Politicians May Be Taking Ag For Granted [Opinion]

First, a confession: Yes, I promised not to write about the election. But a couple things have happened since I made that promise. The first got me thinking, and the second frankly ticked me off.

First, back in August I posted a news item at our website, GrowingProduce.com, noting that Donald Trump had formed an Agriculture Advisory Committee. The committee consisted of a whopping 64 members, but I found only a few were involved in fruit and vegetable production.

My intent was certainly not to criticize Trump, I just thought you would find it interesting that specialty crop folks were in such a minority. Not surprising at all, because if you asked the average U.S. citizen — who has no connection to ag — where most food was produced, you’d almost exclusively hear about the Midwest.

Then I got a comment from a woman in Michigan who said at least Trump was recognizing ag was important. I realized I couldn’t agree with her more. In fact, I think Trump’s naming of his Agriculture Advisory Committee has been the only acknowledgement of ag in the presidential campaign, at least as of this writing in mid-September.

Of course, who has time for substantive issues like ensuring a reliable food supply when you’re busy slinging mud?

The second incident occurred just the other day. Here in California, Gov. Jerry Brown signed a law making farmworkers eligible for the same overtime pay after an 8-hour day or 40-hour week other workers receive.

The law was scorned by grower groups, who said it wasn’t rooted in the real, seasonal world of agriculture. Furthermore, to compete growers would be forced to adjust workforce levels to keep prices down, and farmworkers could potentially suffer the economic consequences.

I was only mildly surprised at the governor’s action. Though he is more sympathetic to ag in his second go-round in Sacramento than he was in his “Moonbeam” years back in the ’70s and ’80s, he’s still a politician, and this law would no doubt be favored by a majority of the state’s voters.

But when I went to write a story about the law’s approval, I got some unexpected, and disturbing, responses from grower groups. They were shocked — not so much by what the governor did, though they were of course troubled by the law’s ramifications — but when he did it. Many were expecting to meet with the governor in mid-September before he took action, which wasn’t required until the end of the month.

Calling around, I heard the governor didn’t take a meeting with any ag groups at all. I tried querying the California Department of Food and Agriculture, and received the following reply: “As you know this took place outside of CDFA’s jurisdiction. At this point we have nothing to add.”

The only logical conclusion to draw from these two examples is that at both state and federal levels, decision-makers are increasingly taking their food supply for granted. That’s not just a simple-minded approach, it’s downright reckless.

A reliable domestic food supply is a national security issue, and when it comes to such matters, you have to take the long view. As one wise industry statesman told me this week: “Once that food production infrastructure goes, you’re not just going to get it back.”

It might be too late to get through to the jaded decision-makers of today, but it’s not too late for all of us who realize ag’s value to educate those Millennials who will inherit the reins of power. Our nation’s future is at stake.

Topics: , ,

Leave a Reply

One comment on “Politicians May Be Taking Ag For Granted [Opinion]

  1. Nice opinion piece. One thing we should remember is Hillary will be like Moonbeam only at the federal level.

Farm Management Stories
Gary Reeder of West Coast Tomato/McClure Family Farms in Florida
GenNext Growers
May 18, 2017
Five Delegates to Represent U.S. at Youth Agriculture Summit
More than 1,000 applied as delegates to help tackle global food security challenge at international event. Read More
Apples & Pears
May 15, 2017
U.S. Apple Board Member Stresses Labor Reform At Senate Farm Bill Hearing
Michigan apple grower says agriculture’s future depends on Farm Bill funding. Read More
Burn ban sign posted along S.R. A1A in Flagler County, FL, due to drought conditions
Citrus
May 15, 2017
Drought Conditions Deepen Across Central Florida
Water Shortage Warning Order expanded to all counties within St. Johns River Water Management District. Read More
Farm Management
May 9, 2017
Promote Efficiency by Taking Advantage of These Tech Tools
From animal housing to tillage, USDA's NRCS has you covered. Read More
farm labor pic for web
Fruits
May 4, 2017
Senate Democrats Unveil New Ag Labor Plan
Feinstein, colleagues introduce legislation to shield farmworkers from deportation. Read More
Port Of Miami shipyard
Citrus
April 29, 2017
Florida Ag Commissioner Pushes for Probe into Unfair Trade Tactics
With a focus on Mexico, letter sent by Adam Putnam to the U.S. Department of Commerce Secretary stresses need for level playing field. Read More
Fruits
April 28, 2017
Don’t Miss the Ripple Effect of Ag Labor
When addressing the topic of ag labor, don’t ignore the ancillary benefits each agriculture job supports. Read More
Citrus
April 27, 2017
Trump Creates Agricultural Task Force
Panel to examine issues facing today’s growers including labor, food safety, and regulations. Read More
Citrus
April 26, 2017
Perdue Sworn in as Ag Secretary
USDA launches Twitter account to help promote the industry. Read More
Judi Whitson, 2016 Florida Woman of the Year in Agriculture
Citrus
April 24, 2017
Who Will Be Florida’s next Woman of the Year in Agriculture?
Nomination period now open for longstanding recognition from FDACS. Read More
GenNext Growers
April 22, 2017
Next Generation of Leaders Gets Yearlong Almond Immersion
Almond Leadership Program enters its ninth year with the 2017 class. Read More
Washington Capitol building
Citrus
April 21, 2017
Alliance Stepping Up Efforts to Protect Specialty Crops
The Specialty Crop Farm Bill Alliance has kicked off its efforts to communicate to Congress its priority needs for the Read More
farm labor pic for web
Citrus
April 20, 2017
Farm Labor Is in Crisis
To have a great crop potentially rot in the field because workers can’t be sourced is probably worse than a weather event taking out production. Read More
Apples & Pears
April 19, 2017
Young Apple Growers Meet with Lawmakers
Apple leaders from across the country discuss ag issues such as labor, trade, and research. Read More
Barnes Farm cabbage field in Hastings, FL
Citrus
April 18, 2017
Florida Growers Seeking Inspiration Need Not Look Far
The firsthand experience of speaking with farmers and actually seeing all the hard work, knowledge, ingenuity, and people behind where our food comes from is invaluable. Read More
The Latest
Citrus
May 20, 2017
Short on Water, Florida Growers Know How…
Through drought, smoke and brush fires, it’s plain to see you farmers have been doing your part to conserve and preserve one of our most precious resources. Read More
Citrus
May 20, 2017
USDA Creates Undersecretary for Trade
Reorganization puts trade, farm production as top priorities for the agency. Read More
Citrus
May 15, 2017
Drought Conditions Deepen Across Central…
Water Shortage Warning Order expanded to all counties within St. Johns River Water Management District. Read More
Farm Management
May 9, 2017
Promote Efficiency by Taking Advantage o…
From animal housing to tillage, USDA's NRCS has you covered. Read More
Citrus
April 29, 2017
Florida Ag Commissioner Pushes for Probe…
With a focus on Mexico, letter sent by Adam Putnam to the U.S. Department of Commerce Secretary stresses need for level playing field. Read More
Citrus
April 27, 2017
Trump Creates Agricultural Task Force
Panel to examine issues facing today’s growers including labor, food safety, and regulations. Read More
Citrus
April 26, 2017
Perdue Sworn in as Ag Secretary
USDA launches Twitter account to help promote the industry. Read More
Citrus
April 24, 2017
Who Will Be Florida’s next Woman of the …
Nomination period now open for longstanding recognition from FDACS. Read More
Citrus
April 21, 2017
Alliance Stepping Up Efforts to Protect …
The Specialty Crop Farm Bill Alliance has kicked off its efforts to communicate to Congress its priority needs for the Read More
Citrus
April 18, 2017
Citrus Growth Path Uncertain as Florida …
According to the latest Lay of the Land Market Report, the waiting game for a solution to greening has tempered groves sales. Read More
Farm Management
April 18, 2017
Survey Says New York Growers Lost More t…
Growers say they suffered more than 50% crop losses in Western New York. Read More
Citrus
April 17, 2017
Florida Flush with Water Shortage Warnin…
Conservation practices preached throughout the state as exceptionally dry pattern persists.  Read More
Farm Management
April 12, 2017
How California’s No-Drought Status…
Find out which previous orders are rescinded as a result of the drought being declared over — and which ones are not. Read More
Farm Management
April 12, 2017
Take the Stress out of Food Safety Insp…
Buurma Farms has a low-tech, common sense system in place that keeps its produce as safe as possible, and makes passing inspections easy. Read More
Citrus
April 10, 2017
BASF Licenses CRISPR-Cas9 Technology for…
Genome-editing from Broad Institute has potential to be a more precise tool to improve ag products. Read More
Citrus
April 6, 2017
Mild or Wild? Here Is Your 2017 Atlantic…
Possible return of El Niño climate phase could sap strength out of any stormy scenarios. Read More
Citrus
March 23, 2017
Count Down the World’s Top 30 Agricultur…
Familiar names and several new faces among annual ranking’s elite. Read More
Business Planning
March 22, 2017
How HortTech Is Solving Grower Challenge…
Dozens of tech companies are looking for solutions to real-world problems vegetable growers face. We take a look at what it could really mean for you and your business. Read More