Opinion: DDT Isn’t All Bad, And Other Lessons

David Eddy

My son and I were watching “Jeopardy!” on TV the other night — we watch pretty much every night unless there’s a ballgame on, because guys have got to have priorities — when the subject of insecticides came up. Specifically, it was DDT, though I can’t recall the exact question.

All I remember is saying something to the effect that DDT wasn’t all bad. He gave me a look like I was a completely ignorant fool — it’s a look I know well because he’s a teenager — and said that basically DDT almost ruined our environment all by itself. I started to protest, and he said that he knew all about DDT because he studied it in his environmental science class. (Though he said it as if he were explaining he chaired the Environmental Science Department at Stanford.)

I again started to argue — I know, as a parent of a teen I should know better — then stopped, because I realized I was once him. When I was his age, my teachers had taught me exactly the same thing. It wasn’t until many years later that I learned that DDT had in fact saved perhaps hundreds of thousands and likely millions of lives.

I realized I hadn’t ever really done any research on the subject, so I took a little time to bone up as I had a lot to learn. For instance, I knew that malaria was still a problem, but I didn’t know that it killed about a million people every year, mostly children. Assuming I can ever get my son to listen to me, he is in for a big surprise.

Teach The Teachers

Years ago, DDT saved a lot of lives. When it was first introduced in World War II, DDT was very effective in reducing malaria morbidity and mortality. The World Health Organization’s anti-malaria campaign, which consisted mostly of spraying DDT, was initially very successful as well. For example, in Sri Lanka, the program reduced cases from about 3 million per year before spraying to just a few in the early 1960s.

DDT was far from perfect, of course. Resistance developed from over-spraying — an important lesson for another day — and it did cause environmental problems. Along with the passage of the Endangered Species Act, the U.S. ban on DDT is cited by some scientists as a major factor in the comeback of the bald eagle, our national bird, from near-extinction in the contiguous U.S.

I’m not going to argue how many lives were saved by DDT or how much environmental damage it did. All I’m saying is our sons and daughters — and their sons and their daughters — should know that an argument exists. They should learn that there are two sides here. They should not be spoon-fed just one side as my son and I were.

It makes me wonder how many kids are taught that pesticides are bad, period. I’ll bet there are an awful lot of them. Here’s where you come in. Any chance you get it, talk to those not involved in agriculture about pesticides. Even better, volunteer to speak at schools. Or church groups. Or garden clubs. Wherever there are people — though it would be preferable to get them when they are young and impressionable — take the time to give them the other side.

Don’t tell me people don’t care about farming. The “So God Made A Farmer” video that aired during the Super Bowl was viewed on-line more than 18 million times in the 10 days following the game. Give them “the rest of the story.”

Topics: ,

Leave a Reply

2 comments on “Opinion: DDT Isn’t All Bad, And Other Lessons

  1. DDT is properly the poster child for stuff that is supposed to create miraculous solutions, but which turns into a bit of a Frankenstein's monster — bombs and bullets do good, too, when they kill bad guys, but that's not an argument for the bad guys just because they used bombs and bullets, you know? If we don't forget the whole story of DDT when we tell it, our kids won't look at us like we did: http://timpanogos.wordpress.com/ddt-chronicles-at-millard-fillmores-bathtub/

  2. I appreciated your article on DDT in the recent Western Fruit Grower Magazine. My sons had a similar reaction when we discussed the issue. I took a course in college called Pesticides and the Living Landscape taught by Dr. Howard Smith at the U. of Idaho back in the early 1980’s. He was a wise old professor who just sat back and let the class argue the issue. We were required to read Silent Spring and then a book called “The DDT Myth” to make sure we had both sides of the story. It changed my view of Silent Spring and helped me to be a more open minded critical thinker. I had both of my WSU Ag student sons read the book as well. It was more effective than me trying to lecture them. There is a new book out now with a similar title: http://www.eco-imperialism.com/myths-and-facts-about-ddt/ and as I’m sure you already know, there is a tremendous amount of other material on the subject found on the internet. While I am not really a proponent of renewing DDT use, I have been on a technical assistance assignment to Niger, Africa and served in Iraq and realize that some proponents have a valid point with respect to human health issues. Your point is well taken. Teachers nowadays should be more like Dr. Howard Smith and present many sides of an issue instead of touting only one side of what some call an “eco- imperialist” view…. But don’t get me started on that topic! Thanks for the thoughtful article.

Fruits Stories
Citrus
November 14, 2017
USDA Announces Grants to Promote IPM Practices
Methyl bromide transition, crop protection management among programs funded. Read More
Stone Fruit
November 14, 2017
Southeastern Peach Growers Hope for Winter
Chill hours being sought, but the possibility of a La Niña climate pattern could mean a drier and warmer winter. Read More
Biocontrols Conference
November 13, 2017
Biostimulants Making Big Strides as It Seeks Organization
The inaugural BiocontrolsSM USA East Conference & Expo in Orlando, FL, featured two days of educational sessions focused on how Read More
Biocontrols Conference
November 13, 2017
So What Exactly Are Biostimulants, Anyway?
Biostimulants are one of the hottest new topics in specialty crops, but most growers could use a little clarity on where they fit. Here are the basics you need to know. Read More
FAE 17 outdoor equipment display
Florida Ag Expo
November 13, 2017
Florida Growers Explore New Solutions to Age-Old Problems
Farm innovation and alternative approaches to production front and center at 2017 Florida Ag Expo. Read More
Biocontrols Conference
November 13, 2017
Microbial-based Biostimulants: Big Potential in Small Packages
There is no shortage of interest in or questions and opinions about biostimulants. Many are working to develop them as Read More
Berries
November 11, 2017
2018 North American Raspberry and Blackberry Conference to be held in California
Featured speakers at the annual conference, slated for February in Ventura, CA, include Miles Reiter of Driscoll’s. Read More
Fruits
November 9, 2017
Organic Fresh Produce Sales Top $1 Billion in Third Quarter
Sales of organic fruit were up 8.3% year on year, while sales of organic vegetables rose 6.2%. Read More
Grapes
November 8, 2017
California Winegrowers Report Excellent Harvest
Wine Institute: Strong quality across the state as ample rain ended drought. Read More
Crop Protection
November 8, 2017
California Limits Pesticide Use Near Schools
State prohibits many pesticide applications within a quarter-mile of public K-12 schools and licensed child daycare facilities during school hours. Read More
Citrus
November 7, 2017
New Tool Helps Growers Improve Phosphorus Efficiency
Technology newly available to specialty crop growers provides economic and environmental benefits. Read More
Citrus
November 7, 2017
Comments Sought in Ag Water Component of FSMA
Growers and other interested parties are encouraged by United Fresh to weigh in on agricultural water requirements in the Food Safety Modernization Act. Read More
Sun-and-moon
Citrus
November 7, 2017
Study: Circadian Clock in Plants May Boost Water Efficiency
The Texas A&M team that won a 2017 Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine on circadian rhythm at a molecular level turn their attention to plants. Read More
Citrus stew courtesy of Irma
Citrus
November 6, 2017
South Florida Wringing out From Record-Setting Wet Season
Tropical torrents, along with a persistent precipitation pattern, helps break 70-year high-water mark. Read More
Have fun with your promotion of local products
Farm Management
November 3, 2017
7 Food Trends on the Front Burner for 2018
From bug buffets to backyard chickens, UF/IFAS experts cook up predictions for the coming year. Read More
The Latest
Citrus
November 17, 2017
Sustainable Farming Projects in Florida …
St. Johns River Water Management District grants backing to 12 on-farm plans aimed at resource conservation and nutrient reduction. Read More
Farm Management
November 17, 2017
Consumers Forking out Less This Year for…
Annual American Farm Bureau average price report reveals you can host a fine Turkey Day feast for less than $50. Read More
Citrus
November 14, 2017
USDA Announces Grants to Promote IPM Pra…
Methyl bromide transition, crop protection management among programs funded. Read More
Biocontrols Conference
November 13, 2017
Biostimulants Making Big Strides as It S…
The inaugural BiocontrolsSM USA East Conference & Expo in Orlando, FL, featured two days of educational sessions focused on how Read More
Biocontrols Conference
November 13, 2017
So What Exactly Are Biostimulants, Anywa…
Biostimulants are one of the hottest new topics in specialty crops, but most growers could use a little clarity on where they fit. Here are the basics you need to know. Read More
Florida Ag Expo
November 13, 2017
Florida Growers Explore New Solutions to…
Farm innovation and alternative approaches to production front and center at 2017 Florida Ag Expo. Read More
Biocontrols Conference
November 13, 2017
Microbial-based Biostimulants: Big Poten…
There is no shortage of interest in or questions and opinions about biostimulants. Many are working to develop them as Read More
Fruits
November 9, 2017
Organic Fresh Produce Sales Top $1 Billi…
Sales of organic fruit were up 8.3% year on year, while sales of organic vegetables rose 6.2%. Read More
Crop Protection
November 8, 2017
California Limits Pesticide Use Near Sch…
State prohibits many pesticide applications within a quarter-mile of public K-12 schools and licensed child daycare facilities during school hours. Read More
Citrus
November 7, 2017
New Tool Helps Growers Improve Phosphoru…
Technology newly available to specialty crop growers provides economic and environmental benefits. Read More
Citrus
November 7, 2017
Comments Sought in Ag Water Component of…
Growers and other interested parties are encouraged by United Fresh to weigh in on agricultural water requirements in the Food Safety Modernization Act. Read More
Citrus
November 7, 2017
Study: Circadian Clock in Plants May Boo…
The Texas A&M team that won a 2017 Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine on circadian rhythm at a molecular level turn their attention to plants. Read More
Citrus
November 6, 2017
South Florida Wringing out From Record-S…
Tropical torrents, along with a persistent precipitation pattern, helps break 70-year high-water mark. Read More
Farm Management
November 3, 2017
7 Food Trends on the Front Burner for 20…
From bug buffets to backyard chickens, UF/IFAS experts cook up predictions for the coming year. Read More
Farm Management
November 2, 2017
Sustainable Practices Make Perfect for F…
Industry leadership award honorees stand out in setting new standards through innovative technology and BMPs. Read More
Citrus
November 2, 2017
Field Scouting Guide: Yellow Nutsedge
Follow these tips to identify and manage this wily weed. Read More
Citrus
November 1, 2017
Produce Industry Leaders Concerned About…
It’s been a long time since significant immigration reform that will help American growers has passed Congress. The most promising Read More
Fruits
November 1, 2017
Southeast Invaded by Brown Marmorated St…
Sightings of notorious pest in Mississippi, though crops have been spared so far. Read More