Why Retail Should Matter To You As a Grower [Opinion]

As a grower, I’m sure you already understand that if there’s one thing people are always going to need, it’s food. Therefore if there’s one industry people are always going to have to count on, it’s agriculture. It would seem then that based on these dynamics, the power would naturally rest in the hands of the grower. As we all know — unfortunately for agriculture — that is rarely, if ever, the case.

headshot_LA_WR

Agriculture is constantly at the mercy of outside influences including weather, pest pressure, market conditions, etc., that dictate what growers plant, when they plant it, and how they plant it. In ag, we often get hung up on bugs, politics, and weather, and consider them to be the driving forces of the industry, but we’re doing ourselves a disservice by not shifting a greater amount of our attention toward one key decision maker: the consumer.

Consumers are in a unique bargaining position when it comes to their food. To them, food is personal, and it’s directly tied to their well-being. With the increasing amount of information available to them, they are making purchasing decisions based on things they hear on the news or read online, that —  whether true or not — are directly affecting you and your business.

I must say, there is a lot of misinformation out there in regard to how our food is grown, and as growers, you are really fighting the good fight by trying to position ag in a more favorable light to the greater public. We consumers (yes, that even includes you as a grower) are a picky bunch. We want what we want, in season or out, and we want it fresh, delicious, and free of any visible defects.

At the end of the day, all of these demands create ripples that can be felt industry wide. Take the somewhat recent introduction of “superfoods” into the American diet. Only five years ago few people had even heard of kale — now it’s featured prominently on menus across the country and promoted in mainstream media almost as if it were the second coming. Hallowed be thy kale. And guess what? Growers are producing more of it.

A grower who runs a U-pick farming operation told me recently that she began to grow the crop due to increased customer demand and then saw a surge of younger customers interested in visiting the farm that she’d never seen in previous years.

We Americans might be a little persnickety and prone to hype when it comes to our food, but when all is said and done, a satisfied customer with a happy belly full of produce means more dollars in your pocket.

If you don’t already, maybe it’s time to start thinking about ways that you can tune into consumers’ purchasing habits. After all, by serving their needs, you’re indirectly serving your own.

Topics: , ,

Leave a Reply

Marketing Stories
Agritainment
CitrusAgritourism Gaining Lots Of Ground In Sunshine State
July 6, 2015
Researchers report more farming operations are growing revenue by hosting festivals, tours, wine tastings, and more. Read More
MarketingThe Power Of Local Food [Opinion]
June 30, 2015
Summer is now in full swing and we have entered what I like to call “the season of farmers markets.” Read More
Farm ManagementMarketing Tips From GenNext Growers
June 29, 2015
Whether your business is in its beginning stages of development or is already established and in need of increased visibility, Read More
USDA organic logo
Farm ManagementThe ROI On An Organic Checkoff [Opinion]
June 29, 2015
Organic agriculture is more profitable for farmers than conventional agriculture, according to a recent study published in the Proceedings of Read More
CucurbitsNational Watermelon Association Designs Patriotic Car For NASCAR Racer
June 26, 2015
The National Watermelon Association (NWA), in conjunction with NASCAR racer Ross Chastain’s season long sponsors Watermelon.org and Helena Chemical, want Read More
FruitsHow To Make Social Media Work For You
June 25, 2015
I have a confession to make. I enter a lot of contests. I’ve won gift cards to local restaurants, locally Read More
FruitsConsumer Trends Dishing Up Much Food For Thought
June 17, 2015
The fact that health is top of mind for many is a golden opportunity to talk about the health benefits, value, and flavor of fresh produce. Read More
The Latest
Farm ManagementFour Great Pricing Tips From U-Pick Experts
July 30, 2015
Although each of the growers I talked to has his or her own take on a pricing structure, they all Read More
Farm ManagementHow To Find Your Perfect U-Pick Pricing Structure
July 30, 2015
If there’s one mission impossible for pick-your-own operations, it might just be how to set a pricing structure. Odds are you’ve Read More
Farm ManagementGenNext Growers Taking Marketing To The Next Level
July 7, 2015
In part two of our Marketing Tips From 14 GenNext Growers feature, we conclude with the remaining marketing and branding Read More
Agritainment
CitrusAgritourism Gaining Lots Of Ground In Sunshine State
July 6, 2015
Researchers report more farming operations are growing revenue by hosting festivals, tours, wine tastings, and more. Read More
MarketingThe Power Of Local Food [Opinion]
June 30, 2015
Summer is now in full swing and we have entered what I like to call “the season of farmers markets.” Read More
Farm ManagementMarketing Tips From GenNext Growers
June 29, 2015
Whether your business is in its beginning stages of development or is already established and in need of increased visibility, Read More
USDA organic logo
Farm ManagementThe ROI On An Organic Checkoff [Opinion]
June 29, 2015
Organic agriculture is more profitable for farmers than conventional agriculture, according to a recent study published in the Proceedings of Read More
CucurbitsNational Watermelon Association Designs Patriotic Car F…
June 26, 2015
The National Watermelon Association (NWA), in conjunction with NASCAR racer Ross Chastain’s season long sponsors Watermelon.org and Helena Chemical, want Read More
FruitsHow To Make Social Media Work For You
June 25, 2015
I have a confession to make. I enter a lot of contests. I’ve won gift cards to local restaurants, locally Read More
FruitsConsumer Trends Dishing Up Much Food For Thought
June 17, 2015
The fact that health is top of mind for many is a golden opportunity to talk about the health benefits, value, and flavor of fresh produce. Read More
CitrusParamount Farms Renamed As Part Of The Wonderful Compan…
June 9, 2015
Roll Global officially changed its name to The Wonderful Company recently. This strategic move will align the company’s long-standing passion Read More
debate over GMOs and global warming
CitrusStudy: Many Unwilling To Waver On GMOs, Global Warming
June 3, 2015
Even after supplied with scientific information, few opinions flex regarding touchy subjects. Read More
FruitsTips To Prevent Theft At Your Farm Market
June 1, 2015
Last fall, Mark Ruben and his employees at Gilcrease Orchard in Las Vegas, NV, were robbed at gunpoint by two Read More
CitrusSenate OKs Trade Priorities And Accountability Act
May 26, 2015
Late on the evening of Friday, May 22, the U.S. Senate approved the Trade Priorities And Accountability Act (TPA) of Read More
Apples & PearsSounding Off On Record Purchase Of Apples
May 26, 2015
Recently USDA’s Agriculture Marketing Service announced the purchase of 34.9 million pounds of fresh apples and 16.1 million pounds of Read More
Operation Outdoor Freedom participants
CitrusFlorida Proud To Be Home Of The Brave [Opinion]
May 25, 2015
Operation Outdoor Freedom invites wounded service members and veterans of the U.S. military to enjoy recreational activities in state forests and on private lands. Read More
FruitsUSDA Announces Grants To Enable More Farmers Markets To…
May 7, 2015
Purchasing fresh produce at Farmer’s Markets may get easier for low-income families. Food, Nutrition, and Consumer Services Under Secretary Kevin Read More
Leafy VegetablesLGMA Welcomes New Officers And Board Members For 2015
May 5, 2015
The California Leafy Greens Marketing Agreement (LGMA) welcomed several newly elected members and appointed new officers during a meeting of Read More