Opinion: Florida Citrus Growers United In Fight For Survival

Frank GilesI am proud to report that the 2014 Florida Citrus Show was the best in the event’s history. We enjoyed a record-breaking attendance of nearly 800 people and the show was buzzing with activity on the tradeshow floor and education sessions. Everyone was engaged on a level that I’ve not seen before.
What came through loud and clear during the two-day event in late January was the increasing urgency to find solutions to HLB. Not to say the citrus industry hasn’t already been alert to the threat of HLB, but last year’s fruit drop and the current season’s drop and small fruit have heightened awareness.

The Citrus Show hosted more than 25 educational presentations — many on HLB. Talks focused on what can be done now and the promise of future breakthroughs to fight the disease. There’s plenty to talk about and it was evident during the event.
One of the drivers of the Show’s turnout is the hunger growers have for information on HLB and what can be done to keep Florida’s signature crop viable for years to come.
The discussion on the tradeshow floor and in the education hall drove home the gravity of what is before us. I heard on several occasions the dreaded “infrastructure” discussion. If we drop to this many boxes, will we lose a juice plant? What about custom harvesters, equipment dealers, grove care businesses? The list goes on.

I was told by a few folks who are in the know when it comes to HLB and the research efforts now in play, we might have as little as two years to find a solution or set of solutions to HLB. You can see why there was a sense of urgency at the Show and is throughout the industry.
Growers are increasing the pressure on the scientific community to produce results for the millions of dollars being invested in research. Rightly, they have argued we simply don’t have time to wait on typical scientific time lines where absolutely every “i” is dotted and “t” is crossed. They need answers and tools to fight this disease now.
It puts our researchers in an uncomfortable position of potentially taking a risk on a hypothesis that may not be fully vetted to their liking. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve heard a scientist say, “These are very preliminary findings. We need more research to get proof of concept.”
Those are wise words in ordinary times. These are not ordinary times. The good news is our researchers realize this and I saw evidence at the Citrus Show they are looking to move faster and get solutions to the grove.

On the flip side, growers must appreciate that if researchers step out on a limb and fail — at least they are trying. I had one grower put it to me this way: “If I get a tool or technique to fight HLB and it doesn’t, I won’t be mad at the researcher. I will be mad because it didn’t work.”
The dire nature evident at the Show has kicked things into an even higher gear. Recent funding of $125 million in the Farm Bill and millions more from growers and other sources are putting serious horsepower behind the race to find answers.

During the Show, we heard about some amazing science at work like antimicrobials that kill the HLB bacteria, RNAi technology that will disrupt the psyllid, and much more. We are getting closer to answers.

Finally, I left the Florida Citrus Show with a sense that this industry is as united as ever to win this war against HLB. Growers, researchers, allied industry, even consumers — we are all in this together.

Topics: , ,

Leave a Reply

Citrus Stories
UAV in flight
Citrus
June 22, 2016
Heads Up: FAA Finalizes Rules For Small Drones
Regulations will create new opportunities for business and government entities to use unmanned aircraft systems weighing less than 55 pounds. Read More
overflowing beaker in science lab
Citrus
June 21, 2016
Sound Science Struggling To Win Over Skeptics [Opinion]
We all want the truth. But can we handle it? Read More
Florida Citrus Industry Annual Conference 2016 crowd
Citrus
June 20, 2016
Florida Citrus Community Rallies Around Promise Of Bactericides, Biotechnology
Industry stakeholders holding out hope for solutions to HLB through antimicrobials and even transgenics. Read More
Precision Citrus LLC's shadeshouse construction site near Lake Wales, FL
Citrus
June 16, 2016
Florida Citrus Nurseries Seeking To Make It In The Shade
Undercover production plans and possibilities starting to take shape. Read More
cash money in hand
Citrus
June 14, 2016
Monsanto Rejects Second Bid From Bayer
Wall Street Journal reports Monsanto seeks bid increase from Bayer. Read More
California's "Citrus Belt" is on the east side of San Joaquin Valley, not far from the Sierra Nevada foothills. (Photo credit: David Eddy)
Insect & Disease Update
June 14, 2016
Asian Citrus Psyllid, Greening Slated For California Grower Seminars
Impressive roster of experts to speak at different locations around the Golden State in mid-July. Read More
Grower Jonathan Brown of Bethel Farms inspects his citrus grove.
Citrus
June 10, 2016
Florida Orange Crop Estimate Climbs Again
For the fourth consecutive month, ground is gained in Valencias. Read More
The Latest
Citrus
June 24, 2016
Is It EPA’s Intention To Help Or H…
A common theme I see in complaints about the government agency is it appears to be taking action more and more based on ideology and public opinion rather than sound science. Read More
Citrus
June 23, 2016
Survey: Consumers Hungry For More Info O…
University of Florida researchers find learning opportunity among poll results regarding genetically modified foods. Read More
Citrus
June 23, 2016
Florida Fruit & Vegetable Associatio…
Mike Allen, a Founder of Politico and its Chief White House Correspondent, slated as keynote speaker for association's 73rd annual gathering. Read More
Citrus
June 22, 2016
Heads Up: FAA Finalizes Rules For Small …
Regulations will create new opportunities for business and government entities to use unmanned aircraft systems weighing less than 55 pounds. Read More
Citrus
June 21, 2016
Sound Science Struggling To Win Over Ske…
We all want the truth. But can we handle it? Read More
Citrus
June 20, 2016
Florida Citrus Community Rallies Around …
Industry stakeholders holding out hope for solutions to HLB through antimicrobials and even transgenics. Read More
Citrus
June 16, 2016
Florida Citrus Nurseries Seeking To Make…
Undercover production plans and possibilities starting to take shape. Read More
Citrus
June 14, 2016
Monsanto Rejects Second Bid From Bayer
Wall Street Journal reports Monsanto seeks bid increase from Bayer. Read More
Citrus
June 10, 2016
Florida Orange Crop Estimate Climbs Agai…
For the fourth consecutive month, ground is gained in Valencias. Read More
Citrus
June 8, 2016
Study: New Yield Mapping Method Might He…
With the possibility of saving money on inputs and labor, UF/IFAS researchers focus to find immature fruit faster. Read More
Citrus
June 8, 2016
AgAmerica Lending Banks On Experience To…
Industry veteran hired to enhance growth of company’s farm loans portfolio throughout Florida and the Southeast U.S. Read More
Citrus
June 2, 2016
Storm Season Off To Extra-Soggy Start In…
No let-up for parts of the Sunshine State still trying to shake off from wettest dry season in nearly six decades. Read More
Citrus
June 1, 2016
Groups Make Push To Challenge DuPont, Do…
Letter from industry organizations say proposed merger could hinder innovation, raise prices, and reduce choices. Read More
Citrus
May 31, 2016
Cannabis Cultivation Quest Becoming Real…
Planning, preparations finally giving way to production and dispensing of ‘Charlotte’s Web.’ Read More
Citrus
May 25, 2016
Monsanto Says Bayer Bid ‘Financially Ina…
Proposal cited as undervalued, not able to address financial, regulatory risks. Read More
Citrus
May 25, 2016
NRCS Invests $4.3 Million To Combat Clim…
The Natural Resources Conservation Service in California is committing funds to help farmers and ranchers mitigate the effects of climate change and help to reduce greenhouse gas emissions. Read More
Citrus
May 24, 2016
Panama Canal Expansion To Bring Trade Op…
Agriculture Commissioner Adam Putnam says a confluence of events is putting the state's producers in a good spot to open new markets. Read More
Citrus
May 24, 2016
Social Media Posts On GMOs Falling Flat …
Hopefully, the hysteria the West has perpetuated on genetic engineering will not stifle the potential of moving our production forward enough to help feed a growing global population. Read More
[gravityform id="62" title="false" description="false"]