‘Dirty Dozen’ — Dirtier Than You Think [Opinion]

Having written several editorials through the years about the Environmental Working Group’s (EWG) absurd annual “Dirty Dozen” list of the 12 fruits and vegetables that purportedly have the greatest pesticide residues, I really thought I was done with the topic.

What more can you say about a group that puts out a list allegedly in the interest of people’s health, when it must know full well the list’s name alone carries the not-too-subliminal message that you’d better eat organic fruits and vegetables — or else.

In fact, the EWG got so much heat from doctors and dietitians when it released the report a couple years ago, it called conventionally grown produce a “best” food for consumers and strongly urged increased consumption of these fruits and vegetables. To which pretty much everyone I know said: “Duh.”

But I thought I’d washed my hands of the issue until three recent events occurred in short order.

First came a shocking bit of insight into how EWG racks up some of its revenue. In late October, I attended the annual meeting of the California Association of Pesticide Control Advisers (CAPCA), where the keynote speaker was Phillip Hayes, who oversees food and farm practice at North Bridge Communications — a Washington, D.C., public relations firm he cofounded.

Hayes is no fan of the EWG either, and he shared how through the outfit’s ratings of various products, it gets a percentage on sales.

For example, EWG annually evaluates sunscreens, rating them on a 1 to 10, best to worst. I clicked on one of the top-rated sunscreens, which I’m sure is a fine product. It must be, as it not only provides UVA/UVB protection, it’s “gluten-free.” (No, I’m not making that last bit up.)

I scrolled down the page and clicked on an Amazon link that would have allowed me to buy the product. What people may not know, said Hayes, is EWG gets a chunk of change when you buy through Amazon. It’s not insignificant either.

He said Amazon gets 8% from every purchase, so if I had purchased the 0.45 ounces of sunscreen for the listed price of $12.32, according to Hayes EWG would have gotten $0.99. Now I hasten to add here that the group is not hiding anything. It says right there on the site “EWG may receive a commission on purchases made through the Amazon link.”

I just think most consumers don’t pay much attention to that. Probably about as many people think about that disclaimer as see the annual “Dirty Dozen” come out and think the EWG is saying conventional fruits and vegetables are a “best” food to consume.

When I got home from CAPCA, I got hit with another of the studies showing how eating fruits and vegetables — however they are grown — is critical to your health. This one, done by the Illinois Institute of Technology’s Center for Nutrition Research, found lower income people felt they’d be less likely to purchase any type of fruit or vegetable when considering the EWG’s statement about the “Dirty Dozen.”

Then came Halloween, and it’s not like I’m some kind of nut who hands out fruit to the trick or treaters. I generously hand out the candy, but I don’t feel as good about it as I used to — too many obese kids. I wonder if anyone at EWG feels that way about lower income folks not opting for fresh fruit and vegetables for their children, or if they’re too busy tallying their “commissions.”

Topics: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

5 comments on “‘Dirty Dozen’ — Dirtier Than You Think [Opinion]

  1. Come on…you guys must have taught Trump propaganda 101…you are a shrill for conventional,pesticide friendly ag. No one pays 8% for that type of lead…easy to make a false statement over and over until the masses believe it to be true.Go to http://www.rodale.org for more accurate info.

    1. Actually, Amazon can pay more than 8% for that kind of lead. I have personally set up an Amazon Associates account to raise money for my 501(c)(3) of choice, our Elementary School PTO. We get variable commissions (many in the 6.5% range but they can go up as high as 10%) by entering Amazon.com with a special link or banners much in the same way that EWG shills products. Go to https://affiliate-program.amazon.com/ for more accurate info, Eric.

  2. Funny how the dirty dozen list lists the prominent fruits in different order every year, for instance apples get number one one year, strawberries the next, even though nothings really changed as to what they were or weren’t treated with. It’s a bunch of crap.

  3. I like both organics and conventional. Why? well some things just turn out better with conventional, but lets consider that in the last 10 years science has been working away and rather quickly finding many nearly organic ways to reduce the amount of the old time chemicals. Well, science has done so well that there are very few, very few chemicals that we still use. I’m not a scientist but compared to 20 years ago we have changed to nearly organic farming practices. Oh, well I’m still turned off by blemished and shriveled up organic fruits and organic strawberries with mold. Science I know – is working on it. But I doubt they are dirtier than you think.

Fruits Stories
hands holding a globe
Citrus
May 25, 2017
Are We Overstating the World’s Overpopulation Problem?
If growers can’t achieve a fair return on investment and stay in business, it won’t matter what the population is in 2050. We all will be trouble. Read More
Falcon-takes-flight-at-Duncan-Family-Farms
Citrus
May 24, 2017
Falcons Scare off Other Birds at Duncan Family Farms
It collaborates with a firm that uses trained falcons to intimidate and scare off nuisance birds such as the horned larks and pigeons that frequent the area. Read More
Florida Ag Hall of Famer William Cook
Citrus
May 23, 2017
Search is on For Next Crop of Florida Agriculture Hall of Famers
Nomination period now open for longtime industry honor. Read More
Apples & Pears
May 23, 2017
Grower Shares Personal Impact of Labor Shortage
USApple leader Phil Glaize of Virginia stresses need for reform with current labor regulations, programs at Congressional briefing on agriculture labor crisis. Read More
Stone Fruit
May 23, 2017
Northeast Peach Crop Rebounds
After a mild winter and relatively uneventful bloom time, the crop is setting up nicely for the region. Read More
Berries
May 23, 2017
Researchers Examining Potential for Longer Berry Season in Northeast
Team at Penn State University using low and high tunnels and plastic coverings to extend raspberry and strawberry seasons. Read More
honeybees
Citrus
May 23, 2017
Webinar Series Highlights New Research on Honeybee Health
National Pollinator Week webinar showcases research to improve honeybee colony health by 2020. Read More
Crop Protection
May 23, 2017
Valent Grants Organic Farming Scholarship to Next Generation Researcher
University of Florida Doctor of Plant Medicine student receives $1,500 toward the development of training materials. Read More
Citrus
May 20, 2017
Short on Water, Florida Growers Know How to Dig Down Deep
Through drought, smoke and brush fires, it’s plain to see you farmers have been doing your part to conserve and preserve one of our most precious resources. Read More
seattle port shipping
Citrus
May 20, 2017
USDA Creates Undersecretary for Trade
Reorganization puts trade, farm production as top priorities for the agency. Read More
Grapes
May 19, 2017
Researchers Still Have a Lot to Learn about Spotted Lanternfly
While some feeding habits have been recognized, there’s still a learning curve with this enigmatic invasive pest. Read More
Fruits
May 19, 2017
Representatives Introduce Bill to Boost Organic Farming Research
As organic production continues to grow, legislators seek to boost research funding, which has remained stagnant for many years. Read More
Citrus
May 16, 2017
EPA Seeks States’ Input On Waters of the U.S. Rule
As the agency considers scaling back the water rule, states are asked to define protected waters. Read More
Berries
May 15, 2017
Grower Comments on Pyrethroids Being Sought by EPA
Comment period on popular class of insecticides opens today. Read More
Apples & Pears
May 15, 2017
U.S. Apple Board Member Stresses Labor Reform At Senate Farm Bill Hearing
Michigan apple grower says agriculture’s future depends on Farm Bill funding. Read More
The Latest
Farm Management
May 25, 2017
Plight of Trade Policy Grounding Many U.…
Much-needed investments in labor-saving technology could be key to long-term survival. Read More
Farm Management
May 25, 2017
Florida Farm Winning Case for Medicinal …
Judge rules in favor of 3 Boys Farm in the quest to expand its crop/business portfolio. Read More
Citrus
May 25, 2017
Are We Overstating the World’s Ove…
If growers can’t achieve a fair return on investment and stay in business, it won’t matter what the population is in 2050. We all will be trouble. Read More
Citrus
May 24, 2017
Falcons Scare off Other Birds at Duncan …
It collaborates with a firm that uses trained falcons to intimidate and scare off nuisance birds such as the horned larks and pigeons that frequent the area. Read More
Citrus
May 23, 2017
Search is on For Next Crop of Florida Ag…
Nomination period now open for longtime industry honor. Read More
Citrus
May 23, 2017
Webinar Series Highlights New Research o…
National Pollinator Week webinar showcases research to improve honeybee colony health by 2020. Read More
Crop Protection
May 23, 2017
Valent Grants Organic Farming Scholarshi…
University of Florida Doctor of Plant Medicine student receives $1,500 toward the development of training materials. Read More
Citrus
May 20, 2017
Short on Water, Florida Growers Know How…
Through drought, smoke and brush fires, it’s plain to see you farmers have been doing your part to conserve and preserve one of our most precious resources. Read More
Citrus
May 20, 2017
USDA Creates Undersecretary for Trade
Reorganization puts trade, farm production as top priorities for the agency. Read More
Fruits
May 19, 2017
Representatives Introduce Bill to Boost …
As organic production continues to grow, legislators seek to boost research funding, which has remained stagnant for many years. Read More
Citrus
May 16, 2017
EPA Seeks States’ Input On Waters of the…
As the agency considers scaling back the water rule, states are asked to define protected waters. Read More
Citrus
May 15, 2017
Drought Conditions Deepen Across Central…
Water Shortage Warning Order expanded to all counties within St. Johns River Water Management District. Read More
Citrus
May 9, 2017
Barn Owls Can be an Effective Control fo…
The predators are already getting results in vineyards and orchards. Research is showing they’re just as effective in vegetable and fruit fields. Read More
Fruits
May 4, 2017
Senate Democrats Unveil New Ag Labor Pla…
Feinstein, colleagues introduce legislation to shield farmworkers from deportation. Read More
Fruits
May 2, 2017
Penn State Offers Tips To Manage Early S…
Warm weather has quickly accelerated development of insects. Read More
Crop Protection
April 30, 2017
BASF Adds Pest, Crop, Weather Modeling t…
ZedX’s agronomic models help farmers make better production decisions. Read More
Citrus
April 29, 2017
Florida Ag Commissioner Pushes for Probe…
With a focus on Mexico, letter sent by Adam Putnam to the U.S. Department of Commerce Secretary stresses need for level playing field. Read More
Crop Protection
April 29, 2017
BioSafe Systems Introduces Broad-Spectru…
Alternative to potassium bicarbonate and lime sulfur for tree and vine crops. Read More