It’s our Industry’s Make-It-Work Moment [Opinion]

Harvest CROO robotic strawberry harvester prototype construction
Harvest CROO techs Alex Figueroa (left) and Kendon Ricketts work on the latest strawberry harvester prototype.
Photo courtesy of Harvest CROO

One of my all-time favorite movies is Apollo 13. It recounts the drama that ensued when an oxygen tank exploded two days into a mission to the moon, leaving three astronauts and NASA to figure out how to get them back to Earth alive on a crippled ship.

The crew faced crisis after crisis. One of the more mundane was the need to scrub the air of CO2 in their lunar capsule lifeboat. It was designed to take two men to the moon’s surface, not support the life of three men for several days.

Enter the nerds. A man walks in with a load of everything that is on the lunar lander and the command module, dumps it on a table. Then he holds up a square filter and a round filter, and challenges the team to make the square peg work in a round hole with only the materials available.

It’s the ultimate make-it-work moment and — what’s better — it really happened.

During the past couple of months, I’ve been listening to industry players discuss the issues vegetable growers are grappling with, and what I should be investigating on their behalf.

The industry is facing some difficult challenges, from labor, to an increase in regulations, to public ignorance on how crops are grown, to what I think is the biggest issue of all: how to sustain a business model that allows for lean years and for reinvestment long into the future.

These conversations aren’t designed so we can all indulge in a robust session of hand wringing. It’s so we here at American Vegetable Grower® magazine can act like the NASA nerds and help you figure out how to make things work for the industry.

HortTech offers info growers need. There will be many, many issues we will be tackling as we look for the tools you need to overcome these challenges. But it turns out we won’t be working alone.

Silicon Valley has taken an interest in our industry. It’s doing what we on our own would have a hard time justifying: pouring millions of dollars into horticultural research without a guarantee of return.

There are dozens and dozens of companies out there developing ways to collect data from the field, group it all together on local cloud-based platforms, organize it so it can be used, then apply it to automated systems and robots.

And now specialty crop growers’ needs for higher quality crops, not just high yields, and the much larger variety of crops, are being addressed.

American Vegetable Grower will regularly cover these advances. Look for the logo you see here, which we’ll attach to all our coverage.

Our industry has so much more to work with than those NASA engineers, who had to resort to the plastic covering off a notebook and duct tape to save the lives of their astronauts. You are going to do so much more than make it work. With the tools available, you will continue to build your business and our industry, offering the highest quality food for a hungry world.

Topics: ,

Leave a Reply

Vegetables Stories
Freeze protected blueberry bushes in Florida
Berries
March 25, 2017
Florida Blueberry Crop Escapes Slap from Late-Season Cold Snap
Freeze protection tactics prove fruitful as local producers look to gain from Georgia’s loss. Read More
Citrus
March 24, 2017
Marrone Bio Introduces Biostimulant to Reduce Sun Stress
Haven Anti-transpirant helps to reduce transpiration of fruit, nut, and vegetable crops. Read More
Campus of Massey University in New Zealand
Citrus
March 23, 2017
Count Down the World’s Top 30 Agriculture Colleges
Familiar names and several new faces among annual ranking’s elite. Read More
Pest Control
March 22, 2017
Fear of GMOs is Impacting Quality Food Research [Opinion]
Perhaps the greatest threat to our industry is a public that values instinctual opinion over careful research and the findings of experts who have dedicated years to their field of study. Read More
Business Planning
March 22, 2017
How HortTech Is Solving Grower Challenges
Dozens of tech companies are looking for solutions to real-world problems vegetable growers face. We take a look at what it could really mean for you and your business. Read More
Production
March 22, 2017
Weighing the Good and Bad of Six Soilless Media Options
Trying to decide which growing media is the right one for your greenhouse vegetable production? Take a look at these six options. Read More
Citrus
March 21, 2017
Industry Groups, Ag Leaders React to Proposed USDA, EPA Budget Cuts
New plan would slash USDA spending by 21%. Read More
Freeze protected peach trees in Florida
Cold Protection
March 21, 2017
Freezing Temperatures Hit South Carolina Crops Hard
Peaches, blueberries, and strawberries among crops damaged. Read More
fork digging into a plate full of salad
Citrus
March 21, 2017
Since When Did Eating Get So Complicated? [Opinion]
The bottom line to all this is the way we eat is undergoing massive disruption. Read More
Organic potato grower staring at his crops
Crop Protection
March 20, 2017
Biologicals Gaining Acceptance Among More Growers
Driven by new innovation and consumer demand, growers look to the biocontrol sector for new solutions. Read More
Alternaria leaf and pod spot of snap bean
Disease Control
March 17, 2017
Prevent Alternaria from Putting Your Snap Beans on the Spot
Learn how to identify, the survival and spread, as well as management methods for this vegetable disease. Read More
Cranes at the Port Tampa Bay
Farm Management
March 17, 2017
Unfair Trade Taking Its Toll on Florida Farmers
Local grower community hopeful over President Trump’s announced intention to renegotiate NAFTA. Read More
Swadesh Santra of UCF
Citrus
March 16, 2017
UCF Stepping up to Be Farming’s Knight in Shining Armor
Hopes are high that the school's new agriculture research center will help growers solve production issues and feed the globe. Read More
Frozen blueberries
Berries
March 15, 2017
Arctic Blast Gives Southern Fruit Growers the Chills
Peaches and berries in bloom most at risk from freezing temperatures. Read More
Citrus
March 15, 2017
Group Wants To Streamline Food Safety Regulations
There are 15 federal agencies implement more than 30 different food safety statutes. A team of experts believe they have a solution. Read More
The Latest
Fruits
March 29, 2017
Water Allocations in California Deemed U…
Tom Nassif of Western Growers objects to a recent announcement that some in California’s Central Valley received only a 65% initial water allocation, while other growers in the region received 100%. Read More
Vegetables
March 29, 2017
Ocean Mist Farms’ Albert Pieri Die…
Pieri, who worked with Ocean Mist for almost 50 years, was a pioneer in the early days of California Artichoke and Vegetable Growers, which was renamed Ocean Mist Farms in 1995. Read More
Citrus
March 25, 2017
New Videos Offer Tips on Planting Pollin…
A new video series on planting flowering habitats is designed to help growers support crop pollinators. Read More
Citrus
March 24, 2017
Marrone Bio Introduces Biostimulant to R…
Haven Anti-transpirant helps to reduce transpiration of fruit, nut, and vegetable crops. Read More
Citrus
March 23, 2017
Count Down the World’s Top 30 Agricultur…
Familiar names and several new faces among annual ranking’s elite. Read More
Pest Control
March 22, 2017
Fear of GMOs is Impacting Quality Food R…
Perhaps the greatest threat to our industry is a public that values instinctual opinion over careful research and the findings of experts who have dedicated years to their field of study. Read More
Business Planning
March 22, 2017
How HortTech Is Solving Grower Challenge…
Dozens of tech companies are looking for solutions to real-world problems vegetable growers face. We take a look at what it could really mean for you and your business. Read More
Production
March 22, 2017
Weighing the Good and Bad of Six Soilles…
Trying to decide which growing media is the right one for your greenhouse vegetable production? Take a look at these six options. Read More
Citrus
March 21, 2017
Industry Groups, Ag Leaders React to Pro…
New plan would slash USDA spending by 21%. Read More
Cold Protection
March 21, 2017
Freezing Temperatures Hit South Carolina…
Peaches, blueberries, and strawberries among crops damaged. Read More
Citrus
March 21, 2017
Since When Did Eating Get So Complicated…
The bottom line to all this is the way we eat is undergoing massive disruption. Read More
Crop Protection
March 20, 2017
Biologicals Gaining Acceptance Among Mor…
Driven by new innovation and consumer demand, growers look to the biocontrol sector for new solutions. Read More
Farm Management
March 17, 2017
Unfair Trade Taking Its Toll on Florida …
Local grower community hopeful over President Trump’s announced intention to renegotiate NAFTA. Read More
Citrus
March 16, 2017
UCF Stepping up to Be Farming’s Kn…
Hopes are high that the school's new agriculture research center will help growers solve production issues and feed the globe. Read More
Berries
March 15, 2017
Arctic Blast Gives Southern Fruit Grower…
Peaches and berries in bloom most at risk from freezing temperatures. Read More
Citrus
March 15, 2017
Group Wants To Streamline Food Safety Re…
There are 15 federal agencies implement more than 30 different food safety statutes. A team of experts believe they have a solution. Read More
Citrus
March 14, 2017
Can Your Farm Survive If the Grid Goes D…
Even in a plugged-in world, the basics are needed now more than ever. Read More
Citrus
March 14, 2017
Concerns Mount in the Sunshine State Ove…
Water conservation efforts called for as the dry season rolls on. Read More