Protect Yourself From The Zika Virus [Opinion]

Here’s how to protect yourself from Zika right now: Wear long sleeves, use EPA-approved repellent, and get rid of containers that can become mosquito breeding grounds.

Self-protection basics and additional tips you can find from the University of Florida come from decades of public scientists’ focus on the world’s deadliest animal.

Here’s how to protect ourselves from Zika in the long-term: Scientific research and a coordinated effort to share the results with Floridians.

You’re fortunate not only to have at UF what’s believed to be the largest academic entomology department in the nation, but to have an entire UF Institute of Food and Agricultural Sciences (IFAS) research campus in Vero Beach, dedicated to slaying mosquitoes and other disease-spreading insects.

The UF/IFAS Florida Medical Entomology Laboratory (FMEL) can generate tip sheets for the public as soon as the latest mosquito-borne malady hits our state. But to figure out how to stop the spread of disease requires experienced scientists, modern laboratories, and research funding.

Asian tiger mosquito closeup
The Asian tiger mosquito is one of the species that can transmit the Zika virus.
Photo by James Newman

The FMEL team is a mosquito strike force that has done valuable work in its labs to counter public health threats such as dengue, chikungunya, and malaria.

We need our own science for slaying mosquitoes. For 60 years, we’ve been perfecting it at FMEL. That means knowing the biology of the mosquito, how it spreads disease, what kills it, and how to kill it without damaging a whole bunch of other species in a cloud of pesticides.

The research we do in the coming months will not only help us overcome Zika but better prepare us for the next threat that starts with the nuisance of a mosquito bite.

The reports of more than 20 locally transmitted Zika cases in South Florida reminds us of how important it is to have scientists ready to respond. Florida can ill afford individual tragedies or large-scale public health damage from Zika.

Nor can our economy. Our number one industry depends upon outsiders feeling safe visiting our state.

We should not depend upon outsiders for science.

I recently saw a painting in Havana of Cuba’s greatest scientist, Carlos Finlay, telling Walter Reed that it is the mosquito that spreads yellow fever. The painting reinforced for me a determination not to depend on non-Floridians for solutions to Florida problems.

Outsiders can be great scientists, but the core mission of UF/IFAS is to solve Florida’s problems. It’s publicly funded science in the service of society.

Conversely, we in Florida want to make the whole world a healthier, less hungry, and more prosperous place. To be clear, though, UF/IFAS starts its focus on its campus. That campus, because of our Extension offices serving all 67 counties, our research centers from Milton to Homestead, and our even more widely scattered classrooms, is the entire state.

How far we can extend our expertise is, of course, dependent on money. That’s why we continue to raise awareness of the importance of supporting public scientists. And it’s why we hope you’ll tell us and tell your neighbors, your representatives, and your workmates what public science can do for you.

Topics: ,

Leave a Reply

One comment on “Protect Yourself From The Zika Virus [Opinion]

  1. I received a medical alert this weekend that stated that the microcephaly in infants has only occurred in a small range in Brazil where there is a large amount of agriculture with heavy use of pesticides. In addition, Zika has been known since 1947 with no reports of infantile microcephaly both in the USA and Europe. Please don’t dose the public with a heavy use of pesticides to rid the mosquito that could potentially cause brain damage in our little ones.

Citrus Stories
Citrus greening and psyllids
Insect & Disease Update
June 21, 2017
First Case of Deadly Citrus Disease Confirmed in Alabama
State agriculture officials taking action to assess and stop the spread of HLB.  Read More
Florida orange juice label close-up
Citrus
June 21, 2017
Help Consumers Read past Negative Headlines About Orange Juice
When it comes to this liquid sunshine, there are plenty of positives to point out. Read More
Citrus
June 19, 2017
$9M in Grants Allocated to Address Ag Water Resources Issues
Projects that focus on drought stress, flooding, water quality, and postharvest use are among awardees. Read More
Citrus under protective screen
Citrus
June 19, 2017
How to Get the Most out of Growing Citrus Under Protective Screen
2017 Citrus Achievement Award winner Ed Pines provides insider information on unique production method. Read More
'Gold nugget' seedless tangerine
Varieties & Rootstocks
June 19, 2017
Florida Growers Seeking to Strike Citrus Gold
Varieties showing HLB tolerance giving growers hope, sparking more questions. Read More
Illustration of CRISPR-Cas9
Citrus
June 15, 2017
Make Way for Life-Saving Science on Your Farm [opinion]
While nature always finds a way to adapt, science continues to find other ways to cope. Read More
Jellyfish genes causing citrus phloem to glow
school lunch tray full of Florida-grown blueberries and watermelon
Citrus
June 15, 2017
Florida Farm to School Initiative Makes New Strides
Connecting with local growers, communication, and flexibility are keys to a successful nutrition program. Read More
Business Planning
June 14, 2017
How Ready Pac Went from Near Bankruptcy to Innovation in 3 Years
The company's new CEO, Tony Sarsam, spoke at United Fresh's MKT Expo about how investing in staff, increasing communication, and reaching for the same goal can transform a business. Read More
FL Gov. Rick Scott signs a bill
Citrus
June 9, 2017
State Budget Cuts Threaten to Take Big Bite from UF/IFAS Programs
Gov. Rick Scott’s proposed plan includes trimming more than $6 million from research and education-based initiatives. Read More
Citrus
June 9, 2017
Agriculture Water Standards Compliance Dates Extended
FDA says the agency will extend the compliance dates after feedback from stakeholders. Read More
Flooded vegetable field in South Florida
Citrus
June 7, 2017
Super Soaker Deleting Drought Status in the Sunshine State
From famine to feast, Florida’s record-setting dry spell has given way to a wide-open wet season. Read More
Center pivot irrigation system at Florida research farm
Citrus
June 1, 2017
Big Bucks up for Grabs to Water-Wise Florida Farmers
St. Johns River Water Management District cost-share funding would support implementation of conservation-minded practices and technologies. Read More
Citrus
May 30, 2017
Devastating Citrus Disease Found in Orange County, California
HLB detected in plant material from residential neighborhood. Quarantine expanded. Read More
Hurricane season photo collage
Citrus
May 29, 2017
NOAA Betting on Another Busy Atlantic Hurricane Season
Forecasters predict above-normal storm activity, depending on El Niño's naughtiness. Read More
The Latest
Citrus
June 22, 2017
Technology Boom Boosting Farm Life to a …
Whether it is human genetics or genetics applied to plants, knowledge is growing at a dizzying pace. Read More
Citrus
June 21, 2017
Study Suggests Modern Beekeeping Gives V…
Parasite has adapted, thrived with colonies in modern hives. Read More
Citrus
June 21, 2017
Storm Runoff May Recharge Aquifers and Y…
A new study hints that tapping into storm water during dry years does more than increase water table levels. Read More
Citrus
June 21, 2017
Help Consumers Read past Negative Headli…
When it comes to this liquid sunshine, there are plenty of positives to point out. Read More
Citrus
June 19, 2017
$9M in Grants Allocated to Address Ag Wa…
Projects that focus on drought stress, flooding, water quality, and postharvest use are among awardees. Read More
Citrus
June 19, 2017
How to Get the Most out of Growing Citru…
2017 Citrus Achievement Award winner Ed Pines provides insider information on unique production method. Read More
Citrus
June 15, 2017
Make Way for Life-Saving Science on Your…
While nature always finds a way to adapt, science continues to find other ways to cope. Read More
Citrus
June 15, 2017
Florida Farm to School Initiative Makes …
Connecting with local growers, communication, and flexibility are keys to a successful nutrition program. Read More
Business Planning
June 14, 2017
How Ready Pac Went from Near Bankruptcy …
The company's new CEO, Tony Sarsam, spoke at United Fresh's MKT Expo about how investing in staff, increasing communication, and reaching for the same goal can transform a business. Read More
Citrus
June 9, 2017
State Budget Cuts Threaten to Take Big B…
Gov. Rick Scott’s proposed plan includes trimming more than $6 million from research and education-based initiatives. Read More
Citrus
June 9, 2017
Agriculture Water Standards Compliance D…
FDA says the agency will extend the compliance dates after feedback from stakeholders. Read More
Citrus
June 7, 2017
Super Soaker Deleting Drought Status in …
From famine to feast, Florida’s record-setting dry spell has given way to a wide-open wet season. Read More
Citrus
June 1, 2017
Big Bucks up for Grabs to Water-Wise Flo…
St. Johns River Water Management District cost-share funding would support implementation of conservation-minded practices and technologies. Read More
Citrus
May 30, 2017
Devastating Citrus Disease Found in Oran…
HLB detected in plant material from residential neighborhood. Quarantine expanded. Read More
Citrus
May 29, 2017
NOAA Betting on Another Busy Atlantic Hu…
Forecasters predict above-normal storm activity, depending on El Niño's naughtiness. Read More
Citrus
May 25, 2017
Are We Overstating the World’s Ove…
If growers can’t achieve a fair return on investment and stay in business, it won’t matter what the population is in 2050. We all will be trouble. Read More
Citrus
May 24, 2017
Falcons Scare off Other Birds at Duncan …
It collaborates with a firm that uses trained falcons to intimidate and scare off nuisance birds such as the horned larks and pigeons that frequent the area. Read More
Citrus
May 23, 2017
Search is on For Next Crop of Florida Ag…
Nomination period now open for longtime industry honor. Read More