Opinion: DDT Isn’t All Bad, And Other Lessons

David Eddy

My son and I were watching “Jeopardy!” on TV the other night — we watch pretty much every night unless there’s a ballgame on, because guys have got to have priorities — when the subject of insecticides came up. Specifically, it was DDT, though I can’t recall the exact question.

All I remember is saying something to the effect that DDT wasn’t all bad. He gave me a look like I was a completely ignorant fool — it’s a look I know well because he’s a teenager — and said that basically DDT almost ruined our environment all by itself. I started to protest, and he said that he knew all about DDT because he studied it in his environmental science class. (Though he said it as if he were explaining he chaired the Environmental Science Department at Stanford.)

I again started to argue — I know, as a parent of a teen I should know better — then stopped, because I realized I was once him. When I was his age, my teachers had taught me exactly the same thing. It wasn’t until many years later that I learned that DDT had in fact saved perhaps hundreds of thousands and likely millions of lives.

I realized I hadn’t ever really done any research on the subject, so I took a little time to bone up as I had a lot to learn. For instance, I knew that malaria was still a problem, but I didn’t know that it killed about a million people every year, mostly children. Assuming I can ever get my son to listen to me, he is in for a big surprise.

Teach The Teachers

Years ago, DDT saved a lot of lives. When it was first introduced in World War II, DDT was very effective in reducing malaria morbidity and mortality. The World Health Organization’s anti-malaria campaign, which consisted mostly of spraying DDT, was initially very successful as well. For example, in Sri Lanka, the program reduced cases from about 3 million per year before spraying to just a few in the early 1960s.

DDT was far from perfect, of course. Resistance developed from over-spraying — an important lesson for another day — and it did cause environmental problems. Along with the passage of the Endangered Species Act, the U.S. ban on DDT is cited by some scientists as a major factor in the comeback of the bald eagle, our national bird, from near-extinction in the contiguous U.S.

I’m not going to argue how many lives were saved by DDT or how much environmental damage it did. All I’m saying is our sons and daughters — and their sons and their daughters — should know that an argument exists. They should learn that there are two sides here. They should not be spoon-fed just one side as my son and I were.

It makes me wonder how many kids are taught that pesticides are bad, period. I’ll bet there are an awful lot of them. Here’s where you come in. Any chance you get it, talk to those not involved in agriculture about pesticides. Even better, volunteer to speak at schools. Or church groups. Or garden clubs. Wherever there are people — though it would be preferable to get them when they are young and impressionable — take the time to give them the other side.

Don’t tell me people don’t care about farming. The “So God Made A Farmer” video that aired during the Super Bowl was viewed on-line more than 18 million times in the 10 days following the game. Give them “the rest of the story.”

Topics: ,

Leave a Reply

2 comments on “Opinion: DDT Isn’t All Bad, And Other Lessons

  1. DDT is properly the poster child for stuff that is supposed to create miraculous solutions, but which turns into a bit of a Frankenstein's monster — bombs and bullets do good, too, when they kill bad guys, but that's not an argument for the bad guys just because they used bombs and bullets, you know? If we don't forget the whole story of DDT when we tell it, our kids won't look at us like we did: http://timpanogos.wordpress.com/ddt-chronicles-at-millard-fillmores-bathtub/

  2. I appreciated your article on DDT in the recent Western Fruit Grower Magazine. My sons had a similar reaction when we discussed the issue. I took a course in college called Pesticides and the Living Landscape taught by Dr. Howard Smith at the U. of Idaho back in the early 1980’s. He was a wise old professor who just sat back and let the class argue the issue. We were required to read Silent Spring and then a book called “The DDT Myth” to make sure we had both sides of the story. It changed my view of Silent Spring and helped me to be a more open minded critical thinker. I had both of my WSU Ag student sons read the book as well. It was more effective than me trying to lecture them. There is a new book out now with a similar title: http://www.eco-imperialism.com/myths-and-facts-about-ddt/ and as I’m sure you already know, there is a tremendous amount of other material on the subject found on the internet. While I am not really a proponent of renewing DDT use, I have been on a technical assistance assignment to Niger, Africa and served in Iraq and realize that some proponents have a valid point with respect to human health issues. Your point is well taken. Teachers nowadays should be more like Dr. Howard Smith and present many sides of an issue instead of touting only one side of what some call an “eco- imperialist” view…. But don’t get me started on that topic! Thanks for the thoughtful article.

Fruits Stories
Citrus
September 21, 2017
Hurricane Relief Fund Launched for Florida Farmworkers
Money raised will benefit Redlands Christian Migrant Association’s efforts to aid families in need. Read More
Picking fresh Florida blueberries
Berries
September 21, 2017
Ways Florida Blueberry Growers Can Elevate Their Message
Promotional efforts seek to harness power that drives the Sunshine State's ‘little blue dynamos.’ Read More
Inside the Horticulture field tour wagon at the 2016 Florida Ag Expo
Florida Ag Expo
September 21, 2017
Everything You Need to Know About the 2017 Florida Ag Expo
More education choices, flexible field tours, and networking opportunities to provide an enhanced attendee experience. Read More
Bacterial wilt symptoms on blueberry leaves
Berries
September 20, 2017
Getting to the Bottom of Bacterial Wilt in Blueberries
Prolific plant pathogen now presenting a new challenge for Florida producers and researchers. Read More
Citrus
September 19, 2017
Precision in Specialty Crops Gains Momentum
Here are some of the key drivers that may transform your farm in the years ahead. Read More
Fruits
September 19, 2017
EPA Mulls Restricting Dicamba Use
Proposal is a part of agency’s focus on reducing herbicide injury in vulnerable crops. Read More
Fruits
September 19, 2017
Washington State University Creates BMSB Management Resource Page
As populations grow in the state, university offers growers pest management advice. Read More
Berries
September 19, 2017
UC Davis Strawberry Lawuit Settled
Former university breeders to return any crosses that used unpatented varieties and agree the school owns rights to them. Read More
Neo 1 hops at UF/IFAS MREC
Citrus
September 19, 2017
Hopes High for Hops Fresh From Florida
When it comes to alternative crop solutions, something good is brewing in the Sunshine State. Do you have what it takes to tap in? Read More
Apples & Pears
September 16, 2017
Researcher Finds Bacteria Can Stop Blue Mold on Apples
The natural bacterium found in soil can survive in cold storage; this promising biocontrol offers an alternative to chemical treatments. Read More
Laurel wilt-damaged avocado tree leaves
Disease Control
September 15, 2017
Scientist Uncovers Chilling Side of Deadly Avocado Disease
Lab tests indicate laurel wilt pathogen grows faster in the fall and winter. Read More
Winter melon damage from Hurricane Irma in Elkton, FL
Citrus
September 15, 2017
Help Extended to Hurricane-Weary Farmers Dealing With Disaster
USDA chief grants extra time and special procedures to document and file claims. Read More
raindrops in standing water
Citrus
September 13, 2017
New Guidance on FSMA Ag Water Compliance, Water Testing, and Farm Inspections Announced
FDA issued a rule to extend compliance dates for agricultural water and announced a start date for farm inspections. Read More
Packinghouse damage from Irma at SWFREC in Immokalee
Citrus
September 13, 2017
Florida Farmers Digging out From Impacts of Irma
Damage reports starting to flood in from the field following monster storm, and it's not pretty. Read More
Berries
September 12, 2017
Longtime American Fruit Grower Columnist Charlie O’Dell Dies
“The Ole Crow,” as he called himself, passed away unexpectedly at home in Virginia at the age of 82. Read More
The Latest
Citrus
September 22, 2017
Water Management Concerns Flowing in Flo…
Efforts mounted and executed to move gallons by the ton to protect property. Read More
Citrus
September 22, 2017
When it Comes to Growing, Florida Farmer…
Let's raise a toast to the bold producers and researchers who are taking our industry beyond previously perceived crop viability boundaries to places once figured forbidden. Read More
Citrus
September 21, 2017
Hurricane Relief Fund Launched for Flori…
Money raised will benefit Redlands Christian Migrant Association’s efforts to aid families in need. Read More
Florida Ag Expo
September 21, 2017
Everything You Need to Know About the 20…
More education choices, flexible field tours, and networking opportunities to provide an enhanced attendee experience. Read More
Citrus
September 19, 2017
Precision in Specialty Crops Gains Momen…
Here are some of the key drivers that may transform your farm in the years ahead. Read More
Fruits
September 19, 2017
EPA Mulls Restricting Dicamba Use
Proposal is a part of agency’s focus on reducing herbicide injury in vulnerable crops. Read More
Fruits
September 19, 2017
Washington State University Creates BMSB…
As populations grow in the state, university offers growers pest management advice. Read More
Citrus
September 19, 2017
Hopes High for Hops Fresh From Florida
When it comes to alternative crop solutions, something good is brewing in the Sunshine State. Do you have what it takes to tap in? Read More
Disease Control
September 15, 2017
Scientist Uncovers Chilling Side of Dead…
Lab tests indicate laurel wilt pathogen grows faster in the fall and winter. Read More
Citrus
September 15, 2017
Help Extended to Hurricane-Weary Farmers…
USDA chief grants extra time and special procedures to document and file claims. Read More
Citrus
September 13, 2017
New Guidance on FSMA Ag Water Compliance…
FDA issued a rule to extend compliance dates for agricultural water and announced a start date for farm inspections. Read More
Citrus
September 13, 2017
Florida Farmers Digging out From Impacts…
Damage reports starting to flood in from the field following monster storm, and it's not pretty. Read More
Farm Management
September 10, 2017
$3 Million Available to Train Future Agr…
There are a lot more jobs being created than there are graduates with bachelor’s or higher degrees who can fill them. Read More
Citrus
September 7, 2017
Summer News Stories that Have Growers Ta…
Farming has been in the media spotlight this year. I asked each of this month’s columnists and contributors for their Read More
Citrus
September 7, 2017
Whose Sustainable Standard Wins?
Retailers’ race to win the most sustainable produce prize leaves growers trying to keep up with fast-developing demands. Read More
Citrus
September 7, 2017
Improving Water Management: Can Silicon …
Though very much-needed, technological solutions must be cost-effective and industry appropriate. Read More
Fruits
September 5, 2017
Organic Fruit Sales Surge 12%
Organic vegetable sales rose 6%, as consumer demand is still going strong. Read More
Fruits
September 3, 2017
California Table Olive Forecast Up 9%
Like many other Golden State growers, olive farmers benefitted from a wet winter, but concerns remain over recent hot weather. Read More