Opinion: Giving Thanks To Fruit Growers

David Eddy

Thanksgiving is probably my favorite holiday. Don’t get me wrong, I like the other holidays, but on a purely superficial level, it’s the best. (Some of our most important holidays are based in religion, and I’m not about to get into that here.) I like Halloween OK, but I’m really not too enthusiastic about giving kids candy, knowing it’s not doing their health any good at all. And don’t say I should give away apples. A neighbor of ours did that when I was a kid, and the poor guy’s house got hammered with Red Delicious — or maybe it was MacIntosh, as I grew up in Connecticut — projectiles. I can still hear him shouting in some sort of European accent: “Don’t use apples as missiles.”

As for Christmas, the holiday itself is wonderful. It’s the shopping I loathe. In fact, I do it only three times a year: for Mother’s Day, my wife’s birthday, and Christmas. (And yes, I have done so on Dec. 24th. Hey, as we say in my business, the important thing is to make deadline.) You don’t have to shop for Thanksgiving. (I don’t count grocery shopping as shopping-shopping.) You eat. That’s something I can stand behind 100%. That, and you give thanks.

This being the season, I’d like to list a few things I’m thankful for regarding the tree fruit industry.

Giving Thanks

First and foremost, I’m thankful to you growers for welcoming me into your orchards, your vineyards, your homes, and your lives. You are a refreshing, independent breed. Not to mention tough. It’s not an easy business. In fact, I just saw the other day that Chiquita will be exiting the deciduous fruit business this year. It reminded me that another banana industry giant, Dole, made a foray into the Pacific Northwest years ago, and they too made an exit. Not everyone can be a fruit grower.

I’m thankful that you growers out here in the West had an especially good year. From apple growers up in Washington to the nut growers down here in California, just outstanding. In fact, it was recently announced that even though California grape growers had a banner year, almonds surpassed grapes as the Golden State’s second biggest agricultural commodity. (Dairy remained No. 1.)

I’m thankful to be associated with an industry that does so much good for so many people, and could do even more if people would only consume more fruit. Consider the recent report, published online in the Journal of Food and Chemical Toxicology, which found an estimated 20,000 cancers could be prevented if half of all Americans simply increased their consumption of fruits and vegetables by a single serving.

I’m thankful to all the researchers, mainly the Extension people, who share their findings with me — and, in turn, with you. Because of that, I’m thankful for all the Specialty Crop Research Initiative grants contained in the last Farm Bill. And I will be even more thankful if we ever get another Farm Bill that actually recognizes fruit growers’ existence.

Lastly, I’m thankful to live in a time when there are so many means of communication at my disposal. Consider that just a decade ago, Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, and Wikipedia didn’t even exist. Yes, I’m a little disturbed about the attendant loss of privacy, but would you want to give back your iPhones, iPads, Androids, apps, or Kindles? I can’t imagine what the next 10 years will bring us, but looking at that list of new technologies, you’d be wise to stay abreast of the business. So please keep reading, and Happy Thanksgiving.

Topics:

Leave a Reply

Fruits Stories

CitrusBorder Crisis Not Helping Farmers
August 19, 2014
As thousands cross into the U.S. seeking refuge, calls for ag labor reform are lost in the uproar. Read More
FruitsHandheld Produce Quality Meter Debuts At 2014 International Horticultural Congress
August 19, 2014
Researchers to present data measuring dry matter, color, and sugar content of cherries and other product pre- and postharvest. Read More
FruitsEuropean Fruit And Vegetable Growers Hit By Russian Ban Compensated
August 19, 2014
Angry at European Union/United States sanctions over Ukraine, Russia has banned many food imports. Read More
Apple Grower of the YearGet The Latest News On The Nation’s Apple Crop
August 19, 2014
American and Western Fruit Grower editors will be tweeting in real time this week from the Apple Crop Outlook & Marketing Conference. Read More
Crop ProtectionBioConsortia Inc. Bolsters Executive Team
August 18, 2014
Industry veterans Christina Huben and Dr. Susan Turner bring experience to plant biotechnology firm. Read More
Stone Fruit‘Ladderless’ Peach, Nectarine Orchards Explored
August 15, 2014
University of California researchers explore the concept of so-called pedestrian orchards. Read More
CitrusFlorida’s Future Farming Leaders Dig Up Knowledge In The Golden State
August 15, 2014
Class 3 of FFVA's Emerging Leader Development Program learn a lot from road trip to California's Salinas Valley. Read More

The Latest

CitrusBorder Crisis Not Helping Farmers
August 19, 2014
As thousands cross into the U.S. seeking refuge, calls for ag labor reform are lost in the uproar. Read More
FruitsHandheld Produce Quality Meter Debuts At 2014 Internati…
August 19, 2014
Researchers to present data measuring dry matter, color, and sugar content of cherries and other product pre- and postharvest. Read More
FruitsEuropean Fruit And Vegetable Growers Hit By Russian Ban…
August 19, 2014
Angry at European Union/United States sanctions over Ukraine, Russia has banned many food imports. Read More
Crop ProtectionBioConsortia Inc. Bolsters Executive Team
August 18, 2014
Industry veterans Christina Huben and Dr. Susan Turner bring experience to plant biotechnology firm. Read More
CitrusFlorida’s Future Farming Leaders Dig Up Knowledge…
August 15, 2014
Class 3 of FFVA's Emerging Leader Development Program learn a lot from road trip to California's Salinas Valley. Read More
CitrusWater Bond Will Appear On California Ballot
August 14, 2014
Voters will decide if thirsty state will spend $7.5 billion, including $2.7 billion for storage. Read More
CitrusU.S. Fall Weather Outlook Foresees Wild Ride
August 14, 2014
From continued drought in the West, to a possible early Polar Vortex visit in the East, forecasters are predicting an active autumn. Read More
CitrusMiffed By Marketing? You’re Not Alone [Opinion]
August 13, 2014
Properly promoting product involves engaging your target audience to meet their needs. But based on the campaigns dominating airtime, many are missing the mark. Read More
CitrusUpdate On The Farm Bill Implementation
August 11, 2014
A six-month progress report states disaster relief, risk management tools, innovative conservation partnerships, and the research foundation are all moving forward. Read More
FruitsCalifornia Grape & Tree Fruit League Is Now The Cal…
August 8, 2014
Name change better encompasses and identifies the commodities, which includes blueberries, it represents. Read More
Fruits4 Creative Ideas For Your Farm’s Direct Marketing…
August 8, 2014
While there is no recipe for the perfect activity for your farm, these venues have carved their own path through new offerings. Read More
Business PlanningHow To Hire The Best Employees In 7 Steps
August 8, 2014
The success of your farm market business depends on finding the right people to fill your needs. Read More
FruitsRussia Bans All U.S. Agriculture Products
August 7, 2014
One-year embargo also includes fruits and vegetables from Canada, the European Union, and beyond. Read More
Farm ManagementFlorida Fruit & Vegetable Association Announce Pers…
August 6, 2014
Sonia Tighe and Mike Aerts to take on new staff positions. Read More
CitrusJohn Deere Announces Certified Pre-Owned Equipment Prog…
August 6, 2014
Deere dealers to offer certified used machines that meet stringent quality inspections and requirements.   Read More
FruitsBiotech’s Many Benefits [Opinion]
August 5, 2014
The U.S. House of Representatives Committee on Agriculture’s Subcommittee on Horticulture, Research, Biotechnology, and Foreign Agriculture held a hearing last Read More
FruitsNew Data Reflects Continued Demand For Farmers Markets
August 4, 2014
Three new USDA directories help connect consumers and farmers through local food opportunities. Read More
Crop ProtectionFrench Crop Protection Firm Acquires Fine Holdings Ltd.
August 4, 2014
De Sangosse group seeks to bolster its business with purchase of plant growth regulator specialist. Read More