read More
[gravityform id="62" title="false" description="false"]