Florida Agriculture Hall Of Fame Celebrates 4 New Members

Florida Agriculture Hall Of Fame Celebrates 4 New Members

The Florida Agricultural Hall of Fame Foundation has revealed the latest honorees who will be inducted into the Florida Agriculture Hall of Fame for 2017.


According to State Commissioner of Agriculture Adam Putnam, these individuals have made outstanding contributions to Florida’s agriculture industry and mentored future leaders in this field. “It’s my privilege to recognize these honorees for their outstanding contributions to Florida Agriculture, and I look forward to their official induction into the Florida Agriculture Hall of Fame,” Putnam states.

The induction ceremony is slated to be held Feb. 14, 2017 at the Special Event Center, Florida State Fairgrounds in Tampa.

Let’s learn more about the Class of 2017.

Eugene Badger

Eugene BadgerBorn in Hastings, Eugene Badger grew up on his family’s potato farm. This early connection to agriculture grew into a lifelong commitment of advancing and advocating on behalf of Florida agriculture.

Though not a farmer, Badger’s selfless mission has always been to mentor farmers to be spokesmen of the industry on local, state and national issues.

George W. Bush selected Badger as head of the state Agricultural Stabilization and Conservation Service, now known as the USDA’s Farm Service Agency.

Badger worked diligently to honor and serve Florida farmers by identifying pitfalls in the Federal Corp Insurance Program and pursuing opportunities to showcase Florida’s specialty crops. Badger’s strong advocacy and dedication to Florida farmers was underscored in 2008 by Senate Resolution 1366, recognizing Badger for his lifetime accomplishments in agricultural leadership and service to the residents of Florida.