It’s Time To Turn The Page On Election 2016 [Opinion]

Congratulations to Donald Trump on his victory. I am sure there are equal parts of you who are happy, sad, or bewildered about the outcome of the hard-fought race.

While we might disagree about the result, I think we can all agree there has not been a crazier Presidential election in our lifetimes. I would count myself in the bewildered category, as I had very deep reservations about both candidates.

But, the people have spoken. And no, the election was not “rigged.” We are left with a country that is very divided. In some ways, that divide splits between urban and rural communities. Just look at the election results map. The split between the country and city is pretty clear. For those of us involved in agriculture, that is an important divide and one we can’t ignore moving forward.

Supporters of Trump would do well by avoiding victory laps. And those who opposed him should take heart that the sky is not falling. I recall vividly many people saying the election of President Obama was the end of America as we know it. Eight years later, we are still here, and four or eight years from now, we will still be here.

How do you feel about the outcome of the 2016 U.S. Presidential election?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

That’s because we have a strong Constitution and representative republic that is protected by checks and balances. So, we now turn to Trump to see if he can deliver on his slogan of “Make America Great Again.” He has a tremendous responsibility to humble himself and seek to heal the divide that cuts deep into our political psyche. He must leave his often crass rhetoric behind and lead.

What will President-elect Trump mean for agriculture? On the face of it, his “build a wall” position does not bode well for one of our biggest challenges — farm labor. But, maybe, his business background will lend his ear to grower concerns over having access to a legal, reliable agricultural workforce. Perhaps he can take the lead on developing a larger, more user-friendly replacement to H-2A. And, while we are wishing, why not ask for meaningful immigration reform that takes agriculture’s needs into account?

Mr. Trump has the White House and Republicans have the Congress. They are in a position to lead, and they must. For too long gridlock and politics as usual have paralyzed our government. The result of that has been the big problems waiting at our doorstep have been kicked down the road. Problems like our debt, which was about $10 trillion in 2008. Today, it is $20 trillion.

During the FFVA’s recent annual convention, Agriculture Commissioner Adam Putnam made a good observation during his speech about what happens when elected officials choose not to lead and settle for gridlock. When that happens, as it has for many years now, the job of making laws and policy gets passed off to federal agencies like EPA, DOL, and others. You know full well the impact of federal agencies meddling in your businesses.

Trump’s election also taught us an important lesson as we seek to bridge the divide between farming and urban communities. The simplicity of messaging is critical. Think “Make America Great Again,” “Crooked Hillary,” “Lying Ted,” etc.

In the fast paced, social-media driven world we live in, there is not much room for nuanced arguments based in facts or science. It is sad, but true. The good news is agriculture’s message is simple and powerful and will remain true no matter who is President.

“We feed and clothe the world.”

Topics: ,

Leave a Reply

One comment on “It’s Time To Turn The Page On Election 2016 [Opinion]

Citrus Stories
Hurricane Matthew satellite image as it brushed past Florida
Citrus
July 20, 2017
Atlantic Hurricane Forecast Taken Up a Notch
Current conditions in the tropics warrant marked revision in potential storm season scenarios. Read More
Sunset on Florida potato field day
Citrus
July 19, 2017
Researchers On a Mission to Find More Places for Growing Produce
Federal grant to aid exploration of food security solutions for the future. Read More
Citrus
July 19, 2017
Farm Labor Stories Making the News This Week
The agricultural labor shortage is strong enough that the consumer press is beginning to report on it regularly. Here are the stories making headlines this month. Read More
farm hacks collage
Citrus
July 19, 2017
Florida Grower Magazine is Seeking Your Farm Hacks
Life hacks are common in social media threads these days. They are those clever ideas or tricks aimed at making Read More
Rain drops on leaf
Citrus
July 14, 2017
Everglades Agricultural Area Farmers Winning at Water Quality
Annual report shows use of best management practices results in another massive reduction in phosphorus flow. Read More
Citrus
July 13, 2017
The Road is Long to Farm Bill 2018 [Opinion]
Participation in this process will be crucial to ensure your needs are understood and addressed. Read More
2015 FFVA Annual Convention crowd
Citrus
July 13, 2017
Trade Talk to Top Florida Fruit & Vegetable Association Convention Agenda
Trade issues are top of mind these days for specialty crop producers. Efforts have been underway since early this year Read More
Citrus
July 12, 2017
Shaky Florida Citrus Season Skids to a Stop
Final USDA tally confirms continuing downward trend of production in the HLB era. Read More
Smaller John Deere tractor for use in citrus screenhouse
Citrus Achievement Award
July 12, 2017
Encourage New Citrus Growth by Getting Back to Basics
2017 Florida Grower Citrus Achievement Award winner Ed Pines says producing crops under protective screen is a way to farm more and stress less. Read More
Beet-armyworms-on-a-tomato-plant
Citrus
July 12, 2017
Tomato Pests Can Be Induced to Cannibalism, New Study Shows
The University of Wisconsin's John Orrock says when beet armyworms are exposed to concentrations of methyl jasmonate, they will abandon eating tomatoes — and start eating one another. Read More
Citrus
July 12, 2017
USDA Pulls 8 Products from Approved Organic Production List
After a few months of speculation, the USDA's Agricultural Marketing Service has published its Sunset 2017 final rule on approved products for organic production and handling. Read More
Drone-aided photo of Ed Pines' CUPS
Varieties & Rootstocks
July 11, 2017
Florida Citrus Growers Going Inside to Think Outside the Box
Producing fruit under protective screen is developing into a viable option for sustaining the Sunshine State’s signature crop. Read More
Carl and Dustin Grooms of Fancy Farms
Business Planning
July 11, 2017
Young Florida Farmers Ready to Take the Reins
As growers age, the next generation is stepping up and stepping into leadership roles on the farm. Read More
Dr. Martha Roberts
Citrus
July 10, 2017
Florida Reveals Its Latest Woman of the Year in Agriculture
2017 award recipient a true trailblazer and champion for the advancement of the state’s farming industry. Read More
Insect & Disease Update
July 10, 2017
Value of Bactericides Under Florida Citrus Sector’s Microscope
Preliminary results of the unique HLB management method indicate many factors left to consider. Read More
The Latest
Citrus
July 23, 2017
USDA Invests $7.6 Million toward Benefic…
Projects to promote beneficial organisms as part of a pest control strategy. Read More
Citrus
July 22, 2017
Representative from Washington Proposes …
Move broadens use of H-2A to all of agriculture to include those with multiple crops and harvests. Read More
Citrus
July 20, 2017
Atlantic Hurricane Forecast Taken Up a N…
Current conditions in the tropics warrant marked revision in potential storm season scenarios. Read More
Citrus
July 19, 2017
Researchers On a Mission to Find More Pl…
Federal grant to aid exploration of food security solutions for the future. Read More
Citrus
July 19, 2017
Farm Labor Stories Making the News This …
The agricultural labor shortage is strong enough that the consumer press is beginning to report on it regularly. Here are the stories making headlines this month. Read More
Citrus
July 19, 2017
Florida Grower Magazine is Seeking Your …
Life hacks are common in social media threads these days. They are those clever ideas or tricks aimed at making Read More
Citrus
July 14, 2017
Everglades Agricultural Area Farmers Win…
Annual report shows use of best management practices results in another massive reduction in phosphorus flow. Read More
Citrus
July 13, 2017
The Road is Long to Farm Bill 2018 [Opin…
Participation in this process will be crucial to ensure your needs are understood and addressed. Read More
Citrus
July 13, 2017
Trade Talk to Top Florida Fruit & Ve…
Trade issues are top of mind these days for specialty crop producers. Efforts have been underway since early this year Read More
Citrus
July 12, 2017
Shaky Florida Citrus Season Skids to a S…
Final USDA tally confirms continuing downward trend of production in the HLB era. Read More
Citrus
July 12, 2017
Tomato Pests Can Be Induced to Cannibali…
The University of Wisconsin's John Orrock says when beet armyworms are exposed to concentrations of methyl jasmonate, they will abandon eating tomatoes — and start eating one another. Read More
Citrus
July 12, 2017
USDA Pulls 8 Products from Approved Orga…
After a few months of speculation, the USDA's Agricultural Marketing Service has published its Sunset 2017 final rule on approved products for organic production and handling. Read More
Business Planning
July 11, 2017
Young Florida Farmers Ready to Take the …
As growers age, the next generation is stepping up and stepping into leadership roles on the farm. Read More
Citrus
July 10, 2017
Florida Reveals Its Latest Woman of the …
2017 award recipient a true trailblazer and champion for the advancement of the state’s farming industry. Read More
Citrus
July 10, 2017
Practical Solutions Are Bringing Precisi…
Growing the budding ag-tech sector to maturity likely will require a deeper meeting of the minds between technologists and agriculturists. Read More
Business Planning
July 10, 2017
Farming for Online Sales Will Require Gr…
Modern agriculture might not be for everyone, but it’s here to stay. Embrace it. Read More
Citrus
July 5, 2017
Florida Struggling to Stay Afloat in Wak…
In one month’s time, parts of the Sunshine State have gone from water shortage warnings to a high-water emergencies. Read More
Citrus
July 5, 2017
Give Tech Companies the Expertise They L…
One problem with many agricultural technology start up companies is that no one on staff has a farming background. That's easy enough to fix. Volunteer your expertise. Read More