Skilled Labor Needed to Keep Agriculture Growing [Opinion]

Basic tractor on the horizonYou are well aware of the looming need in front of us regarding the need to feed more than 9.5 billion people on this planet by 2050. It has become a cornerstone of the argument we use to educate the public that is now so far removed from agriculture on the importance of farming. We use the 2050 Challenge to promote new plant varieties and modern farming practices in general.

It is an important argument when considering that we will have to increase our food production by more than 70% in the next 30 years or so to feed all of those mouths. But recently, I was reminded in making this case, we are missing something: the here and now.

I had the pleasure of moderating a grower discussion during an event our company hosts called the SoutheastGrowerConnectSM. The discussion of labor and lack thereof came up, and all growers agreed it is very high among their biggest concerns in farming.

One grower made a great point during the talk, noting: “So much of the labor discussion focuses on hand labor to pick our crops, but we can’t find good tractor drivers. A qualified welder could make $100,000 per year, but we can’t find any good ones to do work on the farm.”

This brings me back to the 2050 Challenge. When we speak of it, we often talk about the need to recruit young people to study and get into the business of agriculture. That’s great, but often we think of these young folks taking jobs in scientific and academic fields. And, if they take jobs on a farm, it is cast more toward entry-level jobs with an eye on working up the management ladder. In other words, the type of jobs that require higher education.

Again, all great, but maybe we’ve lost focus on recruiting where jobs on farms are needed most: in the vocational skills like welding, operating equipment, electricians, truck drivers, and mechanics. These all are skilled jobs that can pay well and are badly needed. And just like plant breeders, horticulturists, and agronomists, we can’t meet the 2050 Challenge without them.

I have been impressed with the work of Mike Rowe of TV fame from his Discovery Channel series “Dirty Jobs.” He has established the mikeroweWORKS Foundation to promote vocational careers.

The “About the Foundation” tab on his website reads: The mikeroweWORKS Foundation is a public charity that rewards people with a passion to get trained for skilled jobs that actually exist. As CEO of the Foundation, Mike Rowe spends a significant amount of time speaking about the country’s dysfunctional relationship with work, highlighting the widening skills gap and challenging the persistent belief that a four-year degree is automatically the best path for the most people.

The foundation does great work supporting scholarships to technical colleges and other programs aimed at putting Americans back to work in important technical jobs. There are 3 million good jobs in this country that nobody seems to want.

While we should still encourage higher learning in agricultural fields of study, perhaps we, too, should consider encouraging vocational jobs as well like the mikeroweWORKS Foundation is doing nationally.

As Rowe notes on his website: “… The skills gap is here, and if we don’t close it, it’ll swallow us all. Which is a long way of saying, we could use your help.”

I know a lot of specialty crop growers out there who would strongly agree. So, while we keep our eyes on 2050, let’s not lose sight of challenges happening right now in 2017 and the years beyond.

Topics: ,

Leave a Reply

One comment on “Skilled Labor Needed to Keep Agriculture Growing [Opinion]

  1. I couldn’t agree more. Vocational classes in High Schools need to be tailored to train students for the job markets in their particular areas. Too often students are just parked in these classes in an effort to keep them off the streets. It’s time to give vocational training a much higher priority in our schools.

Citrus Stories
Citrus
October 9, 2017
(We Won’t Back Down … ) Stand Your Ground for Agriculture
You don’t have to be a super hero, rock star, or award-winning scientist to aid farming. You can help by supporting professionalism in fields. Read More
Greenhouse structure damage at SWFREC in Immokalee
Citrus
October 6, 2017
Complications Persist as Florida Growers Pick up After Irma
Ground zero perspective reveals how citrus and vegetable producers are facing different, daunting challenges in wake of destructive storm. Read More
Growers boot up drone technology on the farm
Citrus
October 5, 2017
Are You a Precision Grower?
Gathering, analysis, and application still seems to be the best basic definition of precision agriculture. Read More
Greenhouse structures flattened by Irma at C&B Farms
Citrus
October 5, 2017
Hurricane Irma Toll on Florida Farming in the Billions
Preliminary damage estimates confirm storm’s ferocity. Read More
A sea of citrus fruit floating in floodwater after Irma
Citrus
October 5, 2017
Tips to Help Hurricane-Stressed Citrus Trees
Cleaning up damage and small doses of nutrition the fastest path to helping blocks bounce back. Read More
Citrus
October 4, 2017
Goodlatte Officially Introduces the Ag Guestworker Act
On Monday, Rep. Bob Goodlatte (R-VA) introduced his Agricultural Guestworker Act of 2017 bill, which would replace H-2A with an H-2C program. Rep. Goodlatte introduced the bill to the House Judiciary Committee, which he chairs. Read More
honeybees
Citrus
October 2, 2017
$10 Million for Honeybee Health
National Honey Board, Project Apis.m investing in pollinator research. Read More
Swamped citrus in Southwest Florida
Citrus
October 2, 2017
Perseverance a Priority for Florida Farmers Post-Irma
Commissioner of Agriculture Adam Putnam heartened by the strides being made by growers around the state as they begin to recover from the hurricane. Read More
cash money in hand
Citrus
October 2, 2017
$18 Million in Grants Available for Value-Added Producers
Farmers in need of planning or working capital funds to move their ideas forward encouraged to check out program. Read More
Asian citrus psyllid closeup
Insect & Disease Update
September 28, 2017
Attention to Citrus Psyllid Control Critical After Hurricane Irma
Flushing trees will give HLB vector perfect breeding ground. Read More
Field of carinata
Citrus
September 27, 2017
Research on Jet Fuel Cover Crop Ready for Takeoff
Scientists seeking to find if carinata can sustainably feed future renewable energy demands. Read More
Citrus
September 27, 2017
Agriculture Offers Rare Opportunity for Bipartisan Action
A running theme from agricultural-friendly politicians speaking at the United Fresh Produce Association's Washington Conference was the need for a bipartisan approach to agriculture and immigration. Read More
Citrus
September 27, 2017
Will H-2A Become H-2C? Find Out What the New Bill Proposes
Rep. Bob Goodlatte (R VA) is re-introducing a bill that aims to replace H-2A. Here are some of the ways it will differ from the current program. Read More
Citrus
September 26, 2017
Rise of Agricultural Automation Drives Innovative Event
The International Forum of Agricultural Robots aims to provide links to farming’s future. Read More
Flooded citrus groves from Irma at Bethel Farms in Arcadia
Citrus
September 26, 2017
Are We There Yet? Florida Citrus Growers Want to Know
When it comes to dealing with HLB, the ride can't be over soon enough. Read More
The Latest
Citrus
October 16, 2017
Wrath of Hurricane Irma’s Rainfall…
Report says storm dropped enough gallons of water on Florida’s St. Johns River Water Management District to swamp 6.7 million football fields. Read More
Citrus
October 12, 2017
Irma Rains Down on Florida Citrus Crop E…
Initial USDA forecast reflects the fruits of what was left behind by monster storm. Read More
Citrus
October 10, 2017
Impressions from Irma Indelible on the F…
Striking images from the field reveal not only the storm’s destructive nature, but also paths to recovery and reconstruction. Read More
Citrus
October 9, 2017
(We Won’t Back Down … ) Stan…
You don’t have to be a super hero, rock star, or award-winning scientist to aid farming. You can help by supporting professionalism in fields. Read More
Citrus
October 6, 2017
Complications Persist as Florida Growers…
Ground zero perspective reveals how citrus and vegetable producers are facing different, daunting challenges in wake of destructive storm. Read More
Citrus
October 5, 2017
Are You a Precision Grower?
Gathering, analysis, and application still seems to be the best basic definition of precision agriculture. Read More
Citrus
October 5, 2017
Hurricane Irma Toll on Florida Farming i…
Preliminary damage estimates confirm storm’s ferocity. Read More
Citrus
October 5, 2017
Tips to Help Hurricane-Stressed Citrus T…
Cleaning up damage and small doses of nutrition the fastest path to helping blocks bounce back. Read More
Citrus
October 4, 2017
Goodlatte Officially Introduces the Ag G…
On Monday, Rep. Bob Goodlatte (R-VA) introduced his Agricultural Guestworker Act of 2017 bill, which would replace H-2A with an H-2C program. Rep. Goodlatte introduced the bill to the House Judiciary Committee, which he chairs. Read More
Citrus
October 2, 2017
$10 Million for Honeybee Health
National Honey Board, Project Apis.m investing in pollinator research. Read More
Citrus
October 2, 2017
Perseverance a Priority for Florida Farm…
Commissioner of Agriculture Adam Putnam heartened by the strides being made by growers around the state as they begin to recover from the hurricane. Read More
Citrus
October 2, 2017
$18 Million in Grants Available for Valu…
Farmers in need of planning or working capital funds to move their ideas forward encouraged to check out program. Read More
Citrus
September 27, 2017
Research on Jet Fuel Cover Crop Ready fo…
Scientists seeking to find if carinata can sustainably feed future renewable energy demands. Read More
Citrus
September 27, 2017
Agriculture Offers Rare Opportunity for …
A running theme from agricultural-friendly politicians speaking at the United Fresh Produce Association's Washington Conference was the need for a bipartisan approach to agriculture and immigration. Read More
Citrus
September 27, 2017
Will H-2A Become H-2C? Find Out What the…
Rep. Bob Goodlatte (R VA) is re-introducing a bill that aims to replace H-2A. Here are some of the ways it will differ from the current program. Read More
Citrus
September 26, 2017
Rise of Agricultural Automation Drives I…
The International Forum of Agricultural Robots aims to provide links to farming’s future. Read More
Citrus
September 26, 2017
Are We There Yet? Florida Citrus Growers…
When it comes to dealing with HLB, the ride can't be over soon enough. Read More
Citrus
September 25, 2017
Building Strong Advocates for Farming a …
Emerging leader development for agriculture starts from the ground up. Read More