Road Trip Provides Hands-On Educational Opportunity [Opinion]

My mom, Regina, recently joined me on a road trip to upstate New York to visit Apple Grower of the YearSM Rod Farrow’s orchard as well as a few other orchards to research for future stories. As a schoolteacher on summer break, it was a nice treat for my mother to see what I do and to get a snapshot of what modern apple orchards look like.

Essentially she got a crash course in horticulture and a working knowledge of what I know in two days.

We looked at training systems, new varieties, and even talked profitability of blocks. We went wine and hard cider tasting, and I even persuaded her to go sweet cherry picking one rainy afternoon. Thank goodness for high tunnels!

The car rides in-between stops were a time for me to answer questions she might have and fill in the gaps about what she saw and understood.

She marveled at the type of production systems that you have in place and just how much effort is put into the trees you cultivate.

But, what struck her the most was the pride you have in what you do. She was truly awestruck at the care and the lengths you go to get your apples to be high quality.

At one point she said of one grower, “His face lit up when we started talking about his trees.”

The more orchards we visited, the more she began to see those little decisions you make — how much to thin, what varieties to plant, how to best get light into the canopy — all impact the end quality of the apple she eats.

While it was just another day or two at the office for me, affirming what I’ve been hearing over the past few years, this trip really opened my mother’s eyes to what it means to be an apple grower in the 2010s.

You can bet my mom will tell her friends about what she learned and she saw, and I know that will have a ripple effect on how her friends perceive the tree fruit industry. Not to mention how she talks to her students about what she saw!

I know ridealongs aren’t necessarily possible for every apple consumer, but it’s important to increase our touch points as our world gets a little smaller every day. I’ve noticed many of you are using social media to give consumers (and nosy editors like myself) a glimpse into your day-to-day activities in your orchards and farms.

I think it’s great that you’re opening up a dialogue between your operation and your consumers. It’s important they know what type of diseases, weather, or insect pest pressure you face, and how all of those factors influence your management strategies.

The more our consumers learn about how much time and energy it takes to grow the fresh fruit they eat, the better appreciation they will have for your role in the process.

I know how much my mom took away from our little road trip. Imagine how much the rest of your consumers would learn?

 

Topics: , ,

Leave a Reply

Apple Grower of the Year Stories
Apple Grower of the Year
August 4, 2017
Road Trip Provides Hands-On Educational Opportunity [Opinion]
A visit to orchards in Upstate New York became a learning experience when my mom came along for the ride. Read More
Apple Grower of the Year
August 2, 2017
Seeing the World’s Best Orchards Firsthand Through IFTA
Both American Fruit Grower® and Western Fruit Grower® magazines’ Apple Grower of the YearSM  Rod Farrow, and the man from whom he bought Read More
Apple Grower of the Year
August 2, 2017
To Succeed in Growing, First, You Must Communicate [Opinion]
The second step is to educate your employees, leading to the crucial last piece necessary for enduring success: buy-in. Read More
Apple Grower of the Year
August 2, 2017
Meet the 2017 Apple Grower of the Year
The 2017 Apple Grower of the Year, Rod Farrow, has a unique perspective, as he’s been on both ends of succession, yet neither from his parents nor to his children. Read More
Apple Grower of the Year
December 12, 2016
Apple Industry Statesman Fred Valentine Passes
The 2002 Apple Grower of the Year was known for his encyclopedic horticultural knowledge. Read More
Apple Grower of the Year
December 6, 2016
2014 Apple Grower Of The Year Bill Evans Dies
Legendary apple grower Bill Evans, who along with his wife, Jeannette, farmed more apple acreage than any grower in the Read More
Apple Grower of the Year
September 19, 2016
2016 USApple Conference: Promising Crop, Apple Grower Of The Year Honored
Wenatchee, WA grower honored; only blemish on apple crop is the drought that shrank the harvest in the Northeast. Read More
Apple Grower of the Year
August 27, 2016
Rock Steady U.S. Apple Crop Forecast
USApple predicts 2016 output will be just slightly higher than in 2015. Read More
Apple Grower of the Year
August 22, 2016
Apple Crop Forecasts Live On Twitter
You'll be able to get up-to-the-minute reports of not only the various regions of the U.S., but key production regions around the world. Read More
Apple Grower of the Year
August 1, 2016
Future Moves Fast In Apple Production [Opinion]
The Washington apple industry’s rapid change is evident during my many trips to the state in the past 20 years. Read More
Apple Grower of the Year
August 1, 2016
A Thoroughly Modern Farmer Takes Apple Grower Of The Year Honor
The 2016 winner, Scott McDougall, largely stopped planting the tried and true, going mostly with exclusive and club varieties – and it paid off. Read More
Apple Grower of the Year
October 2, 2015
2015 Apple Crop Forecast: Sunny
Crop is down from last year's record; new varieties drive consumption. Read More
Auto Draft
Apple Grower of the Year
September 11, 2015
Plenty Of Highlights From 2015 Apple Grower Of The Year Presentation
Bill Dodd, owner of Hillcrest Orchards in Amherst, OH, was honored as American Fruit Grower® magazine’s 2015 Apple Grower of Read More
Apple Grower of the Year
August 3, 2015
Bill Dodd Is An Apple Grower For Our Future
The judging for the Apple Grower Of The Year award is an interesting process that takes us through new twists Read More
Apple Grower of the Year
August 3, 2015
Bill Dodd, The 2015 Apple Grower Of The Year
  Informed of his selection as the 2015 Apple Grower Of The Year by American Fruit Grower® and Western Fruit Grower™ Read More
The Latest
Apple Grower of the Year
August 28, 2017
U.S. Apple Crop Forecast Down 8%
USApple predicts 2017 crop to be lower mostly because of smaller Michigan, Washington crops. Read More
Apple Grower of the Year
August 22, 2017
U.S. Apple Association Hosts Annual Appl…
American Fruit Grower® and Western Fruit Grower® magazine’s 2017 Apple Grower of the Year will be officially presented on Thursday, Aug. 24, during the first day of the conference. Read More
Apple Grower of the Year
August 5, 2017
A Look At Apple Grower Of The Year Winne…
Since 1989, American Fruit Grower and Western Fruit Grower magazines have honored influential apple growers such as Grady Auvil, George Lamont, Bill Zirkle, and Ralph Broetje. American and Western Fruit Grower presents a look at the winners of this prestigious award. Read More
Apple Grower of the Year
August 4, 2017
Road Trip Provides Hands-On Educational …
A visit to orchards in Upstate New York became a learning experience when my mom came along for the ride. Read More
Apple Grower of the Year
August 2, 2017
Seeing the World’s Best Orchards F…
Both American Fruit Grower® and Western Fruit Grower® magazines’ Apple Grower of the YearSM  Rod Farrow, and the man from whom he bought Read More
Apple Grower of the Year
August 2, 2017
To Succeed in Growing, First, You Must C…
The second step is to educate your employees, leading to the crucial last piece necessary for enduring success: buy-in. Read More
Apple Grower of the Year
August 2, 2017
Meet the 2017 Apple Grower of the Year
The 2017 Apple Grower of the Year, Rod Farrow, has a unique perspective, as he’s been on both ends of succession, yet neither from his parents nor to his children. Read More
Apple Grower of the Year
December 12, 2016
Apple Industry Statesman Fred Valentine …
The 2002 Apple Grower of the Year was known for his encyclopedic horticultural knowledge. Read More
Apple Grower of the Year
December 6, 2016
2014 Apple Grower Of The Year Bill Evans…
Legendary apple grower Bill Evans, who along with his wife, Jeannette, farmed more apple acreage than any grower in the Read More
Apple Grower of the Year
September 19, 2016
2016 USApple Conference: Promising Crop,…
Wenatchee, WA grower honored; only blemish on apple crop is the drought that shrank the harvest in the Northeast. Read More
Apple Grower of the Year
August 27, 2016
Rock Steady U.S. Apple Crop Forecast
USApple predicts 2016 output will be just slightly higher than in 2015. Read More
Apple Grower of the Year
August 22, 2016
Apple Crop Forecasts Live On Twitter
You'll be able to get up-to-the-minute reports of not only the various regions of the U.S., but key production regions around the world. Read More
Apple Grower of the Year
August 1, 2016
Future Moves Fast In Apple Production [O…
The Washington apple industry’s rapid change is evident during my many trips to the state in the past 20 years. Read More
Apple Grower of the Year
August 1, 2016
A Thoroughly Modern Farmer Takes Apple G…
The 2016 winner, Scott McDougall, largely stopped planting the tried and true, going mostly with exclusive and club varieties – and it paid off. Read More
Apple Grower of the Year
October 2, 2015
2015 Apple Crop Forecast: Sunny
Crop is down from last year's record; new varieties drive consumption. Read More
Apple Grower of the Year
September 11, 2015
Plenty Of Highlights From 2015 Apple Gro…
Bill Dodd, owner of Hillcrest Orchards in Amherst, OH, was honored as American Fruit Grower® magazine’s 2015 Apple Grower of Read More
Apple Grower of the Year
August 3, 2015
Bill Dodd Is An Apple Grower For Our Fut…
The judging for the Apple Grower Of The Year award is an interesting process that takes us through new twists Read More
Apple Grower of the Year
August 3, 2015
Bill Dodd, The 2015 Apple Grower Of The …
  Informed of his selection as the 2015 Apple Grower Of The Year by American Fruit Grower® and Western Fruit Grower™ Read More