Opinion: Sleepless In Citrus Country

The week of January 4–11 is going to be remembered around the Florida citrus industry as the freeze that wouldn’t go away. Honestly, I can’t recall anything like the number of cold days we had in a row, and neither can any growers I talk to who have a much deeper institutional knowledge of Florida citrus than I do.

The freeze caused considerable frozen fruit as well as twig and leaf damage. Mutual did hear of several growers cutting solid ice. We are still trying to determine whether there was significant long-term tree damage. As we all know, those things play out over time.

Scanning The Scene

The north (Lake County) and west side of the citrus belt along Pasco, East Hillsborough, Western Polk, Desoto, Hardee, and Hendry appeared to receive the brunt of cold temperatures on January 10–11. The Central region and Indian River region appeared to come through the week in OK shape but there could be isolated or low-lying areas where damage occurred. This was good news for our fresh grapefruit industry.

Temperatures on the Ridge over the weekend of the 10th and 11th were colder than expected and did significant damage in some groves. The outcome can often be a block-by-block situation. I stood in groves after the freeze where one side of the road was wrecked and the other side came out fine.

Breaking The Ice

While growers worked hard to keep their trees protected during the cold snap, Mutual did its part. Since our founding in 1948, our organization has been looked to by members as a source of accurate weather information. Throughout the freeze, our field staff was in constant communication with their grower contacts to determine what was happening. The staff briefed me and our communications department each morning to make sure everyone had good information when the media came calling. And boy, did they come calling. Over the course of the week, Mutual fielded more than 100 inquiries from The Weather Channel to CNN to the New York Times and to the Lake Wales News. Publications in Canada, France, and even Japan contacted us to get updates. The inquiries led to several hundred articles across the globe on Florida’s citrus crop. In fact, I did a Google search on “Florida Citrus Mutual” on January 12th and more than 600 stories popped up.

Real News

I could chalk the media crush up to a slow news day, but what the flood of calls really tell me is that Florida citrus is still relevant and the public cares about our crop and our product. Growers should be proud of that fact. People want to know if they will be able to buy Florida orange juice and fresh citrus. Can you imagine how we would feel if a freeze hit and nobody called?

Our communications strategy during the freeze extended to Florida’s elected officials and I want to acknowledge their efforts. Mutual was able to host U.S. Rep. Adam Putnam, Gov. Charlie Crist, and U.S. Senate candidate Marco Rubio on grove tours so they could see the effects first hand. Thanks to Putnam, Commissioner Charles Bronson, and Gov. Crist for acting so quickly to get a disaster declaration request to U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Vilsack. The Florida citrus industry also appreciates Crist and Bronson’s efforts in easing trucking restrictions for four weeks in January so our harvesters could get salvaged fruit out of the grove and to the processing plant.

A Hardy Bunch

Let me tell you the strength and resiliency of the Florida citrus grower was once again on display in this time of crisis. Despite sleepless nights for more than a week and frayed nerves, growers still seemed upbeat in the days after the freeze. Once again, they are confident we can rebound from this weather event like we have so many times. I applaud you and your families.

As we move forward, I can assure you Mutual will disseminate the latest, most accurate information to our membership. We also will continue to talk to state and federal elected officials and regulators to ensure they are aware of the situation and making decisions to assist the Florida citrus grower.

Leave a Reply

Citrus Stories
Citrus
November 14, 2017
USDA Announces Grants to Promote IPM Practices
Methyl bromide transition, crop protection management among programs funded. Read More
Biocontrols Conference
November 13, 2017
Biostimulants Making Big Strides as It Seeks Organization
The inaugural BiocontrolsSM USA East Conference & Expo in Orlando, FL, featured two days of educational sessions focused on how Read More
Biocontrols Conference
November 13, 2017
So What Exactly Are Biostimulants, Anyway?
Biostimulants are one of the hottest new topics in specialty crops, but most growers could use a little clarity on where they fit. Here are the basics you need to know. Read More
Biocontrols Conference
November 13, 2017
Microbial-based Biostimulants: Big Potential in Small Packages
There is no shortage of interest in or questions and opinions about biostimulants. Many are working to develop them as Read More
Citrus fruit drop from Hurricane Irma as seen during Biocontrols East 2017 tour
Citrus
November 9, 2017
Forecasters Subtract another Slice from Florida Citrus
USDA’s second stab at the season thins orange crop by another 7%; would be lowest output in more than 70 years. Read More
Citrus
November 7, 2017
New Tool Helps Growers Improve Phosphorus Efficiency
Technology newly available to specialty crop growers provides economic and environmental benefits. Read More
Citrus
November 7, 2017
Comments Sought in Ag Water Component of FSMA
Growers and other interested parties are encouraged by United Fresh to weigh in on agricultural water requirements in the Food Safety Modernization Act. Read More
Sun-and-moon
Citrus
November 7, 2017
Study: Circadian Clock in Plants May Boost Water Efficiency
The Texas A&M team that won a 2017 Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine on circadian rhythm at a molecular level turn their attention to plants. Read More
Citrus stew courtesy of Irma
Citrus
November 6, 2017
South Florida Wringing out From Record-Setting Wet Season
Tropical torrents, along with a persistent precipitation pattern, helps break 70-year high-water mark. Read More
Citrus
November 2, 2017
Field Scouting Guide: Yellow Nutsedge
Follow these tips to identify and manage this wily weed. Read More
Citrus
November 1, 2017
Produce Industry Leaders Concerned About H-2C Amendments
It’s been a long time since significant immigration reform that will help American growers has passed Congress. The most promising Read More
Joseph Lowell Loadholtz
Citrus
October 30, 2017
Florida Agricultural Hall of Fame Makes Room for Four More
Outstanding lifetime achievers in the state’s farming sector join elite list of honorees. Read More
Citrus
October 25, 2017
After a Delay, H-2C Is Getting a Committee Review
The Ag Worker Act must make it past the Judiciary Committee to have a chance of making it to the House floor. Read More
Immokalee< FL, Farm and Grove aerial view
Business Planning
October 25, 2017
Matchmaking Made Easy for Land Owners and Seekers
New website provides revenue potential for property holders. Read More
Benny McLean talks Tamarixia wasps during Biocontrols East 2017 tour
Biocontrols Conference
October 23, 2017
Biocontrol Gains Traction in the East
Biological control — whether you’re talking about biochemicals, microbial products, beneficials, or even the relatively new category of biostimulants — Read More
The Latest
Citrus
November 17, 2017
Alico Overhaul to Cut Citrus Production …
Company restructuring aims to integrate legacy businesses and reduce input costs significantly. Read More
Citrus
November 17, 2017
Sustainable Farming Projects in Florida …
St. Johns River Water Management District grants backing to 12 on-farm plans aimed at resource conservation and nutrient reduction. Read More
Citrus
November 17, 2017
Florida Citrus Tree Rehab in Full Swing …
With Hurricane Irma well in the rear view, growers and researchers hope to work groves back to a productive state as HLB rages on. Read More
Citrus
November 14, 2017
USDA Announces Grants to Promote IPM Pra…
Methyl bromide transition, crop protection management among programs funded. Read More
Biocontrols Conference
November 13, 2017
Biostimulants Making Big Strides as It S…
The inaugural BiocontrolsSM USA East Conference & Expo in Orlando, FL, featured two days of educational sessions focused on how Read More
Biocontrols Conference
November 13, 2017
So What Exactly Are Biostimulants, Anywa…
Biostimulants are one of the hottest new topics in specialty crops, but most growers could use a little clarity on where they fit. Here are the basics you need to know. Read More
Biocontrols Conference
November 13, 2017
Microbial-based Biostimulants: Big Poten…
There is no shortage of interest in or questions and opinions about biostimulants. Many are working to develop them as Read More
Citrus
November 9, 2017
Forecasters Subtract another Slice from …
USDA’s second stab at the season thins orange crop by another 7%; would be lowest output in more than 70 years. Read More
Citrus
November 7, 2017
New Tool Helps Growers Improve Phosphoru…
Technology newly available to specialty crop growers provides economic and environmental benefits. Read More
Citrus
November 7, 2017
Comments Sought in Ag Water Component of…
Growers and other interested parties are encouraged by United Fresh to weigh in on agricultural water requirements in the Food Safety Modernization Act. Read More
Citrus
November 7, 2017
Study: Circadian Clock in Plants May Boo…
The Texas A&M team that won a 2017 Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine on circadian rhythm at a molecular level turn their attention to plants. Read More
Citrus
November 6, 2017
South Florida Wringing out From Record-S…
Tropical torrents, along with a persistent precipitation pattern, helps break 70-year high-water mark. Read More
Citrus
November 2, 2017
Field Scouting Guide: Yellow Nutsedge
Follow these tips to identify and manage this wily weed. Read More
Citrus
November 1, 2017
Produce Industry Leaders Concerned About…
It’s been a long time since significant immigration reform that will help American growers has passed Congress. The most promising Read More
Citrus
October 30, 2017
Florida Agricultural Hall of Fame Makes …
Outstanding lifetime achievers in the state’s farming sector join elite list of honorees. Read More
Citrus
October 25, 2017
After a Delay, H-2C Is Getting a Committ…
The Ag Worker Act must make it past the Judiciary Committee to have a chance of making it to the House floor. Read More
Business Planning
October 25, 2017
Matchmaking Made Easy for Land Owners an…
New website provides revenue potential for property holders. Read More
Biocontrols Conference
October 23, 2017
Biocontrol Gains Traction in the East
Biological control — whether you’re talking about biochemicals, microbial products, beneficials, or even the relatively new category of biostimulants — Read More