New Horticultural Technology Tools at Your Fingertips [Opinion]

In American Fruit Grower’s special 125th Anniversary issue back in 2005, our editors and contributors had a little fun predicting the developments you would read about 25, 50, or 100 years in the future. My bold prediction for a story you might see in the year 2130: “Mechanical harvesting of fresh fruit will be a reality in three to five years.”

Precision Ag Vision Conference adIt was a mantra we’d already been hearing for a while in the early 2000s. Robotics would soon be the resolution to all of our labor issues, making harvest more efficient and affordable, and taking much of the expensive and often problematic issues of managing people out of the equation.

The technology was generally described as being “right around the corner.” The ideas seemed plausible, though most folks were justifiably skeptical about that timeline.

Predicting technology developments is a difficult game. We often simply extrapolate what we already know: cars, telephones, and harvest crews on ladders become flying cars, video telephones, and robots that pick your fruit. The developments we end up getting, however, prove reality can be more exciting than our imaginations allow.

If you told me 30 years ago I’d be carrying a little computer around in my pocket that would allow me to make a phone call, watch TV, map my route in real time to anywhere I wanted to go, and answer literally any question I could imagine with a couple of taps of my thumbs, my brain would have exploded. Heck, I would have had a hard time just comprehending the idea of typing with my thumbs. But now these things are so commonplace we take them for granted.

Developments in technology for you as a fruit grower — as you will continue to learn about through our HortTech Initiative — are propagating quickly. From remote data collection technology that helps you make better decisions in real time to sensors that combine with artificial intelligence to make production decisions for you, the technology is here and available today. And you don’t have to be a multi-million dollar operation to take advantage of some of these developments — even the humble smartphone in your pocket has capabilities that can take your production to the next level.

New technology like biopesticides and other biocontrols are game changers as well. American Fruit Grower and some of our sister publications at Meister Media Worldwide just hosted the third annual Biocontrols Conference & Expo. The products we learned about and the techniques that are being developed and adopted are changing the way you sustainably manage your crop protection programs

We’re living and working in an amazing time. Take a moment to step back and appreciate all the new ideas that are happening all around you. But just for a moment. Then get back to work figuring out how you can incorporate even a few of these new tools into your production, harvesting, and business management. There’s something there for every grower — no matter what size you are or what crop you grow — that can help you produce a quality crop more efficiently and more profitably.

This time that robotic harvester may really just be right around the corner. And a lot of other technology that may be even more helpful is already here.

Topics: , ,

Leave a Reply

Biocontrols Conference Stories
Biocontrols Conference
March 30, 2017
New Horticultural Technology Tools at Your Fingertips [Opinion]
The new technology of fruit growing may not be what we expected. In fact, it’s likely more than we imagined. Read More
Suzanne Wainwright-Evans speaks to crowd at Biocontrols USA West 2017
Biocontrols Conference
March 6, 2017
More Growers Willing to Bet on Biocontrols
Industry event highlighting alternative pest management methods draws interested crowd to Reno. Read More
Biocontrols Conference
March 15, 2016
Focus On IPM: Biocontrols Provide Progressive Grower Solutions
The Biocontrols USA 2016 Conference & Expo explored new ways to make biological control a mainstream part of your pest management program. Read More
Biocontrols Conference
February 9, 2016
Biopesticides And IPM
Dr. Surendra Dara, Strawberry and Vegetable Crops Advisor and Affiliated IPM Advisor with University of California Cooperative Extension, has long Read More
Biocontrols Conference
February 8, 2016
7 Steps To See If Biocontrols Pencil Out For Your Operation
Have you considered adding biocontrols to your operation? If you have, there’s no doubt you’ve already weighed the potential costs, Read More
Biocontrols Conference
March 23, 2015
Biocontrols Event Draws Rave Reviews
Conference devoted to discussion of biological means to control pests and diseases held last month in Fresno, CA. Read More
Biocontrols Conference
March 9, 2015
Growers Go In-Depth At Biocontrols 2015 Conference & Tradeshow
The first-of-its-kind event brought growers, researchers, regulators, and suppliers together for a two-day discussion on the latest biocontrols tools and technologies. Read More
Biocontrols Conference
February 25, 2015
Biocontrols 2015: Exhibition Sneak Preview
We take a look inside the exhibit hall at the Biocontrols 2015 Conference & Tradeshow. Read More
David Holden
Biocontrols Conference
February 18, 2015
Biopesticides, Biostimulants Show Results In Fruits And Vegetables
From biostimulants in celery and avocado to biopesticides in citrus and strawberries, consultant David Holden conducts in-the-field research that attests to the effectiveness of biocontrols. Read More
Biocontrols Conference
February 10, 2015
New Conference Helps You Incorporate Biocontrols
How well do you know biocontrol? The first-ever Biocontrols Conference & Tradeshow is ready to help. Read More
Apples & Pears
January 22, 2015
Real-World Solutions Highlight First Biocontrols 2015 Conference & Tradeshow
Topping the inaugural event's marquee are presentations on “Driving Crop Quality and Productivity Using Biocontrols” by representatives from two of the largest produce growing organizations in the country. Read More
The Latest
Biocontrols Conference
June 11, 2017
Marrone Bio Innovations Enters into Dist…
MBI to market Jet-Ag fungicide/bactericide to help growers combat plant disease and control bacteria, mold, and yeasts. Read More
Biocontrols Conference
April 3, 2017
5 Graphics that Show How Biocontrols are…
American Vegetable Grower was curious about how biocontrols are impacting the industry. So we took a look at our State of the Vegetable Industry Survey to see what patterns may emerge. Read More
Biocontrols Conference
April 3, 2017
Silicon: Plant Nutrient and Biocontrol A…
Editor’s note: Wendy Zellner made an in-depth presentation on silicon and its use as a biocontrol agent in vegetable crops Read More
Biocontrols Conference
March 30, 2017
New Horticultural Technology Tools at Yo…
The new technology of fruit growing may not be what we expected. In fact, it’s likely more than we imagined. Read More
Biocontrols Conference
March 6, 2017
More Growers Willing to Bet on Biocontro…
Industry event highlighting alternative pest management methods draws interested crowd to Reno. Read More
Biocontrols Conference
March 15, 2016
Focus On IPM: Biocontrols Provide Progre…
The Biocontrols USA 2016 Conference & Expo explored new ways to make biological control a mainstream part of your pest management program. Read More
Biocontrols Conference
February 9, 2016
Biopesticides And IPM
Dr. Surendra Dara, Strawberry and Vegetable Crops Advisor and Affiliated IPM Advisor with University of California Cooperative Extension, has long Read More
Biocontrols Conference
February 8, 2016
7 Steps To See If Biocontrols Pencil Out…
Have you considered adding biocontrols to your operation? If you have, there’s no doubt you’ve already weighed the potential costs, Read More
Biocontrols Conference
March 23, 2015
Biocontrols Event Draws Rave Reviews
Conference devoted to discussion of biological means to control pests and diseases held last month in Fresno, CA. Read More
Biocontrols Conference
March 9, 2015
Growers Go In-Depth At Biocontrols 2015 …
The first-of-its-kind event brought growers, researchers, regulators, and suppliers together for a two-day discussion on the latest biocontrols tools and technologies. Read More
Biocontrols Conference
February 25, 2015
Biocontrols 2015: Exhibition Sneak Previ…
We take a look inside the exhibit hall at the Biocontrols 2015 Conference & Tradeshow. Read More
Biocontrols Conference
February 18, 2015
Biopesticides, Biostimulants Show Result…
From biostimulants in celery and avocado to biopesticides in citrus and strawberries, consultant David Holden conducts in-the-field research that attests to the effectiveness of biocontrols. Read More
Biocontrols Conference
February 10, 2015
New Conference Helps You Incorporate Bio…
How well do you know biocontrol? The first-ever Biocontrols Conference & Tradeshow is ready to help. Read More
Apples & Pears
January 22, 2015
Real-World Solutions Highlight First Bio…
Topping the inaugural event's marquee are presentations on “Driving Crop Quality and Productivity Using Biocontrols” by representatives from two of the largest produce growing organizations in the country. Read More