Skilled Labor Needed to Keep Agriculture Growing [Opinion]

Basic tractor on the horizonYou are well aware of the looming need in front of us regarding the need to feed more than 9.5 billion people on this planet by 2050. It has become a cornerstone of the argument we use to educate the public that is now so far removed from agriculture on the importance of farming. We use the 2050 Challenge to promote new plant varieties and modern farming practices in general.

It is an important argument when considering that we will have to increase our food production by more than 70% in the next 30 years or so to feed all of those mouths. But recently, I was reminded in making this case, we are missing something: the here and now.

I had the pleasure of moderating a grower discussion during an event our company hosts called the SoutheastGrowerConnectSM. The discussion of labor and lack thereof came up, and all growers agreed it is very high among their biggest concerns in farming.

One grower made a great point during the talk, noting: “So much of the labor discussion focuses on hand labor to pick our crops, but we can’t find good tractor drivers. A qualified welder could make $100,000 per year, but we can’t find any good ones to do work on the farm.”

This brings me back to the 2050 Challenge. When we speak of it, we often talk about the need to recruit young people to study and get into the business of agriculture. That’s great, but often we think of these young folks taking jobs in scientific and academic fields. And, if they take jobs on a farm, it is cast more toward entry-level jobs with an eye on working up the management ladder. In other words, the type of jobs that require higher education.

Again, all great, but maybe we’ve lost focus on recruiting where jobs on farms are needed most: in the vocational skills like welding, operating equipment, electricians, truck drivers, and mechanics. These all are skilled jobs that can pay well and are badly needed. And just like plant breeders, horticulturists, and agronomists, we can’t meet the 2050 Challenge without them.

I have been impressed with the work of Mike Rowe of TV fame from his Discovery Channel series “Dirty Jobs.” He has established the mikeroweWORKS Foundation to promote vocational careers.

The “About the Foundation” tab on his website reads: The mikeroweWORKS Foundation is a public charity that rewards people with a passion to get trained for skilled jobs that actually exist. As CEO of the Foundation, Mike Rowe spends a significant amount of time speaking about the country’s dysfunctional relationship with work, highlighting the widening skills gap and challenging the persistent belief that a four-year degree is automatically the best path for the most people.

The foundation does great work supporting scholarships to technical colleges and other programs aimed at putting Americans back to work in important technical jobs. There are 3 million good jobs in this country that nobody seems to want.

While we should still encourage higher learning in agricultural fields of study, perhaps we, too, should consider encouraging vocational jobs as well like the mikeroweWORKS Foundation is doing nationally.

As Rowe notes on his website: “… The skills gap is here, and if we don’t close it, it’ll swallow us all. Which is a long way of saying, we could use your help.”

I know a lot of specialty crop growers out there who would strongly agree. So, while we keep our eyes on 2050, let’s not lose sight of challenges happening right now in 2017 and the years beyond.

Topics: ,

Leave a Reply

One comment on “Skilled Labor Needed to Keep Agriculture Growing [Opinion]

  1. I couldn’t agree more. Vocational classes in High Schools need to be tailored to train students for the job markets in their particular areas. Too often students are just parked in these classes in an effort to keep them off the streets. It’s time to give vocational training a much higher priority in our schools.

Citrus Stories
Florida Ag Hall of Famer William Cook
Citrus
May 23, 2017
Search is on For Next Crop of Florida Agriculture Hall of Famers
Nomination period now open for longtime industry honor. Read More
honeybees
Citrus
May 23, 2017
Webinar Series Highlights New Research on Honeybee Health
National Pollinator Week webinar showcases research to improve honeybee colony health by 2020. Read More
stack of lemons
Citrus
May 23, 2017
California Lemon Growers Sue USDA
Lemon industry files suit against rule allowing importation of Argentine lemons. Read More
Bee Vectoring Technologies experimental hives
Citrus
May 23, 2017
Insects (Bad and Good) Make for Interesting Field Trips
Disease-fighting bees and the deadly citrus psyllid were at the center of two recent, research-fueled out-of-office adventures. Read More
Tango mandarin orange sliced in half
Varieties & Rootstocks
May 23, 2017
In Quest for Low-Seeded Citrus, It Takes Two to Tango
Momentum for viable mandarin hybrids for Florida reaching a peak in the land down under. Read More
Citrus
May 20, 2017
Short on Water, Florida Growers Know How to Dig Down Deep
Through drought, smoke and brush fires, it’s plain to see you farmers have been doing your part to conserve and preserve one of our most precious resources. Read More
seattle port shipping
Citrus
May 20, 2017
USDA Creates Undersecretary for Trade
Reorganization puts trade, farm production as top priorities for the agency. Read More
2017 Florida Grower Citrus Achievement Award winner Ed Pines
Citrus Achievement Award
May 18, 2017
Meet the 2017 Florida Grower Citrus Achievement Award Winner
Cheers to Ed Pines for putting the positive back in citrus. Read More
Sugar Belle oranges
Varieties & Rootstocks
May 18, 2017
Unique Citrus Variety Standing Up to Deadly Disease
University of Florida researchers are peeling back the layers to find out what’s helping specific mandarin hybrid hold serve against HLB. Read More
Citrus
May 16, 2017
First California Red Scale Aerosol Mating Disruption Product Approved
EPA, California officials grant Semios approval of pheromone pest control solution for widespread citrus problem. Read More
Citrus
May 16, 2017
EPA Seeks States’ Input On Waters of the U.S. Rule
As the agency considers scaling back the water rule, states are asked to define protected waters. Read More
Orie Lee, 2015 Citrus Achievement Award winner
Citrus
May 15, 2017
Florida Citrus Innovator Passes Away at 90
Orie Lee spent half his life cultivating the industry he cared deeply for. Read More
Burn ban sign posted along S.R. A1A in Flagler County, FL, due to drought conditions
Citrus
May 15, 2017
Drought Conditions Deepen Across Central Florida
Water Shortage Warning Order expanded to all counties within St. Johns River Water Management District. Read More
Citrus
May 11, 2017
Late Season Rally in Forecast for Florida Orange Crop
Latest estimate from USDA reveals first increase in several months; grapefruit continues to sour. Read More
Citrus
May 9, 2017
Barn Owls Can be an Effective Control for Rodents and Gophers
The predators are already getting results in vineyards and orchards. Research is showing they’re just as effective in vegetable and fruit fields. Read More
The Latest
Citrus
May 29, 2017
NOAA Betting on Another Busy Atlantic Hu…
Forecasters predict above-normal storm activity, depending on El Niño's naughtiness. Read More
Citrus
May 25, 2017
Are We Overstating the World’s Ove…
If growers can’t achieve a fair return on investment and stay in business, it won’t matter what the population is in 2050. We all will be trouble. Read More
Citrus
May 24, 2017
Falcons Scare off Other Birds at Duncan …
It collaborates with a firm that uses trained falcons to intimidate and scare off nuisance birds such as the horned larks and pigeons that frequent the area. Read More
Citrus
May 23, 2017
Search is on For Next Crop of Florida Ag…
Nomination period now open for longtime industry honor. Read More
Citrus
May 23, 2017
Webinar Series Highlights New Research o…
National Pollinator Week webinar showcases research to improve honeybee colony health by 2020. Read More
Citrus
May 23, 2017
California Lemon Growers Sue USDA
Lemon industry files suit against rule allowing importation of Argentine lemons. Read More
Citrus
May 23, 2017
Insects (Bad and Good) Make for Interest…
Disease-fighting bees and the deadly citrus psyllid were at the center of two recent, research-fueled out-of-office adventures. Read More
Citrus
May 20, 2017
Short on Water, Florida Growers Know How…
Through drought, smoke and brush fires, it’s plain to see you farmers have been doing your part to conserve and preserve one of our most precious resources. Read More
Citrus
May 20, 2017
USDA Creates Undersecretary for Trade
Reorganization puts trade, farm production as top priorities for the agency. Read More
Citrus
May 16, 2017
First California Red Scale Aerosol Matin…
EPA, California officials grant Semios approval of pheromone pest control solution for widespread citrus problem. Read More
Citrus
May 16, 2017
EPA Seeks States’ Input On Waters of the…
As the agency considers scaling back the water rule, states are asked to define protected waters. Read More
Citrus
May 15, 2017
Florida Citrus Innovator Passes Away at …
Orie Lee spent half his life cultivating the industry he cared deeply for. Read More
Citrus
May 15, 2017
Drought Conditions Deepen Across Central…
Water Shortage Warning Order expanded to all counties within St. Johns River Water Management District. Read More
Citrus
May 11, 2017
Late Season Rally in Forecast for Florid…
Latest estimate from USDA reveals first increase in several months; grapefruit continues to sour. Read More
Citrus
May 9, 2017
Barn Owls Can be an Effective Control fo…
The predators are already getting results in vineyards and orchards. Research is showing they’re just as effective in vegetable and fruit fields. Read More
Citrus
May 5, 2017
USDA Angers California Lemon Growers
Industry leaders extremely disappointed by Argentine lemon rule. Read More
Citrus
April 29, 2017
Florida Ag Commissioner Pushes for Probe…
With a focus on Mexico, letter sent by Adam Putnam to the U.S. Department of Commerce Secretary stresses need for level playing field. Read More
Citrus
April 28, 2017
EPA Approves New Plant Growth Stimulant
RIO from Arysta LifeScience North America is labeled for use on citrus, vegetables, tree fruit, strawberries, grapes, and nuts. Read More