Consider Me Your Personal Investigator [opinion]

Just a few weeks after Hurricane Rita hit the Texas Coast in 2005, I stood with a grower-retailer on his property in Beaumont, TX.

For once, I wasn’t carrying a notebook, a rarity for an editor. Interviews could wait until I was back at my desk. This day I was a witness.

Sweat-inducing humidity and the stench of decaying vegetation made an appropriate backdrop to the scene before us: acres of crumpled greenhouses and towering piles of dead plant starts.

In the midst of the growing division’s debris, Roy Henslee recounted walking the property the morning after the storm hit. Devastated, he returned to his home’s porch, uncertain what his next steps should be.

Then he pulled out his cell phone and called a consultant he knew. A chain of phone calls later, he was talking to a grower in Florida who had been through his share of storms. He gave Henslee practical tips and helped him save his business.

Henslee was in such a daze, he missed the grower’s name. He didn’t know who had helped him.

Listening to Henslee’s voice drop with emotion, I reflected on how many people like this unknown Florida grower populate the specialty crop industry. People with practical compassion who know how to get a job done, no matter how overwhelming or urgent it is.

What’s Important to You?
As I’m taking the baton as Editor of American Vegetable Grower® magazine from the highly capable hands of Rosemary Gordon, I’m seeking people like the unknown Florida grower. People who find creative solutions and are willing to share what they learn.

With that in mind, I invite you to let me know the issues and people I should investigate on behalf of all vegetable growers. Let me know who the practical, collaborative growers are who will share their successes with their peers. And even more enlightening, who’s willing to share the failures, those hard-learned lessons that will help all growers understand the pitfalls you should avoid.

What are the issues that need creative solutions if you are going to build an operation that supports your family in the decades to come?

I’m looking for more than the broad topics like labor, food safety, and crop prices. Who has an effective recruiting program? Who is looking at new technology and is making it work for them?

Consider me your own personal investigator. Sic me on the problems you face. Henslee had me call contacts I knew to help him find suppliers who could ship on short notice.

Direct me to the people you most want to hear from, and I promise to do everything in my power to find you the answers you need.

Topics:

Leave a Reply

One comment on “Consider Me Your Personal Investigator [opinion]

  1. I’m thinking maybe the food contamination issue. It seems like there are many recalls each year on all types of food. It also seems like the public and the govt want to point to the farmer as the problem. I read about some of the recalls and other contamination issues that have made the news but I don’t see any follow up as to exactly where the contamination came from. I guess what makes this so important to me as a micro farmer is I am being pushed to implement items from the FSMA although I am exempt. I find it hard to believe that all the additional work us farmers are having to do with water test, animal exclusion, etc. are really of any significance when it comes to food problems. I think a large majority is in the processing facilities not the field. Just my thoughts.

Vegetables Stories
Farm Management
July 25, 2017
Grants Allocated to Tackle Changing Climate in Fruit, Vegetable Production
Projects designed to develop new approaches to mitigate effects of changing growing environment. Read More
Vegetables
July 24, 2017
23 Of The Latest Pumpkin Varieties
Browse this slideshow for more details on 23 pumpkin varieties you need to know about from the nation’s leading seed breeders and distributors. Read More
Citrus
July 23, 2017
USDA Invests $7.6 Million toward Beneficial Insect Research
Projects to promote beneficial organisms as part of a pest control strategy. Read More
Citrus
July 22, 2017
Representative from Washington Proposes Amendment to H-2A Program
Move broadens use of H-2A to all of agriculture to include those with multiple crops and harvests. Read More
Hurricane Matthew satellite image as it brushed past Florida
Citrus
July 20, 2017
Atlantic Hurricane Forecast Taken Up a Notch
Current conditions in the tropics warrant marked revision in potential storm season scenarios. Read More
Sunset on Florida potato field day
Citrus
July 19, 2017
Researchers On a Mission to Find More Places for Growing Produce
Federal grant to aid exploration of food security solutions for the future. Read More
Citrus
July 19, 2017
Farm Labor Stories Making the News This Week
The agricultural labor shortage is strong enough that the consumer press is beginning to report on it regularly. Here are the stories making headlines this month. Read More
Sweet Corn
July 19, 2017
Variety Specs | Production Tips: Corn ‘Anthem XR’ from Rispens Seeds
Each month, American Vegetable Grower® will offer growing tips on specific varieties, supplied by the breeder or distributor. This month, we’re offering Read More
farm hacks collage
Citrus
July 19, 2017
Florida Grower Magazine is Seeking Your Farm Hacks
Life hacks are common in social media threads these days. They are those clever ideas or tricks aimed at making Read More
Organic
July 19, 2017
4 Challenges Large Operations Face in Organic Vegetable Production
Organic vegetable production in Monterey County has evolved over the past 25 years. It was once the domain of small- Read More
Farm Management
July 19, 2017
Tom Nunes, V: The Best Labor Solutions Are When Everyone Wins
Competition for skilled farm labor is fierce in the West. But Nunes Vegetables, Inc. believes when growers work together, they will attract more workers to their community. Read More
Fruits
July 14, 2017
Brown Marmorated Stink Bug Predator Egg Mass Found
Samuri wasp parasitized egg mass found in Southern New Jersey peach orchard. Read More
Rain drops on leaf
Citrus
July 14, 2017
Everglades Agricultural Area Farmers Winning at Water Quality
Annual report shows use of best management practices results in another massive reduction in phosphorus flow. Read More
cut watermelon
Cucurbits
July 13, 2017
Scientists Keying in on Sweeter and Stronger Watermelon Varieties
New study shows grafting can give growers an upper hand on soilborne disease threats. Read More
Citrus
July 13, 2017
The Road is Long to Farm Bill 2018 [Opinion]
Participation in this process will be crucial to ensure your needs are understood and addressed. Read More
The Latest
Citrus
July 26, 2017
Despite Controversy, Most Major Ag Group…
Most of the major agricultural associations are coming out in support of President Donald Trump’s nomination of Sam Clovis to Read More
Citrus
July 26, 2017
If We Want American Farm Workers, We Hav…
Now is the time to lobby for ways to attract American labor. One idea? Offer college tuition and student loan forgiveness in exchange for farm work. Read More
Crop Protection
July 25, 2017
Vegetable Field Scouting Guide: Diamondb…
Due diligence is needed to help take down this pest of biblical proportions. Read More
Farm Management
July 25, 2017
Grants Allocated to Tackle Changing Clim…
Projects designed to develop new approaches to mitigate effects of changing growing environment. Read More
Vegetables
July 24, 2017
23 Of The Latest Pumpkin Varieties
Browse this slideshow for more details on 23 pumpkin varieties you need to know about from the nation’s leading seed breeders and distributors. Read More
Citrus
July 23, 2017
USDA Invests $7.6 Million toward Benefic…
Projects to promote beneficial organisms as part of a pest control strategy. Read More
Citrus
July 22, 2017
Representative from Washington Proposes …
Move broadens use of H-2A to all of agriculture to include those with multiple crops and harvests. Read More
Citrus
July 20, 2017
Atlantic Hurricane Forecast Taken Up a N…
Current conditions in the tropics warrant marked revision in potential storm season scenarios. Read More
Citrus
July 19, 2017
Researchers On a Mission to Find More Pl…
Federal grant to aid exploration of food security solutions for the future. Read More
Citrus
July 19, 2017
Farm Labor Stories Making the News This …
The agricultural labor shortage is strong enough that the consumer press is beginning to report on it regularly. Here are the stories making headlines this month. Read More
Sweet Corn
July 19, 2017
Variety Specs | Production Tips: Corn &#…
Each month, American Vegetable Grower® will offer growing tips on specific varieties, supplied by the breeder or distributor. This month, we’re offering Read More
Citrus
July 19, 2017
Florida Grower Magazine is Seeking Your …
Life hacks are common in social media threads these days. They are those clever ideas or tricks aimed at making Read More
Organic
July 19, 2017
4 Challenges Large Operations Face in Or…
Organic vegetable production in Monterey County has evolved over the past 25 years. It was once the domain of small- Read More
Farm Management
July 19, 2017
Tom Nunes, V: The Best Labor Solutions A…
Competition for skilled farm labor is fierce in the West. But Nunes Vegetables, Inc. believes when growers work together, they will attract more workers to their community. Read More
Fruits
July 14, 2017
Brown Marmorated Stink Bug Predator Egg …
Samuri wasp parasitized egg mass found in Southern New Jersey peach orchard. Read More
Citrus
July 14, 2017
Everglades Agricultural Area Farmers Win…
Annual report shows use of best management practices results in another massive reduction in phosphorus flow. Read More
Citrus
July 13, 2017
The Road is Long to Farm Bill 2018 [Opin…
Participation in this process will be crucial to ensure your needs are understood and addressed. Read More
Citrus
July 13, 2017
Trade Talk to Top Florida Fruit & Ve…
Trade issues are top of mind these days for specialty crop producers. Efforts have been underway since early this year Read More