Traceability And Food Safety: Are You Prepared? [Opinion]

Richard Jones
Richard Jones
I was in Oklahoma for a family reunion last month. It was wonderful to reconnect with extended family members and even meet some others for the first time.

My job as an editor for a vegetable publication is always a great conversation starter in situations like this, because everyone has questions and opinions about produce. It was no different with my family.

As we enjoyed some delicious melon at breakfast one morning, the discussion turned almost immediately to food safety, and more specifically, the much-publicized Jensen Farms situation from last year. (If you were hoping the fallout from that would have settled by now, well, think again.)

I described the extensive programs that you as growers have in place to make sure the vegetables you’re selling are free from contamination. But inevitably, they can point to a big news story that makes them wonder whether it’s safe to eat the tomato, pepper, or cantaloupe they just bought. My aunts, uncles, and cousins have food safety on their minds.

And I know it’s on yours, too, as you stare down the barrel of the Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA). We’re hearing now that the first wave of FSMA final rules should be rolling out in the fall, with further announcements coming over the next 12 to 18 months. We don’t know yet exactly how traceability will play a role, but rest assured that anything you can do to enhance your record keeping will help you in the long run.

Be sure to check out our story, 10 Traceability Tools. Many of you already have excellent systems to ensure the safety of your crop. But some of you probably still have some work to do to make sure your business is prepared and protected. That’s just as important as ensuring consumers are protected when they enjoy your produce.

My family will appreciate it, and I’ll have even more to share about how safe that breakfast melon is when I see them again next summer.

On another note, you may have noticed the recent updates to our website, GrowingProduce.com. We’re constantly experimenting and upgrading our offerings to more effectively deliver the content you need for your business, in an easier-to-read-and-use format.

Over the last several months, we have refashioned the site with a faster, more efficient platform and most recently, improved its organization to make it simpler to access the information you’re looking for. From feature stories and the latest news to image galleries and webcasts, we’re working hard to make GrowingProduce.com a valuable resource for your business. Please take a look around and let me know what you think.

Topics: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Food Safety Stories
USDA’s Agricultural Research Service and a commercial partner developed a new organic antimicrobial wash for fresh produce.
Photo by Peggy Greb
Food Safety
January 25, 2016
Antimicrobial Wash Reduces Risk Of Pathogens Fresh Produce
The product is USDA certified organic and is expected to be used in commercial flumes and rinse tanks that wash fresh produce. Read More
lettuce field 14_WR
Food Safety
January 22, 2016
Listeria Outbreak Linked To Packaged Salads Produced In Ohio
Evidence points to processing facility in Springfield, OH. Read More
multiple hands holding a plate full of veggies
Citrus
December 28, 2015
Prepare For The Year Of Food Safety [Opinion]
Chipotle’s recent food safety issues are a cautionary tale for companies that build their reputation on a food elitist platform that sought to demonize “evil corporate agriculture.” Read More
The company has 180 acres of celery
Food Safety
December 3, 2015
E. Coli Outbreak Linked To Celery
Celery products from Taylor Farms Pacific in California are recalled. Read More
multiple hands holding a plate full of veggies
Farm Management
December 3, 2015
Get Ready For The Produce Rule [opinion]
As we gear up for the final Produce Rule, make sure you are ready for what will be required of you and have a plan in place. Read More
Produce aisle leafy greens super market grocery store
Farm Management
November 30, 2015
LGMA’s Take On The Final Produce Safety Rule
The California Leafy Greens Marketing Agreement clarifies several points about the new law. Read More
baskets of produce
Farm Management
November 24, 2015
FDA Rejects Mandatory Genetic Engineering Labeling
Agency is issuing two guidances for manufacturers who wish to voluntarily label their products as containing ingredients from GE or non-GE sources. Read More
The Latest
Farm Management
February 3, 2016
Western Growers Launches Tech Talk Serie…
Speakers from a variety of agricultural technology areas will make presentations on a variety of topics including drone/satellite imagery and food safety software. Read More
Farm Management
February 3, 2016
Hot Topics Tackled At Mid-Atlantic Fruit…
Food safety and GMOs were two of the topics discussed on the first day of the trade show and conference. Read More
Cucurbits
January 27, 2016
Imported Cucumbers Connected With Multis…
Since the Salmonella outbreak occurred in September, nearly 900 people in 39 states have fallen ill. Read More
Food Safety
January 25, 2016
Antimicrobial Wash Reduces Risk Of Patho…
The product is USDA certified organic and is expected to be used in commercial flumes and rinse tanks that wash fresh produce. Read More
Food Safety
January 22, 2016
Listeria Outbreak Linked To Packaged Sal…
Evidence points to processing facility in Springfield, OH. Read More
Citrus
December 28, 2015
Prepare For The Year Of Food Safety [Opi…
Chipotle’s recent food safety issues are a cautionary tale for companies that build their reputation on a food elitist platform that sought to demonize “evil corporate agriculture.” Read More
Food Safety
December 3, 2015
E. Coli Outbreak Linked To Celery
Celery products from Taylor Farms Pacific in California are recalled. Read More
Farm Management
December 3, 2015
Get Ready For The Produce Rule [opinion]
As we gear up for the final Produce Rule, make sure you are ready for what will be required of you and have a plan in place. Read More
Farm Management
November 30, 2015
LGMA’s Take On The Final Produce Safety …
The California Leafy Greens Marketing Agreement clarifies several points about the new law. Read More
Farm Management
November 24, 2015
FDA Rejects Mandatory Genetic Engineerin…
Agency is issuing two guidances for manufacturers who wish to voluntarily label their products as containing ingredients from GE or non-GE sources. Read More
Citrus
November 13, 2015
FDA Releases FSMA Produce Safety Rule
FDA released today the Produce Safety Rule component of the Food Safety Modernization Act. The Produce Safety Rule establishes science-based Read More
Food Safety
November 4, 2015
Fresh Produce Investigated In Chipotle E…
The source of the contamination is currently under investigation. Read More
Apples & Pears
October 30, 2015
Granny Smith Apples Recalled Due To Poss…
 In a release from FDA, Northstar Produce Inc. of St. Louis Park, MN, has recalled 33 cases of Granny Smith Read More
Farm Management
October 28, 2015
LGMA Launches Hand Washing App
Hand washing is critical as it is the first line of defense to protect food, says the California Leafy Greens Marketing Agreement. Read More
Farm Management
October 13, 2015
Center for Produce Safety Awards 11 New …
  The Center for Produce Safety (CPS) has announced 11 new research awards valued at nearly $2 million. The awards Read More
Citrus
September 26, 2015
FDA To Hold Public Meeting On FSMA Preve…
USDA’s FDA announced a public meeting to offer the opportunity for discussion on the recently finalized rules on preventive controls Read More
Food Safety
September 22, 2015
Center For Produce Safety Announces Its …
Since its inception in 2007, the center has provided $16.4 million to fund critically-needed, actionable produce safety research. Read More
Food Safety
September 18, 2015
Tomatoes Are Source Of Salmonella Outbre…
Investigators are working to trace back the tomatoes to the farm of origin. Read More
[gravityform id="62" title="false" description="false"]