Skilled Labor Needed to Keep Agriculture Growing [Opinion]

Basic tractor on the horizonYou are well aware of the looming need in front of us regarding the need to feed more than 9.5 billion people on this planet by 2050. It has become a cornerstone of the argument we use to educate the public that is now so far removed from agriculture on the importance of farming. We use the 2050 Challenge to promote new plant varieties and modern farming practices in general.

It is an important argument when considering that we will have to increase our food production by more than 70% in the next 30 years or so to feed all of those mouths. But recently, I was reminded in making this case, we are missing something: the here and now.

I had the pleasure of moderating a grower discussion during an event our company hosts called the SoutheastGrowerConnectSM. The discussion of labor and lack thereof came up, and all growers agreed it is very high among their biggest concerns in farming.

One grower made a great point during the talk, noting: “So much of the labor discussion focuses on hand labor to pick our crops, but we can’t find good tractor drivers. A qualified welder could make $100,000 per year, but we can’t find any good ones to do work on the farm.”

This brings me back to the 2050 Challenge. When we speak of it, we often talk about the need to recruit young people to study and get into the business of agriculture. That’s great, but often we think of these young folks taking jobs in scientific and academic fields. And, if they take jobs on a farm, it is cast more toward entry-level jobs with an eye on working up the management ladder. In other words, the type of jobs that require higher education.

Again, all great, but maybe we’ve lost focus on recruiting where jobs on farms are needed most: in the vocational skills like welding, operating equipment, electricians, truck drivers, and mechanics. These all are skilled jobs that can pay well and are badly needed. And just like plant breeders, horticulturists, and agronomists, we can’t meet the 2050 Challenge without them.

I have been impressed with the work of Mike Rowe of TV fame from his Discovery Channel series “Dirty Jobs.” He has established the mikeroweWORKS Foundation to promote vocational careers.

The “About the Foundation” tab on his website reads: The mikeroweWORKS Foundation is a public charity that rewards people with a passion to get trained for skilled jobs that actually exist. As CEO of the Foundation, Mike Rowe spends a significant amount of time speaking about the country’s dysfunctional relationship with work, highlighting the widening skills gap and challenging the persistent belief that a four-year degree is automatically the best path for the most people.

The foundation does great work supporting scholarships to technical colleges and other programs aimed at putting Americans back to work in important technical jobs. There are 3 million good jobs in this country that nobody seems to want.

While we should still encourage higher learning in agricultural fields of study, perhaps we, too, should consider encouraging vocational jobs as well like the mikeroweWORKS Foundation is doing nationally.

As Rowe notes on his website: “… The skills gap is here, and if we don’t close it, it’ll swallow us all. Which is a long way of saying, we could use your help.”

I know a lot of specialty crop growers out there who would strongly agree. So, while we keep our eyes on 2050, let’s not lose sight of challenges happening right now in 2017 and the years beyond.

Topics: ,

Leave a Reply

One comment on “Skilled Labor Needed to Keep Agriculture Growing [Opinion]

  1. I couldn’t agree more. Vocational classes in High Schools need to be tailored to train students for the job markets in their particular areas. Too often students are just parked in these classes in an effort to keep them off the streets. It’s time to give vocational training a much higher priority in our schools.

Citrus Stories
Hurricane Matthew satellite image as it brushed past Florida
Citrus
July 20, 2017
Atlantic Hurricane Forecast Taken Up a Notch
Current conditions in the tropics warrant marked revision in potential storm season scenarios. Read More
Sunset on Florida potato field day
Citrus
July 19, 2017
Researchers On a Mission to Find More Places for Growing Produce
Federal grant to aid exploration of food security solutions for the future. Read More
Citrus
July 19, 2017
Farm Labor Stories Making the News This Week
The agricultural labor shortage is strong enough that the consumer press is beginning to report on it regularly. Here are the stories making headlines this month. Read More
farm hacks collage
Citrus
July 19, 2017
Florida Grower Magazine is Seeking Your Farm Hacks
Life hacks are common in social media threads these days. They are those clever ideas or tricks aimed at making Read More
Rain drops on leaf
Citrus
July 14, 2017
Everglades Agricultural Area Farmers Winning at Water Quality
Annual report shows use of best management practices results in another massive reduction in phosphorus flow. Read More
Citrus
July 13, 2017
The Road is Long to Farm Bill 2018 [Opinion]
Participation in this process will be crucial to ensure your needs are understood and addressed. Read More
2015 FFVA Annual Convention crowd
Citrus
July 13, 2017
Trade Talk to Top Florida Fruit & Vegetable Association Convention Agenda
Trade issues are top of mind these days for specialty crop producers. Efforts have been underway since early this year Read More
Citrus
July 12, 2017
Shaky Florida Citrus Season Skids to a Stop
Final USDA tally confirms continuing downward trend of production in the HLB era. Read More
Smaller John Deere tractor for use in citrus screenhouse
Citrus Achievement Award
July 12, 2017
Encourage New Citrus Growth by Getting Back to Basics
2017 Florida Grower Citrus Achievement Award winner Ed Pines says producing crops under protective screen is a way to farm more and stress less. Read More
Beet-armyworms-on-a-tomato-plant
Citrus
July 12, 2017
Tomato Pests Can Be Induced to Cannibalism, New Study Shows
The University of Wisconsin's John Orrock says when beet armyworms are exposed to concentrations of methyl jasmonate, they will abandon eating tomatoes — and start eating one another. Read More
Citrus
July 12, 2017
USDA Pulls 8 Products from Approved Organic Production List
After a few months of speculation, the USDA's Agricultural Marketing Service has published its Sunset 2017 final rule on approved products for organic production and handling. Read More
Drone-aided photo of Ed Pines' CUPS
Varieties & Rootstocks
July 11, 2017
Florida Citrus Growers Going Inside to Think Outside the Box
Producing fruit under protective screen is developing into a viable option for sustaining the Sunshine State’s signature crop. Read More
Carl and Dustin Grooms of Fancy Farms
Business Planning
July 11, 2017
Young Florida Farmers Ready to Take the Reins
As growers age, the next generation is stepping up and stepping into leadership roles on the farm. Read More
Dr. Martha Roberts
Citrus
July 10, 2017
Florida Reveals Its Latest Woman of the Year in Agriculture
2017 award recipient a true trailblazer and champion for the advancement of the state’s farming industry. Read More
Insect & Disease Update
July 10, 2017
Value of Bactericides Under Florida Citrus Sector’s Microscope
Preliminary results of the unique HLB management method indicate many factors left to consider. Read More
The Latest
Citrus
July 23, 2017
USDA Invests $7.6 Million toward Benefic…
Projects to promote beneficial organisms as part of a pest control strategy. Read More
Citrus
July 22, 2017
Representative from Washington Proposes …
Move broadens use of H-2A to all of agriculture to include those with multiple crops and harvests. Read More
Citrus
July 20, 2017
Atlantic Hurricane Forecast Taken Up a N…
Current conditions in the tropics warrant marked revision in potential storm season scenarios. Read More
Citrus
July 19, 2017
Researchers On a Mission to Find More Pl…
Federal grant to aid exploration of food security solutions for the future. Read More
Citrus
July 19, 2017
Farm Labor Stories Making the News This …
The agricultural labor shortage is strong enough that the consumer press is beginning to report on it regularly. Here are the stories making headlines this month. Read More
Citrus
July 19, 2017
Florida Grower Magazine is Seeking Your …
Life hacks are common in social media threads these days. They are those clever ideas or tricks aimed at making Read More
Citrus
July 14, 2017
Everglades Agricultural Area Farmers Win…
Annual report shows use of best management practices results in another massive reduction in phosphorus flow. Read More
Citrus
July 13, 2017
The Road is Long to Farm Bill 2018 [Opin…
Participation in this process will be crucial to ensure your needs are understood and addressed. Read More
Citrus
July 13, 2017
Trade Talk to Top Florida Fruit & Ve…
Trade issues are top of mind these days for specialty crop producers. Efforts have been underway since early this year Read More
Citrus
July 12, 2017
Shaky Florida Citrus Season Skids to a S…
Final USDA tally confirms continuing downward trend of production in the HLB era. Read More
Citrus
July 12, 2017
Tomato Pests Can Be Induced to Cannibali…
The University of Wisconsin's John Orrock says when beet armyworms are exposed to concentrations of methyl jasmonate, they will abandon eating tomatoes — and start eating one another. Read More
Citrus
July 12, 2017
USDA Pulls 8 Products from Approved Orga…
After a few months of speculation, the USDA's Agricultural Marketing Service has published its Sunset 2017 final rule on approved products for organic production and handling. Read More
Business Planning
July 11, 2017
Young Florida Farmers Ready to Take the …
As growers age, the next generation is stepping up and stepping into leadership roles on the farm. Read More
Citrus
July 10, 2017
Florida Reveals Its Latest Woman of the …
2017 award recipient a true trailblazer and champion for the advancement of the state’s farming industry. Read More
Citrus
July 10, 2017
Practical Solutions Are Bringing Precisi…
Growing the budding ag-tech sector to maturity likely will require a deeper meeting of the minds between technologists and agriculturists. Read More
Business Planning
July 10, 2017
Farming for Online Sales Will Require Gr…
Modern agriculture might not be for everyone, but it’s here to stay. Embrace it. Read More
Citrus
July 5, 2017
Florida Struggling to Stay Afloat in Wak…
In one month’s time, parts of the Sunshine State have gone from water shortage warnings to a high-water emergencies. Read More
Citrus
July 5, 2017
Give Tech Companies the Expertise They L…
One problem with many agricultural technology start up companies is that no one on staff has a farming background. That's easy enough to fix. Volunteer your expertise. Read More