Get Used To GMOs [Opinion]

David Eddy

Whenever I write about genetically modified crops — the shorthand GMO is commonly used, which stands for genetically modified organism — I usually get feedback from members of the anti-GMO crowd. The comments range from the uninformed, about how Americans will never stand for them in our food, which is ridiculous because they’ve been there for 20 years and now the lion’s share of corn and soybeans are genetically modified; to the unrealistic, who say they will never, ever make their way into fruits and vegetables.

I was reminded of this the other day in talking on the phone with a staff scientist for Los Alamos National Laboratory in New Mexico. First off, just the fact that I found his name associated with the research I was interested in — about how they’re wiping out Pierce’s disease in grapevines, which you can read about here — struck me. I don’t know about you, but for me the name “Los Alamos” has always been associated with the Manhattan Project and black and white movies of nuclear detonations.

I asked about that, and the scientist, Goutam Gupta, said Los Alamos has been doing bioscience research from the beginning, when they began to investigate the effects of radiation on living organisms. More recently, they have become heavily engaged in bioenergy research such as on ethanol, and they employ two scientists focused on trying to come up with transgenic plants from which they can more easily derive glucose, the main stumbling block to ethanol production.

Frankenphooey

But getting back to the fruit research, and how they managed to kill Xylella fastidiosa, the bacteria responsible for Pierce’s disease, the kiss of death for grapevines. Gupta and his colleagues engineered a gene containing a bit of human genetic material, and inserted it into the grapevine. Having heard often enough from critics complaining about “Frankenfoods,” alarm bells immediately went off in my head. But Gupta, unperturbed, explained that they only used the human genetic material because the human genome had been previously mapped and they knew where to get what they needed. Once the grape genome is sequenced, which is expected soon, they will use genetic material from grapes. To which I replied, quite sensibly: “Wow.”

Then I immediately thought of another currently incurable disease in another important fruit crop, citrus greening, or huanglongbing. The disease has wreaked havoc in the orange groves of Florida as well as other parts of the world. It immediately leapt to mind because it has most recently been found, for the first time, in California where I live. Fortunately it has not been found in the San Joaquin Valley citrus belt, at the foot of the Sierra Nevada, where about 80% of the nation’s fresh-market orange crop is grown. Gupta, who was a few minutes late for the interview because he was on a two-hour conference call, explained that citrus greening was precisely the topic of that call, as he is co-chair of the Citrus Health Response Program.

Hanging up, I thought about how we might have practical, commercially viable answers to these menacing diseases facing our fruit crops in the not-too-distant future. I also thought how even the most entrenched Luddite is going to have a hard time saying sure, we can save our nation’s fruit crops, but we’re going to sit back and do nothing. If there’s one thing we’ve learned in agriculture, and the course of human history at large, it’s that science marches on.

Leave a Reply

One comment on “Get Used To GMOs [Opinion]

  1. I don't self-identify with the "non-GMO crowd", but I do agree with them that labeling is a very reasonable expectation. It places virtually no extra burden anywhere in the supply chain and yet will allow consumers the freedom to choose. Isn't that what a free market is all about?

Grapes Stories
Apples & PearsSolve Your Labor Problems From Within
May 26, 2015
Summer is here, which means harvest season is just around the corner. Hopefully you’ll have the crews you need this Read More
Disease ControlPartnerships Key To Healthy Northwest Vines
May 26, 2015
Washington’s grape industry has seen accelerating growth over the past several decades. That momentum is owed, in part, to the Read More
Disease ControlInland Desert Nursery Is Main Source For Washington’s Clean Vines
May 26, 2015
The Judkins family has been in the business of clean grapevines for more than 40 years. Today, their Inland Desert Read More
UF/IFAS developmental biologist Dennis Gray looks at the progress of grapevines in a vineyard.
Crop ProtectionResearcher Using ‘Precision Breeding’ To Create Disease-Resistant Winegrapes
May 20, 2015
Breakthrough would mean significant savings on pesticide and fungicide sprays. Read More
GrapesMatthew Fidelibus To Be Recognized For Extension Work
May 20, 2015
The American Society of Enology and Viticulture (ASEV) recently announced that Western Fruit Grower™ magazine contributor Matthew W. Fidelibus, of Read More
GrapesUSDA Reports 928,000 Total California Grape Acres
May 12, 2015
But Allied Grape Growers’ numbers suggest there are a lot more non-bearing acres. Read More
GrapesAre Robots The Future Of Grapevine Pruning?
May 12, 2015
A new robotic pruner being developed uses cameras to build 3-D images that help it determine where to make pruning cuts. Read More
The Latest
Disease ControlTips For Grapevine Trunk Disease Diagnostics, Preventio…
May 28, 2015
Various pathogens and environmental factors are considered to be major threats to the vineyard’s health. Pathogens are disease-causing organisms such Read More
GrapesDeadline Extended For Crucial Winegrape Disease And Pes…
May 27, 2015
Returned ballots to continue the Pierce’s Disease/Glassy-Winged Sharpshooter referendum must be returned by June 10. Read More
EquipmentThe Benefits Of Vineyard Mechanization
May 27, 2015
Labor accounts for a substantial fraction of the production costs of most fruits, including grapes. Manual harvest is particularly laborious, Read More
Apples & PearsSolve Your Labor Problems From Within
May 26, 2015
Summer is here, which means harvest season is just around the corner. Hopefully you’ll have the crews you need this Read More
Disease ControlPartnerships Key To Healthy Northwest Vines
May 26, 2015
Washington’s grape industry has seen accelerating growth over the past several decades. That momentum is owed, in part, to the Read More
Disease ControlInland Desert Nursery Is Main Source For WashingtonR…
May 26, 2015
The Judkins family has been in the business of clean grapevines for more than 40 years. Today, their Inland Desert Read More
UF/IFAS developmental biologist Dennis Gray looks at the progress of grapevines in a vineyard.
Crop ProtectionResearcher Using ‘Precision Breeding’ To Cr…
May 20, 2015
Breakthrough would mean significant savings on pesticide and fungicide sprays. Read More
GrapesMatthew Fidelibus To Be Recognized For Extension Work
May 20, 2015
The American Society of Enology and Viticulture (ASEV) recently announced that Western Fruit Grower™ magazine contributor Matthew W. Fidelibus, of Read More
GrapesUSDA Reports 928,000 Total California Grape Acres
May 12, 2015
But Allied Grape Growers’ numbers suggest there are a lot more non-bearing acres. Read More
GrapesAre Robots The Future Of Grapevine Pruning?
May 12, 2015
A new robotic pruner being developed uses cameras to build 3-D images that help it determine where to make pruning cuts. Read More
GrapesNew Alternative To Hedging Could Be A Canopy Management…
May 12, 2015
Palissage can reduce lateral emergence in the fruiting zone, while also decreasing disease. Read More
GrapesTips For Finding Vine Balance
April 28, 2015
Vine capacity, size, vigor, and crop load all must be considered to achieve ideal vine balance. Read More
GrapesAssessing And Managing Grapevine Freeze Injury
April 28, 2015
After two consecutive brutal winters, growers in the Northeast and Midwest are working to salvage vines. Read More
drought sign water crisis
Apples & PearsDiversification: A Response To Drought [Opinion]
April 27, 2015
With Governor Jerry Brown’s announcement of mandatory use reductions, the general public in California is getting a wake-up call on Read More
Disease ControlNew Fungicide For Wide Range Of Fruits, Vegetables In C…
April 21, 2015
FMC officially enters biological marketplace with first sales of Fracture fungicide. Read More
GrapesThe Economic Impact Of Grapevine Leafroll Disease
April 17, 2015
Different control strategies are recommended depending on the prevalence of the disease in vineyard blocks. Read More
GrapesTable Grape Commission Awarded More Funding To Study Po…
April 16, 2015
The research will ensure California grape exports continue uninterrupted. Read More
GrapesMeet The Expert: George Zhuang, Viticulturist
April 10, 2015
Zhuang, a new University of California Cooperative Extension farm advisor, plans to focus his research on increasing production with fewer resources. Read More