Use Sound (Climate) Science [Opinion]

In doing research for this month’s cover story on climate change and its effects – both recent and what might be expected in the future – I got something of a surprise. A lot of people in the industry just don’t want to talk about it.

I told them I understood. After all, the issue has become heavily politicized. Who wants to kick a hornet’s nest when it’s so much safer to sidestep it?

But it happened not only with the growers I called, but also with some Extension folks, who said frankly they just didn’t want to get into it because it might stir up trouble with the growers with whom they work. That made me wonder.

These are men and women of science, after all. Through the years I have heard more than one grower association spokesperson, responding to this or that ridiculous assertion by a so-called “environmental” group, plead, “Use sound science!”

I was right there in the front row, standing and enthusiastically applauding.

Want an example? How about the Environmental Working Group’s (EWG) inane “Dirty Dozen,” the 12 fruits and vegetables that purportedly contain the most pesticides. Even the EWG, being a “scientific organization,” finally admitted that eating conventionally grown fresh fruits and vegetables was far preferable to a diet bereft of such healthful fare.

Who can argue with basing decisions on sound science? Well, a lot of people just don’t want to believe the truth, and find another explanation convenient.

If one of my children were autistic, I know I’d rather think that they got the condition from something somebody else gave them – such as a vaccine – than that I passed it to them through my genes.

I’d like to think I’d weigh the preponderance of sound science against that specious vaccine argument, and realize there was no connection, but when it comes to one’s children, well, I at least get it.

But climate change – or global warming, if you prefer – isn’t really debatable any more, and denying it isn’t beneficial to anyone. The evidence is absolutely overwhelming.

And sure, it would be easier to say that it wasn’t man-made, but again, it’s going against that thorny notion of sound science.

I can understand growers who are concerned about greater regulations being foisted upon them in an effort to slow down the rate of climate change by government bureaucrats with a profound ignorance of farming. I get that, totally and completely, but the answer is not to deny that climate change is happening.

So what’s a grower to do? Well, first of all, even if you have to admit you might have been wrong on this issue early on – I myself was extremely suspicious, initially – now it’s best to use sound science.

I would fully expect, and in fact, fully support, growers resisting any proposed regulations that weren’t rooted in sound science. Giving the regulators a shot of common sense wouldn’t hurt, either.

But it’s time to move on, to opt for sound science over politics. Of course, this year I’d opt for virtually anything over politics, but that’s not something I editorialize about here, thankfully. No, here we write about fruit growers, researchers, and affiliated industry professionals – who use sound science. ●

Topics: , ,

Leave a Reply

One comment on “Use Sound (Climate) Science [Opinion]

  1. With politics involved there is no room for sound science. The whole mess amounts to a group think situation so as to support a peer reviewed, peer pressure program for continuance of “science grant welfare”. Climate has changed since the world cooled and developed life. Humans having much to do with it is where the nonsense begins. Sound science in climate science is a fantasy and many live in a fantasy world. It has seriously damaged the validity of the peer review process.

Farm Management Stories
Gary Reeder of West Coast Tomato/McClure Family Farms in Florida
GenNext Growers
May 18, 2017
Five Delegates to Represent U.S. at Youth Agriculture Summit
More than 1,000 applied as delegates to help tackle global food security challenge at international event. Read More
Apples & Pears
May 15, 2017
U.S. Apple Board Member Stresses Labor Reform At Senate Farm Bill Hearing
Michigan apple grower says agriculture’s future depends on Farm Bill funding. Read More
Burn ban sign posted along S.R. A1A in Flagler County, FL, due to drought conditions
Citrus
May 15, 2017
Drought Conditions Deepen Across Central Florida
Water Shortage Warning Order expanded to all counties within St. Johns River Water Management District. Read More
Farm Management
May 9, 2017
Promote Efficiency by Taking Advantage of These Tech Tools
From animal housing to tillage, USDA's NRCS has you covered. Read More
farm labor pic for web
Fruits
May 4, 2017
Senate Democrats Unveil New Ag Labor Plan
Feinstein, colleagues introduce legislation to shield farmworkers from deportation. Read More
Port Of Miami shipyard
Citrus
April 29, 2017
Florida Ag Commissioner Pushes for Probe into Unfair Trade Tactics
With a focus on Mexico, letter sent by Adam Putnam to the U.S. Department of Commerce Secretary stresses need for level playing field. Read More
Fruits
April 28, 2017
Don’t Miss the Ripple Effect of Ag Labor
When addressing the topic of ag labor, don’t ignore the ancillary benefits each agriculture job supports. Read More
Citrus
April 27, 2017
Trump Creates Agricultural Task Force
Panel to examine issues facing today’s growers including labor, food safety, and regulations. Read More
Citrus
April 26, 2017
Perdue Sworn in as Ag Secretary
USDA launches Twitter account to help promote the industry. Read More
Judi Whitson, 2016 Florida Woman of the Year in Agriculture
Citrus
April 24, 2017
Who Will Be Florida’s next Woman of the Year in Agriculture?
Nomination period now open for longstanding recognition from FDACS. Read More
GenNext Growers
April 22, 2017
Next Generation of Leaders Gets Yearlong Almond Immersion
Almond Leadership Program enters its ninth year with the 2017 class. Read More
Washington Capitol building
Citrus
April 21, 2017
Alliance Stepping Up Efforts to Protect Specialty Crops
The Specialty Crop Farm Bill Alliance has kicked off its efforts to communicate to Congress its priority needs for the Read More
farm labor pic for web
Citrus
April 20, 2017
Farm Labor Is in Crisis
To have a great crop potentially rot in the field because workers can’t be sourced is probably worse than a weather event taking out production. Read More
Apples & Pears
April 19, 2017
Young Apple Growers Meet with Lawmakers
Apple leaders from across the country discuss ag issues such as labor, trade, and research. Read More
Barnes Farm cabbage field in Hastings, FL
Citrus
April 18, 2017
Florida Growers Seeking Inspiration Need Not Look Far
The firsthand experience of speaking with farmers and actually seeing all the hard work, knowledge, ingenuity, and people behind where our food comes from is invaluable. Read More
The Latest
Citrus
May 20, 2017
Short on Water, Florida Growers Know How…
Through drought, smoke and brush fires, it’s plain to see you farmers have been doing your part to conserve and preserve one of our most precious resources. Read More
Citrus
May 20, 2017
USDA Creates Undersecretary for Trade
Reorganization puts trade, farm production as top priorities for the agency. Read More
Citrus
May 15, 2017
Drought Conditions Deepen Across Central…
Water Shortage Warning Order expanded to all counties within St. Johns River Water Management District. Read More
Farm Management
May 9, 2017
Promote Efficiency by Taking Advantage o…
From animal housing to tillage, USDA's NRCS has you covered. Read More
Citrus
April 29, 2017
Florida Ag Commissioner Pushes for Probe…
With a focus on Mexico, letter sent by Adam Putnam to the U.S. Department of Commerce Secretary stresses need for level playing field. Read More
Citrus
April 27, 2017
Trump Creates Agricultural Task Force
Panel to examine issues facing today’s growers including labor, food safety, and regulations. Read More
Citrus
April 26, 2017
Perdue Sworn in as Ag Secretary
USDA launches Twitter account to help promote the industry. Read More
Citrus
April 24, 2017
Who Will Be Florida’s next Woman of the …
Nomination period now open for longstanding recognition from FDACS. Read More
Citrus
April 21, 2017
Alliance Stepping Up Efforts to Protect …
The Specialty Crop Farm Bill Alliance has kicked off its efforts to communicate to Congress its priority needs for the Read More
Citrus
April 18, 2017
Citrus Growth Path Uncertain as Florida …
According to the latest Lay of the Land Market Report, the waiting game for a solution to greening has tempered groves sales. Read More
Farm Management
April 18, 2017
Survey Says New York Growers Lost More t…
Growers say they suffered more than 50% crop losses in Western New York. Read More
Citrus
April 17, 2017
Florida Flush with Water Shortage Warnin…
Conservation practices preached throughout the state as exceptionally dry pattern persists.  Read More
Farm Management
April 12, 2017
How California’s No-Drought Status…
Find out which previous orders are rescinded as a result of the drought being declared over — and which ones are not. Read More
Farm Management
April 12, 2017
Take the Stress out of Food Safety Insp…
Buurma Farms has a low-tech, common sense system in place that keeps its produce as safe as possible, and makes passing inspections easy. Read More
Citrus
April 10, 2017
BASF Licenses CRISPR-Cas9 Technology for…
Genome-editing from Broad Institute has potential to be a more precise tool to improve ag products. Read More
Citrus
April 6, 2017
Mild or Wild? Here Is Your 2017 Atlantic…
Possible return of El Niño climate phase could sap strength out of any stormy scenarios. Read More
Citrus
March 23, 2017
Count Down the World’s Top 30 Agricultur…
Familiar names and several new faces among annual ranking’s elite. Read More
Business Planning
March 22, 2017
How HortTech Is Solving Grower Challenge…
Dozens of tech companies are looking for solutions to real-world problems vegetable growers face. We take a look at what it could really mean for you and your business. Read More