Consider Me Your Personal Investigator [opinion]

Just a few weeks after Hurricane Rita hit the Texas Coast in 2005, I stood with a grower-retailer on his property in Beaumont, TX.

For once, I wasn’t carrying a notebook, a rarity for an editor. Interviews could wait until I was back at my desk. This day I was a witness.

Sweat-inducing humidity and the stench of decaying vegetation made an appropriate backdrop to the scene before us: acres of crumpled greenhouses and towering piles of dead plant starts.

In the midst of the growing division’s debris, Roy Henslee recounted walking the property the morning after the storm hit. Devastated, he returned to his home’s porch, uncertain what his next steps should be.

Then he pulled out his cell phone and called a consultant he knew. A chain of phone calls later, he was talking to a grower in Florida who had been through his share of storms. He gave Henslee practical tips and helped him save his business.

Henslee was in such a daze, he missed the grower’s name. He didn’t know who had helped him.

Listening to Henslee’s voice drop with emotion, I reflected on how many people like this unknown Florida grower populate the specialty crop industry. People with practical compassion who know how to get a job done, no matter how overwhelming or urgent it is.

What’s Important to You?
As I’m taking the baton as Editor of American Vegetable Grower® magazine from the highly capable hands of Rosemary Gordon, I’m seeking people like the unknown Florida grower. People who find creative solutions and are willing to share what they learn.

With that in mind, I invite you to let me know the issues and people I should investigate on behalf of all vegetable growers. Let me know who the practical, collaborative growers are who will share their successes with their peers. And even more enlightening, who’s willing to share the failures, those hard-learned lessons that will help all growers understand the pitfalls you should avoid.

What are the issues that need creative solutions if you are going to build an operation that supports your family in the decades to come?

I’m looking for more than the broad topics like labor, food safety, and crop prices. Who has an effective recruiting program? Who is looking at new technology and is making it work for them?

Consider me your own personal investigator. Sic me on the problems you face. Henslee had me call contacts I knew to help him find suppliers who could ship on short notice.

Direct me to the people you most want to hear from, and I promise to do everything in my power to find you the answers you need.

Topics:

Leave a Reply

One comment on “Consider Me Your Personal Investigator [opinion]

  1. I’m thinking maybe the food contamination issue. It seems like there are many recalls each year on all types of food. It also seems like the public and the govt want to point to the farmer as the problem. I read about some of the recalls and other contamination issues that have made the news but I don’t see any follow up as to exactly where the contamination came from. I guess what makes this so important to me as a micro farmer is I am being pushed to implement items from the FSMA although I am exempt. I find it hard to believe that all the additional work us farmers are having to do with water test, animal exclusion, etc. are really of any significance when it comes to food problems. I think a large majority is in the processing facilities not the field. Just my thoughts.

Vegetables Stories
subirrigation implementation
Irrigation
October 19, 2017
Northeast Florida Farmers Stepping up to Save Water
Green light given to nine agricultural projects steeped in stewardship. Read More
Vegetables
October 18, 2017
The 2018 State of the Vegetable Industry Survey Is Now Open!
How has this year performed for you? Share how things have gone this year – and your expectations for 2018 – in our shorter, more focused survey. Read More
Citrus
October 18, 2017
How to Keep Track of Climate Change
Use cool tools to find out how your production methods may change in the future, how much your area is at risk, and how to limit your own impact on the climate. Read More
Vegetables
October 18, 2017
Stop Viewing Fellow Growers as the Enemy [Opinion]
Instead, growers should focus on issues that benefit everyone, from gaining a stronger voice when negotiating with retailers, to finding a way to share ideas and costs on precision agriculture tools. Read More
Citrus
October 17, 2017
USDA Issues Disaster Declaration for Hurricane-Stricken Florida Farmers
Operators in designated counties eligible for emergency assistance. Read More
Crop Protection
October 17, 2017
EPA Takes Steps to Reduce Risk of Drift-Related Herbicide Injury
With reports of dicamba injuries in tomatoes, peaches, grapes, and other crops, the agency works to reduce the impact of spray drift on vulnerable crops. Read More
Flooded peach and grape groves from Irma at UF/IFAS HAEC
Citrus
October 16, 2017
Wrath of Hurricane Irma’s Rainfall Measured by the Trillions
Report says storm dropped enough gallons of water on Florida’s St. Johns River Water Management District to swamp 6.7 million football fields. Read More
A water-logged citrus grove in Southwest Florida following Irma
Citrus
October 10, 2017
Impressions from Irma Indelible on the Florida Farmscape [Slideshow]
Striking images from the field reveal not only the storm’s destructive nature, but also paths to recovery and reconstruction. Read More
Crop Protection
October 9, 2017
Field Scouting Guide: Black Rot of Brassicas
Follow these tips for spotting and treating Xanthomonas campestris. Read More
Citrus
October 9, 2017
(We Won’t Back Down … ) Stand Your Ground for Agriculture
You don’t have to be a super hero, rock star, or award-winning scientist to aid farming. You can help by supporting professionalism in fields. Read More
Tomatoes
October 9, 2017
Heavy Spring Rain Causes Significant Drop in 2017 California Tomato Harvest
The last time California -- which grows 95% of the all processing tomatoes in the U.S. -- came close to planting so few acres was in 1992. Read More
Greenhouse structure damage at SWFREC in Immokalee
Citrus
October 6, 2017
Complications Persist as Florida Growers Pick up After Irma
Ground zero perspective reveals how citrus and vegetable producers are facing different, daunting challenges in wake of destructive storm. Read More
Growers boot up drone technology on the farm
Citrus
October 5, 2017
Are You a Precision Grower?
Gathering, analysis, and application still seems to be the best basic definition of precision agriculture. Read More
Fruits
October 5, 2017
Environmental Monitoring Helps With Food Safety Modernization Act
Monitoring may be most effective way to meet the preventative controls component of the Food Safety Modernization Act. Read More
Greenhouse structures flattened by Irma at C&B Farms
Citrus
October 5, 2017
Hurricane Irma Toll on Florida Farming in the Billions
Preliminary damage estimates confirm storm’s ferocity. Read More
The Latest
Events
October 20, 2017
Agriculture’s Big Data is Coming t…
It’s an opportunity to fine-tune your operation and maximize profits, but it also brings obligations. Read More
Citrus
October 19, 2017
Disaster Relief: Ways Florida Growers Ca…
With billions of dollars lost to Irma, financial assistance will be crucial for many. Read More
Fruits
October 19, 2017
New Online Tool Helps Growers Determine …
California Land Use Viewer can help growers determine if they can adopt groundwater recharge practices on their own operations. Read More
Irrigation
October 19, 2017
Northeast Florida Farmers Stepping up to…
Green light given to nine agricultural projects steeped in stewardship. Read More
Vegetables
October 18, 2017
The 2018 State of the Vegetable Industry…
How has this year performed for you? Share how things have gone this year – and your expectations for 2018 – in our shorter, more focused survey. Read More
Citrus
October 18, 2017
How to Keep Track of Climate Change
Use cool tools to find out how your production methods may change in the future, how much your area is at risk, and how to limit your own impact on the climate. Read More
Vegetables
October 18, 2017
Stop Viewing Fellow Growers as the Enemy…
Instead, growers should focus on issues that benefit everyone, from gaining a stronger voice when negotiating with retailers, to finding a way to share ideas and costs on precision agriculture tools. Read More
Citrus
October 17, 2017
USDA Issues Disaster Declaration for Hur…
Operators in designated counties eligible for emergency assistance. Read More
Crop Protection
October 17, 2017
EPA Takes Steps to Reduce Risk of Drift-…
With reports of dicamba injuries in tomatoes, peaches, grapes, and other crops, the agency works to reduce the impact of spray drift on vulnerable crops. Read More
Citrus
October 16, 2017
Wrath of Hurricane Irma’s Rainfall…
Report says storm dropped enough gallons of water on Florida’s St. Johns River Water Management District to swamp 6.7 million football fields. Read More
Citrus
October 10, 2017
Impressions from Irma Indelible on the F…
Striking images from the field reveal not only the storm’s destructive nature, but also paths to recovery and reconstruction. Read More
Crop Protection
October 9, 2017
Field Scouting Guide: Black Rot of Brass…
Follow these tips for spotting and treating Xanthomonas campestris. Read More
Citrus
October 9, 2017
(We Won’t Back Down … ) Stan…
You don’t have to be a super hero, rock star, or award-winning scientist to aid farming. You can help by supporting professionalism in fields. Read More
Tomatoes
October 9, 2017
Heavy Spring Rain Causes Significant Dro…
The last time California -- which grows 95% of the all processing tomatoes in the U.S. -- came close to planting so few acres was in 1992. Read More
Citrus
October 6, 2017
Complications Persist as Florida Growers…
Ground zero perspective reveals how citrus and vegetable producers are facing different, daunting challenges in wake of destructive storm. Read More
Citrus
October 5, 2017
Are You a Precision Grower?
Gathering, analysis, and application still seems to be the best basic definition of precision agriculture. Read More
Fruits
October 5, 2017
Environmental Monitoring Helps With Food…
Monitoring may be most effective way to meet the preventative controls component of the Food Safety Modernization Act. Read More
Citrus
October 5, 2017
Hurricane Irma Toll on Florida Farming i…
Preliminary damage estimates confirm storm’s ferocity. Read More