Politicians May Be Taking Ag For Granted [Opinion]

First, a confession: Yes, I promised not to write about the election. But a couple things have happened since I made that promise. The first got me thinking, and the second frankly ticked me off.

First, back in August I posted a news item at our website, GrowingProduce.com, noting that Donald Trump had formed an Agriculture Advisory Committee. The committee consisted of a whopping 64 members, but I found only a few were involved in fruit and vegetable production.

My intent was certainly not to criticize Trump, I just thought you would find it interesting that specialty crop folks were in such a minority. Not surprising at all, because if you asked the average U.S. citizen — who has no connection to ag — where most food was produced, you’d almost exclusively hear about the Midwest.

Then I got a comment from a woman in Michigan who said at least Trump was recognizing ag was important. I realized I couldn’t agree with her more. In fact, I think Trump’s naming of his Agriculture Advisory Committee has been the only acknowledgement of ag in the presidential campaign, at least as of this writing in mid-September.

Of course, who has time for substantive issues like ensuring a reliable food supply when you’re busy slinging mud?

The second incident occurred just the other day. Here in California, Gov. Jerry Brown signed a law making farmworkers eligible for the same overtime pay after an 8-hour day or 40-hour week other workers receive.

The law was scorned by grower groups, who said it wasn’t rooted in the real, seasonal world of agriculture. Furthermore, to compete growers would be forced to adjust workforce levels to keep prices down, and farmworkers could potentially suffer the economic consequences.

I was only mildly surprised at the governor’s action. Though he is more sympathetic to ag in his second go-round in Sacramento than he was in his “Moonbeam” years back in the ’70s and ’80s, he’s still a politician, and this law would no doubt be favored by a majority of the state’s voters.

But when I went to write a story about the law’s approval, I got some unexpected, and disturbing, responses from grower groups. They were shocked — not so much by what the governor did, though they were of course troubled by the law’s ramifications — but when he did it. Many were expecting to meet with the governor in mid-September before he took action, which wasn’t required until the end of the month.

Calling around, I heard the governor didn’t take a meeting with any ag groups at all. I tried querying the California Department of Food and Agriculture, and received the following reply: “As you know this took place outside of CDFA’s jurisdiction. At this point we have nothing to add.”

The only logical conclusion to draw from these two examples is that at both state and federal levels, decision-makers are increasingly taking their food supply for granted. That’s not just a simple-minded approach, it’s downright reckless.

A reliable domestic food supply is a national security issue, and when it comes to such matters, you have to take the long view. As one wise industry statesman told me this week: “Once that food production infrastructure goes, you’re not just going to get it back.”

It might be too late to get through to the jaded decision-makers of today, but it’s not too late for all of us who realize ag’s value to educate those Millennials who will inherit the reins of power. Our nation’s future is at stake.

Topics: , ,

Leave a Reply

One comment on “Politicians May Be Taking Ag For Granted [Opinion]

  1. Nice opinion piece. One thing we should remember is Hillary will be like Moonbeam only at the federal level.

Farm Management Stories
Citrus
July 19, 2017
Farm Labor Stories Making the News This Week
The agricultural labor shortage is strong enough that the consumer press is beginning to report on it regularly. Here are the stories making headlines this month. Read More
farm hacks collage
Citrus
July 19, 2017
Florida Grower Magazine is Seeking Your Farm Hacks
Life hacks are common in social media threads these days. They are those clever ideas or tricks aimed at making Read More
Farm Management
July 19, 2017
Tom Nunes, V: The Best Labor Solutions Are When Everyone Wins
Competition for skilled farm labor is fierce in the West. But Nunes Vegetables, Inc. believes when growers work together, they will attract more workers to their community. Read More
Rain drops on leaf
Citrus
July 14, 2017
Everglades Agricultural Area Farmers Winning at Water Quality
Annual report shows use of best management practices results in another massive reduction in phosphorus flow. Read More
Citrus
July 13, 2017
The Road is Long to Farm Bill 2018 [Opinion]
Participation in this process will be crucial to ensure your needs are understood and addressed. Read More
2015 FFVA Annual Convention crowd
Citrus
July 13, 2017
Trade Talk to Top Florida Fruit & Vegetable Association Convention Agenda
Trade issues are top of mind these days for specialty crop producers. Efforts have been underway since early this year Read More
Carl and Dustin Grooms of Fancy Farms
Business Planning
July 11, 2017
Young Florida Farmers Ready to Take the Reins
As growers age, the next generation is stepping up and stepping into leadership roles on the farm. Read More
Dr. Martha Roberts
Citrus
July 10, 2017
Florida Reveals Its Latest Woman of the Year in Agriculture
2017 award recipient a true trailblazer and champion for the advancement of the state’s farming industry. Read More
Mobile technology farming
Citrus
July 10, 2017
Practical Solutions Are Bringing Precision Agriculture Closer to Earth
Growing the budding ag-tech sector to maturity likely will require a deeper meeting of the minds between technologists and agriculturists. Read More
Online shopping graphic for GenNext Growers webcast
Business Planning
July 10, 2017
Farming for Online Sales Will Require Growers to Reboot
Modern agriculture might not be for everyone, but it’s here to stay. Embrace it. Read More
inspecting a citrus leaf for HLB symptoms
GenNext Growers
July 8, 2017
5 Crop Scouting Mistakes You Might Be Making
Inspecting fields for signs of pest pressure is critical to your farm’s success. But, are you doing it right? Read More
South Florida Water Management District's Merritt Pump Station
Citrus
July 5, 2017
Florida Struggling to Stay Afloat in Wake of Drought
In one month’s time, parts of the Sunshine State have gone from water shortage warnings to a high-water emergencies. Read More
GenNext Growers
July 5, 2017
National Young Farmer Coalition Members Show Support for Farm Bill
Young growers speak up about issues that impact the next generation of growers. Read More
cash money in hand
GenNext Growers
July 5, 2017
Ag Trade Association Awards Give $117,000 in College Scholarships
Awards to 59 students this year and previous years now exceeds $1.3 million in total. Read More
Center pivot irrigation system at Florida research farm
Citrus
June 30, 2017
New Project to Promote Water Security for Florida and Georgia Farmers
With the help of five-year, $5 million USDA grant, stakeholders will learn what it takes to better preserve precious resource. Read More
The Latest
Citrus
July 20, 2017
Atlantic Hurricane Forecast Taken Up a N…
Current conditions in the tropics warrant marked revision in potential storm season scenarios. Read More
Citrus
July 19, 2017
Researchers On a Mission to Find More Pl…
Federal grant to aid exploration of food security solutions for the future. Read More
Citrus
July 19, 2017
Farm Labor Stories Making the News This …
The agricultural labor shortage is strong enough that the consumer press is beginning to report on it regularly. Here are the stories making headlines this month. Read More
Citrus
July 19, 2017
Florida Grower Magazine is Seeking Your …
Life hacks are common in social media threads these days. They are those clever ideas or tricks aimed at making Read More
Farm Management
July 19, 2017
Tom Nunes, V: The Best Labor Solutions A…
Competition for skilled farm labor is fierce in the West. But Nunes Vegetables, Inc. believes when growers work together, they will attract more workers to their community. Read More
Citrus
July 14, 2017
Everglades Agricultural Area Farmers Win…
Annual report shows use of best management practices results in another massive reduction in phosphorus flow. Read More
Citrus
July 13, 2017
The Road is Long to Farm Bill 2018 [Opin…
Participation in this process will be crucial to ensure your needs are understood and addressed. Read More
Citrus
July 13, 2017
Trade Talk to Top Florida Fruit & Ve…
Trade issues are top of mind these days for specialty crop producers. Efforts have been underway since early this year Read More
Business Planning
July 11, 2017
Young Florida Farmers Ready to Take the …
As growers age, the next generation is stepping up and stepping into leadership roles on the farm. Read More
Citrus
July 10, 2017
Florida Reveals Its Latest Woman of the …
2017 award recipient a true trailblazer and champion for the advancement of the state’s farming industry. Read More
Citrus
July 10, 2017
Practical Solutions Are Bringing Precisi…
Growing the budding ag-tech sector to maturity likely will require a deeper meeting of the minds between technologists and agriculturists. Read More
Business Planning
July 10, 2017
Farming for Online Sales Will Require Gr…
Modern agriculture might not be for everyone, but it’s here to stay. Embrace it. Read More
Citrus
July 5, 2017
Florida Struggling to Stay Afloat in Wak…
In one month’s time, parts of the Sunshine State have gone from water shortage warnings to a high-water emergencies. Read More
Citrus
June 30, 2017
New Project to Promote Water Security fo…
With the help of five-year, $5 million USDA grant, stakeholders will learn what it takes to better preserve precious resource. Read More
Citrus
June 28, 2017
Last Chance for New Operations to Sign U…
The Census of Agriculture, which takes place every five years, guides federal, state, and county level decisions on policies affecting growers. Read More
Citrus
June 28, 2017
Felony Charges in Beehive Thefts
The men accused of heading up an operation to steal and re-sell beehives, Pavel Tveretinov and Vitaliy Yeroshenko, 48, have Read More
Farm Management
June 27, 2017
Lipman’s Kent Shoemaker: Sustainab…
Nearly seven years ago, not long after being hired by the Lipman family, my wife and I attended an event Read More
Farm Management
June 20, 2017
5 Alternative Crops Florida Farmers Shou…
Here’s a look at new selections being vetted that might have a place in fields around the Sunshine State. Read More