Opinion: Energizing Opportunities Full Speed Ahead

Adam Putnam 2012 head shot for FLG

Since assuming the state’s Office of Energy on July 1, 2011, it has been my priority to work with the Legislature to develop and pass a balanced energy policy for our state. Last October, I hosted the first Florida Energy Summit, where key stakeholders in the energy industry, including utilities, farmers, investors, academics, and public officials, came together to discuss Florida’s energy future.

The ideas shared at the summit guided the development of my energy policy recommendations for the Legislature to consider during the 2012 legislative session. My proposals for Florida’s energy policy are intended to help our state secure a stable, reliable, and diverse supply of energy.

Market-Driven Mantra

America’s energy market is heavily distorted by layers of incentives, disincentives, mandates, and directives. With nearly every election comes a new policy promoting the latest “next big thing” in energy development. The confusing mix of policies inhibits the ability of America’s free-market system to operate at its capacity. I don’t believe government should be in the business of picking winners and losers. The market must determine what energy sources are viable over the long term and we must create a climate that encourages the development of new technologies, new businesses, and new jobs in the energy sector, without tipping the scales for one technology over another.

In growing the energy industry, we must increase diversity in the state’s energy supply. More than half of the electricity generated in Florida comes from natural gas, and that figure will rise in the years ahead. While natural gas prices are at record lows today, dependence on one source for a majority of our energy supply puts Floridians at risk if there is a supply disruption. The next hurricane to hit Florida could disrupt the only two gas pipelines currently bringing natural gas to our state through the Gulf of Mexico, resulting in a shortage of supply, threatening reliability, and sending prices through the roof. It is important to have multiple sources of fuel for electricity generation.

The legislative measures I proposed are designed to reduce market manipulation and risk by promoting growth in the energy sector and increasing diversity in the state’s energy supply. First, I’ve proposed that the Legislature extend recently expired tax incentives that will encourage the development of new technologies and attract new investments to Florida. I’ve also suggested the state consider the unique characteristics of renewable energy when evaluating new energy facilities proposed for the state of Florida. Finally, my recommendations promote energy efficiency. Florida’s energy policy would not be comprehensive if it did not include efforts to conserve our use of energy.

Taking The Long View

Collectively, the measures I outlined will position Florida on a path toward a consistent, long-term energy strategy, one that will restore confidence in the energy market.

At a time when much of the economy remains stagnant, jobs in the renewable energy industry were projected to increase by more than 16% over the last year. Even in this difficult economy, investors are willing to invest in energy. We must capitalize on this opportunity by positioning Florida as a natural draw for energy infrastructure with its abundant sunshine and year-round growing season. If we’re successful, we’ll attract new businesses and create much-needed jobs for Floridians, while giving landowners a potential new revenue stream rooted in our abundant natural resources.

The energy industry is critical to economic development in Florida’s rural communities. The largest investments will be made in the growth and production of bioenergy, which leverages Florida’s strong capabilities in agriculture, but preserves the character of Florida’s small towns.

Energy policy is inherently difficult to pass. But given the natural competitive advantages we have, Florida needs a smart, balanced, and modern energy policy. I am working with the Legislature to best position our state for the future growth and fuel diversity this policy will bring. Americans know the cost of being dependent on foreign nations for our energy. Let’s hope they never learn the costs of being dependent on others for our food.

Leave a Reply

Featured Stories
Berries
May 26, 2017
Jury Sides with University in Strawberry Breeding Lawsuit
Decision says former breeders infringed on UC patents to develop material for corporate breeding firm. Read More
Managed bee hive boxes around a blueberry field
Nuts
May 25, 2017
Stolen Hives Recovered in Nearly $1M Heist
Man likely stole hives from across the state of California in the last three years. Read More
Panama Canal Expansion opening celebration
Farm Management
May 25, 2017
Plight of Trade Policy Grounding Many U.S. Growers
Much-needed investments in labor-saving technology could be key to long-term survival. Read More
Cannabis plant closeup
Farm Management
May 25, 2017
Florida Farm Winning Case for Medicinal Cannabis License
Judge rules in favor of 3 Boys Farm in the quest to expand its crop/business portfolio. Read More
hands holding a globe
Citrus
May 25, 2017
Are We Overstating the World’s Overpopulation Problem?
If growers can’t achieve a fair return on investment and stay in business, it won’t matter what the population is in 2050. We all will be trouble. Read More
Falcon-takes-flight-at-Duncan-Family-Farms
Citrus
May 24, 2017
Falcons Scare off Other Birds at Duncan Family Farms
It collaborates with a firm that uses trained falcons to intimidate and scare off nuisance birds such as the horned larks and pigeons that frequent the area. Read More
Organic
May 24, 2017
Organic Growers in Turmoil (Opinion)
Although consumers are demanding, and getting more organic produce options, growers are grappling with fundamental questions. Read More
Corn leaf aphids on sweet corn
Sweet Corn
May 24, 2017
Stay on Your A Game to Conquer Corn Leaf Aphid
Learn how to identify, the survival and spread, as well as management methods for this vegetable pest. Read More
Florida Ag Hall of Famer William Cook
Citrus
May 23, 2017
Search is on For Next Crop of Florida Agriculture Hall of Famers
Nomination period now open for longtime industry honor. Read More
Apples & Pears
May 23, 2017
Grower Shares Personal Impact of Labor Shortage
USApple leader Phil Glaize of Virginia stresses need for reform with current labor regulations, programs at Congressional briefing on agriculture labor crisis. Read More
Stone Fruit
May 23, 2017
Northeast Peach Crop Rebounds
After a mild winter and relatively uneventful bloom time, the crop is setting up nicely for the region. Read More
Berries
May 23, 2017
Researchers Examining Potential for Longer Berry Season in Northeast
Team at Penn State University using low and high tunnels and plastic coverings to extend raspberry and strawberry seasons. Read More
honeybees
Citrus
May 23, 2017
Webinar Series Highlights New Research on Honeybee Health
National Pollinator Week webinar showcases research to improve honeybee colony health by 2020. Read More
stack of lemons
Citrus
May 23, 2017
California Lemon Growers Sue USDA
Lemon industry files suit against rule allowing importation of Argentine lemons. Read More
Bee Vectoring Technologies experimental hives
Citrus
May 23, 2017
Insects (Bad and Good) Make for Interesting Field Trips
Disease-fighting bees and the deadly citrus psyllid were at the center of two recent, research-fueled out-of-office adventures. Read More
The Latest
Berries
May 26, 2017
Jury Sides with University in Strawberry…
Decision says former breeders infringed on UC patents to develop material for corporate breeding firm. Read More
Nuts
May 25, 2017
Stolen Hives Recovered in Nearly $1M Hei…
Man likely stole hives from across the state of California in the last three years. Read More
Farm Management
May 25, 2017
Plight of Trade Policy Grounding Many U.…
Much-needed investments in labor-saving technology could be key to long-term survival. Read More
Farm Management
May 25, 2017
Florida Farm Winning Case for Medicinal …
Judge rules in favor of 3 Boys Farm in the quest to expand its crop/business portfolio. Read More
Citrus
May 25, 2017
Are We Overstating the World’s Ove…
If growers can’t achieve a fair return on investment and stay in business, it won’t matter what the population is in 2050. We all will be trouble. Read More
Citrus
May 24, 2017
Falcons Scare off Other Birds at Duncan …
It collaborates with a firm that uses trained falcons to intimidate and scare off nuisance birds such as the horned larks and pigeons that frequent the area. Read More
Organic
May 24, 2017
Organic Growers in Turmoil (Opinion)
Although consumers are demanding, and getting more organic produce options, growers are grappling with fundamental questions. Read More
Sweet Corn
May 24, 2017
Stay on Your A Game to Conquer Corn Leaf…
Learn how to identify, the survival and spread, as well as management methods for this vegetable pest. Read More
Citrus
May 23, 2017
Search is on For Next Crop of Florida Ag…
Nomination period now open for longtime industry honor. Read More
Apples & Pears
May 23, 2017
Grower Shares Personal Impact of Labor S…
USApple leader Phil Glaize of Virginia stresses need for reform with current labor regulations, programs at Congressional briefing on agriculture labor crisis. Read More
Stone Fruit
May 23, 2017
Northeast Peach Crop Rebounds
After a mild winter and relatively uneventful bloom time, the crop is setting up nicely for the region. Read More
Berries
May 23, 2017
Researchers Examining Potential for Long…
Team at Penn State University using low and high tunnels and plastic coverings to extend raspberry and strawberry seasons. Read More
Citrus
May 23, 2017
Webinar Series Highlights New Research o…
National Pollinator Week webinar showcases research to improve honeybee colony health by 2020. Read More
Citrus
May 23, 2017
California Lemon Growers Sue USDA
Lemon industry files suit against rule allowing importation of Argentine lemons. Read More
Citrus
May 23, 2017
Insects (Bad and Good) Make for Interest…
Disease-fighting bees and the deadly citrus psyllid were at the center of two recent, research-fueled out-of-office adventures. Read More
Crop Protection
May 23, 2017
Valent Grants Organic Farming Scholarshi…
University of Florida Doctor of Plant Medicine student receives $1,500 toward the development of training materials. Read More
Varieties & Rootstocks
May 23, 2017
In Quest for Low-Seeded Citrus, It Takes…
Momentum for viable mandarin hybrids for Florida reaching a peak in the land down under. Read More
GenNext Growers
May 22, 2017
How to Make Dollars and Sense of Today&#…
Despite current challenges impacting the future of the North American fruit and vegetable industry, there are opportunities to be had. Read More