Why Retail Should Matter To You As a Grower [Opinion]

As a grower, I’m sure you already understand that if there’s one thing people are always going to need, it’s food. Therefore if there’s one industry people are always going to have to count on, it’s agriculture. It would seem then that based on these dynamics, the power would naturally rest in the hands of the grower. As we all know — unfortunately for agriculture — that is rarely, if ever, the case.

headshot_LA_WR

Agriculture is constantly at the mercy of outside influences including weather, pest pressure, market conditions, etc., that dictate what growers plant, when they plant it, and how they plant it. In ag, we often get hung up on bugs, politics, and weather, and consider them to be the driving forces of the industry, but we’re doing ourselves a disservice by not shifting a greater amount of our attention toward one key decision maker: the consumer.

Consumers are in a unique bargaining position when it comes to their food. To them, food is personal, and it’s directly tied to their well-being. With the increasing amount of information available to them, they are making purchasing decisions based on things they hear on the news or read online, that —  whether true or not — are directly affecting you and your business.

I must say, there is a lot of misinformation out there in regard to how our food is grown, and as growers, you are really fighting the good fight by trying to position ag in a more favorable light to the greater public. We consumers (yes, that even includes you as a grower) are a picky bunch. We want what we want, in season or out, and we want it fresh, delicious, and free of any visible defects.

At the end of the day, all of these demands create ripples that can be felt industry wide. Take the somewhat recent introduction of “superfoods” into the American diet. Only five years ago few people had even heard of kale — now it’s featured prominently on menus across the country and promoted in mainstream media almost as if it were the second coming. Hallowed be thy kale. And guess what? Growers are producing more of it.

A grower who runs a U-pick farming operation told me recently that she began to grow the crop due to increased customer demand and then saw a surge of younger customers interested in visiting the farm that she’d never seen in previous years.

We Americans might be a little persnickety and prone to hype when it comes to our food, but when all is said and done, a satisfied customer with a happy belly full of produce means more dollars in your pocket.

If you don’t already, maybe it’s time to start thinking about ways that you can tune into consumers’ purchasing habits. After all, by serving their needs, you’re indirectly serving your own.

Topics: , ,

Leave a Reply

Marketing Stories
FruitsShare Your Story Of Environmental Stewardship
May 1, 2015
As I wrote this column, Earth day, which is celebrating its 45th anniversary, was quickly approaching. The annual holiday, which is Read More
FruitsExpand Your On-Farm Market’s Reach In A Click Or Two
May 1, 2015
USDA’s local food directories can help promote your business while expanding your reach to new customers. Read More
FruitsWhat USDA Local Food Directory Is Right For Your Business?
May 1, 2015
According to the USDA’s Local Food Directories, there are specific definitions for farmers’ market, on-farm market, CSA, and food hub. Read More
Plato the Publixaurus
Citrus1 Million Promos And Counting Pump Up Florida Farmers
April 30, 2015
Supermarket stalwart Publix pushes Fresh From Florida fare at record level. Read More
MarketingVidalia Onion Committee Kicks Off “V Is For Vidalia” Marketing Campaign
April 28, 2015
Promotion focuses on the benefits of Vidalia onions to younger consumers via digital and social media activities. Read More
Apple Grower of the YearTerhune Orchards Celebrates 40th Anniversary
April 24, 2015
It’s a Mount-u-mental celebration for the 2005 Apple Grower Of The Year and family. Read More
CitrusFlorida Agriculture Rings Up Record $4.2 Billion In International Sales
April 13, 2015
Accomplishment represents third year in a row that Sunshine State exports have topped the $4 billion mark. Read More
The Latest
FruitsUSDA Announces Grants To Enable More Farmers Markets To…
May 7, 2015
Purchasing fresh produce at Farmer’s Markets may get easier for low-income families. Food, Nutrition, and Consumer Services Under Secretary Kevin Read More
Leafy VegetablesLGMA Welcomes New Officers And Board Members For 2015
May 5, 2015
The California Leafy Greens Marketing Agreement (LGMA) welcomed several newly elected members and appointed new officers during a meeting of Read More
CitrusHow You Can Survive The Mobilegeddon
May 4, 2015
The Mobilegeddon is upon us. No, this isn’t a time to prepare disaster bunkers, or buy canned food in bulk. Read More
FruitsShare Your Story Of Environmental Stewardship
May 1, 2015
As I wrote this column, Earth day, which is celebrating its 45th anniversary, was quickly approaching. The annual holiday, which is Read More
FruitsExpand Your On-Farm Market’s Reach In A Click Or …
May 1, 2015
USDA’s local food directories can help promote your business while expanding your reach to new customers. Read More
FruitsWhat USDA Local Food Directory Is Right For Your Busine…
May 1, 2015
According to the USDA’s Local Food Directories, there are specific definitions for farmers’ market, on-farm market, CSA, and food hub. Read More
Plato the Publixaurus
Citrus1 Million Promos And Counting Pump Up Florida Farmers
April 30, 2015
Supermarket stalwart Publix pushes Fresh From Florida fare at record level. Read More
MarketingVidalia Onion Committee Kicks Off “V Is For Vidalia” Ma…
April 28, 2015
Promotion focuses on the benefits of Vidalia onions to younger consumers via digital and social media activities. Read More
Apple Grower of the YearTerhune Orchards Celebrates 40th Anniversary
April 24, 2015
It’s a Mount-u-mental celebration for the 2005 Apple Grower Of The Year and family. Read More
CitrusFlorida Agriculture Rings Up Record $4.2 Billion In Int…
April 13, 2015
Accomplishment represents third year in a row that Sunshine State exports have topped the $4 billion mark. Read More
Summer Foley, Miss Florida Citrus 2015
Citrus6 Questions With Miss Florida Citrus 2015
April 7, 2015
Pageant's much-anticipated comeback brings with it a breath of fresh air. Read More
Farm ManagementLocation Is King When Marketing
March 31, 2015
University of Pennsylvania Wharton School marketing professor David Bell was being interviewed on my local NPR station about his recently Read More
Fresh From Florida Strawberry Parfait recipe
BerriesNew Partnership Sends Florida Strawberries To Puerto Ri…
March 26, 2015
Latest addition extends Sunshine State’s agricultural export reach in the Caribbean. Read More
FruitsHow To Get Started With Partnerships And Sponsorships
March 25, 2015
Mark Saunders of Saunders Farm says your business is never too small or too big to get more value for what you do on your farm. Read More
FruitsValue Through Partnerships And Sponsorships [Opinion]
March 25, 2015
Mark Saunders of Saunders Farms says admission is one way to get value for what you do, but sponsorships and partnerships are the next level. Read More
Summer Foley gets crowned Miss Florida Citrus 2015 by 2004 winner Nikki Upthegrove Matthews and reigning Miss Florida Vicotria Cowen
CitrusMeet The New Miss Florida Citrus
March 24, 2015
Pageant marks comeback of longstanding industry tradition. Read More
Apples & PearsMonster Crops: How Much Is Too Much?
March 24, 2015
With larger-than-ever crops, more new varieties and uncertain markets, we explore the current state of apple production and what it means for the future of the industry. Read More
FNV logo
FruitsBranding Fruit Is A Good Call
March 16, 2015
The new FNV marketing campaign, launched by the Produce Marketing Association, makes sense in targeting teens. Read More