Opinion: Energizing Opportunities Full Speed Ahead

Adam Putnam 2012 head shot for FLG

Since assuming the state’s Office of Energy on July 1, 2011, it has been my priority to work with the Legislature to develop and pass a balanced energy policy for our state. Last October, I hosted the first Florida Energy Summit, where key stakeholders in the energy industry, including utilities, farmers, investors, academics, and public officials, came together to discuss Florida’s energy future.

The ideas shared at the summit guided the development of my energy policy recommendations for the Legislature to consider during the 2012 legislative session. My proposals for Florida’s energy policy are intended to help our state secure a stable, reliable, and diverse supply of energy.

Market-Driven Mantra

America’s energy market is heavily distorted by layers of incentives, disincentives, mandates, and directives. With nearly every election comes a new policy promoting the latest “next big thing” in energy development. The confusing mix of policies inhibits the ability of America’s free-market system to operate at its capacity. I don’t believe government should be in the business of picking winners and losers. The market must determine what energy sources are viable over the long term and we must create a climate that encourages the development of new technologies, new businesses, and new jobs in the energy sector, without tipping the scales for one technology over another.

In growing the energy industry, we must increase diversity in the state’s energy supply. More than half of the electricity generated in Florida comes from natural gas, and that figure will rise in the years ahead. While natural gas prices are at record lows today, dependence on one source for a majority of our energy supply puts Floridians at risk if there is a supply disruption. The next hurricane to hit Florida could disrupt the only two gas pipelines currently bringing natural gas to our state through the Gulf of Mexico, resulting in a shortage of supply, threatening reliability, and sending prices through the roof. It is important to have multiple sources of fuel for electricity generation.

The legislative measures I proposed are designed to reduce market manipulation and risk by promoting growth in the energy sector and increasing diversity in the state’s energy supply. First, I’ve proposed that the Legislature extend recently expired tax incentives that will encourage the development of new technologies and attract new investments to Florida. I’ve also suggested the state consider the unique characteristics of renewable energy when evaluating new energy facilities proposed for the state of Florida. Finally, my recommendations promote energy efficiency. Florida’s energy policy would not be comprehensive if it did not include efforts to conserve our use of energy.

Taking The Long View

Collectively, the measures I outlined will position Florida on a path toward a consistent, long-term energy strategy, one that will restore confidence in the energy market.

At a time when much of the economy remains stagnant, jobs in the renewable energy industry were projected to increase by more than 16% over the last year. Even in this difficult economy, investors are willing to invest in energy. We must capitalize on this opportunity by positioning Florida as a natural draw for energy infrastructure with its abundant sunshine and year-round growing season. If we’re successful, we’ll attract new businesses and create much-needed jobs for Floridians, while giving landowners a potential new revenue stream rooted in our abundant natural resources.

The energy industry is critical to economic development in Florida’s rural communities. The largest investments will be made in the growth and production of bioenergy, which leverages Florida’s strong capabilities in agriculture, but preserves the character of Florida’s small towns.

Energy policy is inherently difficult to pass. But given the natural competitive advantages we have, Florida needs a smart, balanced, and modern energy policy. I am working with the Legislature to best position our state for the future growth and fuel diversity this policy will bring. Americans know the cost of being dependent on foreign nations for our energy. Let’s hope they never learn the costs of being dependent on others for our food.

Leave a Reply

Featured Stories
embark cider works new york hard cider
Farm Marketing
September 25, 2016
New York Governor Signs Additional Legislation To Bolster State’s Craft Beverage Industry
Bills allow farm wineries, breweries, and cideries to sell New York-made farm beverages by the glass. Read More
cracked earth
Fruits
September 24, 2016
Water Woes Continue In Northeast
Hydrologist says this year’s conditions are bad but are part of a typical water cycle. Read More
Spring Valley Farms blueberries near Umatilla, FL
Berries
September 24, 2016
Time Is Now For Florida Blueberry Growers To Dig In
Coming off a challenging season, industry players must continue to adapt to curveballs thrown by Mother Nature and market forces. Read More
Photo credit: Wikimedia Commons
Apples & Pears
September 23, 2016
USDA Approves Nonregulated Status For ‘Arctic Fuji’
USDA’s Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) announces an extension of deregulation to a line of genetically engineered (GE) Read More
Some of Almar Orchard's organic apples were on display outside the farm market at the Scrumpy Skedaddle. After finishing the race, runners were offered their choice of several varieties of fresh apples. (Photo credit: Christina Herrick)
Apples & Pears
September 23, 2016
Growers Encouraged To Monitor Fruit Temperature Going Into Storage
With early harvests, Randy Beaudry of Michigan State University says temperature monitoring is a must. Read More
Photo courtesy of UF/IFAS
Berries
September 23, 2016
What U.S. Consumers Think About Florida Blueberries
For growers, the good news is that shoppers like what you are serving up. But more can be done to whet appetites. Read More
Photo credit: USDA
Fruits
September 23, 2016
Brown Marmorated Stink Bug Pressure Increasing
Scout and monitor your orchard to determine if control is needed, says Penn State University Extension. Read More
water droplet_generic
Citrus
September 22, 2016
Senate Committee Report Says WOTUS Reforms Needed
A report issued from the Senate Environment and Public Works (EPW) Committee says federal agencies overreach their authority to regulate Read More
Spring Valley Farms in Umatilla, FL, from a drone
Citrus
September 22, 2016
Citrus Tax Incentive A Big Step Closer To Fruition
U.S. House vote ends in landslide of support for emergency legislation, which allows growers to immediately expense the cost of planting new trees. Read More
Action shot of an automated strawberry picker from Harvest CROO
Berries
September 22, 2016
Investors Clamoring For Automated Strawberry Picking Technology
Naturipe joins growing list of backers in the labor-saving vision and mission of ag-tech startup. Read More
The Latest
Farm Marketing
September 25, 2016
New York Governor Signs Additional Legis…
Bills allow farm wineries, breweries, and cideries to sell New York-made farm beverages by the glass. Read More
Fruits
September 24, 2016
Water Woes Continue In Northeast
Hydrologist says this year’s conditions are bad but are part of a typical water cycle. Read More
Berries
September 24, 2016
Time Is Now For Florida Blueberry Grower…
Coming off a challenging season, industry players must continue to adapt to curveballs thrown by Mother Nature and market forces. Read More
Apples & Pears
September 23, 2016
USDA Approves Nonregulated Status For ‘A…
USDA’s Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) announces an extension of deregulation to a line of genetically engineered (GE) Read More
Apples & Pears
September 23, 2016
Growers Encouraged To Monitor Fruit Temp…
With early harvests, Randy Beaudry of Michigan State University says temperature monitoring is a must. Read More
Berries
September 23, 2016
What U.S. Consumers Think About Florida …
For growers, the good news is that shoppers like what you are serving up. But more can be done to whet appetites. Read More
Fruits
September 23, 2016
Brown Marmorated Stink Bug Pressure Incr…
Scout and monitor your orchard to determine if control is needed, says Penn State University Extension. Read More
Citrus
September 22, 2016
Senate Committee Report Says WOTUS Refor…
A report issued from the Senate Environment and Public Works (EPW) Committee says federal agencies overreach their authority to regulate Read More
Citrus
September 22, 2016
Citrus Tax Incentive A Big Step Closer T…
U.S. House vote ends in landslide of support for emergency legislation, which allows growers to immediately expense the cost of planting new trees. Read More
Berries
September 22, 2016
Investors Clamoring For Automated Strawb…
Naturipe joins growing list of backers in the labor-saving vision and mission of ag-tech startup. Read More
Berries
September 22, 2016
It Behooves Blueberry Growers To Protect…
Placing priority on bee care best practices will ensure sweet success for your crop. Read More
Tomatoes
September 21, 2016
Noxious Weed Detected In Processing Toma…
The infested field was placed on hold and appropriate safeguards were implemented to prevent the movement of seeds on equipment and personnel leaving the field. Read More
Cucurbits
September 21, 2016
Don’t Let White Grubs Gobble Up Yo…
Learn how to identify, the survival and spread, as well as management methods for this pest. Read More
Berries
September 20, 2016
How To Track Irrigation: Keep Your Eye O…
Time-tested, color-appropriate method for following water movement in plasticulture veggie crops could prove fruitful in blueberries, too. Read More
Citrus
September 20, 2016
Preventative Control Rules Now In Effect…
Facilities employing 500 or more people must meet new standards. Read More
Citrus
September 20, 2016
EPA Says Glyphosate Not Likely To Cause …
Paper says herbicide not carcinogenic at doses relevant for human health risk assessment. Read More
Farm Management
September 20, 2016
Study Says Produce Imports Good For Texa…
Imports from Mexico would add jobs in the Lone Star State. Read More
Varieties & Rootstocks
September 20, 2016
Is Citrus Ready To Break Out Of The Bubb…
Opportunity for enhanced data collection process at variety display days could give breeding and research teams a leg up in vetting sensible selections. Read More
[gravityform id="62" title="false" description="false"]