Opinion: Growers Eager For HLB Breakthrough

Frank Giles

If you’ve read this month’s cover story, you quickly capture the recurring theme of the search for a game changer. Nearly eight years since the discovery of HLB in Florida, growers are more eager than ever for a breakthrough that will give them hope there’s light at the end of the tunnel — preferably not an oncoming train.

I believe this season’s fruit drop renewed the sense of unease in growers’ minds regarding the pace of this disease’s spread across Florida’s citrus country. All along, growers have put a strong face forward and the majority still is hopeful solutions will be found. But, even the most optimistic personality sometime question whether or not we are on a quixotic quest in this battle. The worst fruit drop since 1969 can have that effect.

When I was interviewing this year’s Florida Grower Citrus Achievement Award winner, Bobby Barben, I was struck by his honest assessment of the uncertainty that is before us when it comes to HLB. But, I got a boost of confidence when he told me he believes in his heart that a solution will be found. He calls it a “game changer.” He says it may not be just one breakthrough, but a series of things that put us on a sustainable path forward.

That is good to hear from someone that is so close to the research aimed at tackling HLB. Barben serves as the chairman of the Citrus Research and Development Foundation’s (CRDF) Research Management Committee, so he closely reviews the projects proposed to take on HLB. He says he also is impressed with the caliber of people who make up or advise the CRDF. Great minds from many different disciplines are hard at work directing dollars toward science that hopefully will lead to a viable future for our citrus industry.

Scroll through the many research projects being funded by CRDF and it drives home the scale of work being conducted right now. When I hear they are scanning HLB-infected citrus trees through little MRI machines, it tells me high science is at work on our behalf. Looking beyond the science, there are other reasons for optimism. The juice processors are stepping up to the plate to invest in the future. Coca-Cola has announced a major planting initiative and investment of $2 billion in the state’s citrus industry. That’s right — “B” for a billion.

Partnering with Cutrale Citrus Juices and Peace River Citrus Products, Coca-Cola’s investment will enable the growers to plant 25,000 acres of orange trees. In my mind, that is another good shot of confidence this industry is nowhere near ready to throw in the towel.

Perhaps a quick look back at the history of other agricultural pest and disease problems hint that a game changer is en route for HLB. Many invasive plant pests and diseases have been defeated, including the eradication of the Asian longhorned beetle in Illinois, New Jersey, and Islip, NY; numerous exotic fruit fly outbreaks in Florida, Texas, and California; the wheat disease Karnal bunt in Texas and California; plum pox virus in Pennsylvania and Michigan; the boll weevil from all 17 cotton-producing states with the exception of the Lower Rio Grande Valley; and Khapra beetle infestations in a number of states.

But, probably what gives me the most confidence in the future is this quote from Barben during our conversation: “I believe we have a chance, no matter what, because Florida citrus growers are tough. All those freezes in the 1980s, I saw growers go out and replant with their last dollar. Those were tough times too, but we survived them and came out the other end.”

Topics: ,

Leave a Reply

Citrus Stories
UAV in flight
Citrus
June 22, 2016
Heads Up: FAA Finalizes Rules For Small Drones
Regulations will create new opportunities for business and government entities to use unmanned aircraft systems weighing less than 55 pounds. Read More
overflowing beaker in science lab
Citrus
June 21, 2016
Sound Science Struggling To Win Over Skeptics [Opinion]
We all want the truth. But can we handle it? Read More
Florida Citrus Industry Annual Conference 2016 crowd
Citrus
June 20, 2016
Florida Citrus Community Rallies Around Promise Of Bactericides, Biotechnology
Industry stakeholders holding out hope for solutions to HLB through antimicrobials and even transgenics. Read More
Precision Citrus LLC's shadeshouse construction site near Lake Wales, FL
Citrus
June 16, 2016
Florida Citrus Nurseries Seeking To Make It In The Shade
Undercover production plans and possibilities starting to take shape. Read More
cash money in hand
Citrus
June 14, 2016
Monsanto Rejects Second Bid From Bayer
Wall Street Journal reports Monsanto seeks bid increase from Bayer. Read More
California's "Citrus Belt" is on the east side of San Joaquin Valley, not far from the Sierra Nevada foothills. (Photo credit: David Eddy)
Insect & Disease Update
June 14, 2016
Asian Citrus Psyllid, Greening Slated For California Grower Seminars
Impressive roster of experts to speak at different locations around the Golden State in mid-July. Read More
Grower Jonathan Brown of Bethel Farms inspects his citrus grove.
Citrus
June 10, 2016
Florida Orange Crop Estimate Climbs Again
For the fourth consecutive month, ground is gained in Valencias. Read More
The Latest
Citrus
June 24, 2016
Is It EPA’s Intention To Help Or H…
A common theme I see in complaints about the government agency is it appears to be taking action more and more based on ideology and public opinion rather than sound science. Read More
Citrus
June 23, 2016
Survey: Consumers Hungry For More Info O…
University of Florida researchers find learning opportunity among poll results regarding genetically modified foods. Read More
Citrus
June 23, 2016
Florida Fruit & Vegetable Associatio…
Mike Allen, a Founder of Politico and its Chief White House Correspondent, slated as keynote speaker for association's 73rd annual gathering. Read More
Citrus
June 22, 2016
Heads Up: FAA Finalizes Rules For Small …
Regulations will create new opportunities for business and government entities to use unmanned aircraft systems weighing less than 55 pounds. Read More
Citrus
June 21, 2016
Sound Science Struggling To Win Over Ske…
We all want the truth. But can we handle it? Read More
Citrus
June 20, 2016
Florida Citrus Community Rallies Around …
Industry stakeholders holding out hope for solutions to HLB through antimicrobials and even transgenics. Read More
Citrus
June 16, 2016
Florida Citrus Nurseries Seeking To Make…
Undercover production plans and possibilities starting to take shape. Read More
Citrus
June 14, 2016
Monsanto Rejects Second Bid From Bayer
Wall Street Journal reports Monsanto seeks bid increase from Bayer. Read More
Citrus
June 10, 2016
Florida Orange Crop Estimate Climbs Agai…
For the fourth consecutive month, ground is gained in Valencias. Read More
Citrus
June 8, 2016
Study: New Yield Mapping Method Might He…
With the possibility of saving money on inputs and labor, UF/IFAS researchers focus to find immature fruit faster. Read More
Citrus
June 8, 2016
AgAmerica Lending Banks On Experience To…
Industry veteran hired to enhance growth of company’s farm loans portfolio throughout Florida and the Southeast U.S. Read More
Citrus
June 2, 2016
Storm Season Off To Extra-Soggy Start In…
No let-up for parts of the Sunshine State still trying to shake off from wettest dry season in nearly six decades. Read More
Citrus
June 1, 2016
Groups Make Push To Challenge DuPont, Do…
Letter from industry organizations say proposed merger could hinder innovation, raise prices, and reduce choices. Read More
Citrus
May 31, 2016
Cannabis Cultivation Quest Becoming Real…
Planning, preparations finally giving way to production and dispensing of ‘Charlotte’s Web.’ Read More
Citrus
May 25, 2016
Monsanto Says Bayer Bid ‘Financially Ina…
Proposal cited as undervalued, not able to address financial, regulatory risks. Read More
Citrus
May 25, 2016
NRCS Invests $4.3 Million To Combat Clim…
The Natural Resources Conservation Service in California is committing funds to help farmers and ranchers mitigate the effects of climate change and help to reduce greenhouse gas emissions. Read More
Citrus
May 24, 2016
Panama Canal Expansion To Bring Trade Op…
Agriculture Commissioner Adam Putnam says a confluence of events is putting the state's producers in a good spot to open new markets. Read More
Citrus
May 24, 2016
Social Media Posts On GMOs Falling Flat …
Hopefully, the hysteria the West has perpetuated on genetic engineering will not stifle the potential of moving our production forward enough to help feed a growing global population. Read More
[gravityform id="62" title="false" description="false"]