An Awakening To The Value Of Biopesticides [Opinion]

Rick Melnick BPIAWhen I worked with Meister Media Worldwide to engineer its last special report on biopesticides in 2011, I was the company’s editorial director. At the time I had been covering ag production for about 16 years, and Meister was regarded as the most progressive and knowledgeable media company with respect to biological control.

A lot of that knowledge came from our involvement in a then fledgling organization called BPIA — the Biopesticide Industry Alliance. We became an ad hoc member of BPIA in 2003 and I attended my first BPIA meeting to learn more about the category. I recall that meeting vividly because everyone sat at the same table. It was a close-knit group totaling around 20 people.

By the time I recommended that first special report to the editorial team in 2011, membership in BPIA had surpassed 60 companies. Another group called the International Biocontrol Manufacturers Association (IBMA) had since sprung up in Europe and was beginning to draw large crowds to its meetings. There were changes afoot and where once I’d felt more than a hint of desperation within BPIA, I now sensed the mood had transformed to expectation. Something big was about to happen.

Biocontrols 2015 Conference
That’s exactly what I wrote about in my introduction to the first Rise of Biopesticides report. The biopesticide industry appeared to be at an inflection point, I told our readers. I have to admit that despite the changes I’d seen, part of me felt like I was going out on a limb. But as it turns out, I had no idea just how swift the changes in the biopesticide industry would be.

A Lot More Seats at the Table

Flash forward three years and I’m the Chairman of BPIA’s Board of Directors and work on the business management team at one of its founding member companies. Today, in addition to the tens of smaller biopesticide-producing members, BPIA membership includes such ag chem stalwarts as Bayer CropScience, Syngenta, DuPont, Monsanto, and BASF. Billions of biopesticide-driven dollars have changed hands since that first report and I can safely say that if there’s a table big enough to hold everyone at today’s BPIA meetings, I haven’t seen it.

If you’ve taken the time to read this report, hopefully you better understand what’s behind the dramatic growth. Agriculture — indeed the food value chain — has had a real awakening concerning the value of biopesticides as part of an integrated crop production program.

With the entry of these major suppliers into the biopesticide arena, whether or not biopesticides work is no longer the question. Now, people want to understand how they work. Consumers and regulators see biopesticides as environmentally responsible tools that can help minimize impact. Food companies see suppliers using biopesticides as strategic partners who bolster their sustainability efforts. Retailers see biopesticides as resistance fighters that can fill gaps in their portfolios and help maintain the life cycle of other important products. Crop advisors see all of the above and seek practical knowledge about biopesticides to help meet the demand and differentiate themselves among their peers.

As for my prediction in advance of the next report, I’m going to postulate that any lingering euphoria from this phase shift among biopesticide producers will quickly subside. The big boys are in town, and it’s time to get down to business. That’s good news for growers and the whole value chain.

Topics: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

One comment on “An Awakening To The Value Of Biopesticides [Opinion]

  1. RICK;
    GREAT ARTICLE CAPTURING THE AMAZING GROWTH OF THE BIOPESTICIDE INDUSTRY AND BPIA IN THE LAST DECADE ! YOUR LEADERSHIP AS BPIA CHAIR IS A VERY POSITIVE MOVE. I REALLY ENJOYED MY 13 PLUS YEARS ASSOCIATED WITH BPIA IN THE EARLY YEARS AS THE IR-4 EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR AND MORE RECENTLY AS MEMBERSHIP CHAIR AND BOARD VICE-CHAIR UNTIL RETIREMENT IN 2013.

Apples & Pears Stories
Jim Allen
Apples & Pears
November 28, 2016
Jim Allen Set To Retire — Adios, Mr. Big Apple
Jim Allen is stepping down at the end of the month as the longtime chief of the New York Apple Association. Read More
CA storage
Apples & Pears
November 15, 2016
Researcher Gets To Bottom Of Fungus In Fruit Storage
Team aims to develop tools to predict, detect microbes in stored apples and pears. Read More
Prepping apples for cleaning, waxing, and sorting.
Apples & Pears
November 10, 2016
U.S. Apples In Storage Up 11% Over A Year Ago
Meanwhile, the nation’s dominant producer, Washington, revised its crop estimate upward. Read More
EverCrisp apples
Apples & Pears
November 2, 2016
Video Highlights The Apple Breeding Process
Educational video illustrates how and why new varieties are developed. Read More
The Apple Store in Green Bay, WI. (Photo credit: WBNQ)
Apples & Pears
November 2, 2016
Market In Wisconsin Gets Confused For iPhone Dealer
The Apple Store in Green Bay, WI, fields calls about technical support or new releases. Read More
Sleeping-eye trees, pictured three weeks after they have 
budded out at UMass Extension Greenhouse in Amherst, MA. (Photo Credit: Jon Clements)
Apples & Pears
November 2, 2016
Consider Alternatives To Finished Apple Trees From The Nursery
While tree availability has been a challenge, you may find other options give you a similar result. Read More
Trissolcus japonicus emerging from a BMSB egg. (Photo credit: Elijah Talamas)
Apples & Pears
October 30, 2016
New Project Targets BMSB – Sustainably
Armed with a $3.7 million grant, North Carolina State University researchers have the brown marmorated stink bug, which has been found in 43 states, in their cross hairs. Read More
The Latest
Apples & Pears
December 4, 2016
Easy Tips For Apple Pruning Demonstratio…
Seminar to be presented in both English and Spanish by Penn State University Extension experts. Read More
Apples & Pears
December 3, 2016
It’s A Global Celebration For World Pear…
USA Pears to host sampling events in 24 countries for 24 hours of continuous pear goodness. Read More
Apples & Pears
December 2, 2016
New Director Of Consumer Health And Med…
Organization announces Korenna Wilson to take on the role of raising consumers’ awareness of apples benefits. Read More
Apples & Pears
November 28, 2016
Jim Allen Set To Retire — Adios, Mr. Big…
Jim Allen is stepping down at the end of the month as the longtime chief of the New York Apple Association. Read More
Apples & Pears
November 15, 2016
Researcher Gets To Bottom Of Fungus In F…
Team aims to develop tools to predict, detect microbes in stored apples and pears. Read More
Apples & Pears
November 10, 2016
U.S. Apples In Storage Up 11% Over A Yea…
Meanwhile, the nation’s dominant producer, Washington, revised its crop estimate upward. Read More
Apples & Pears
November 2, 2016
Video Highlights The Apple Breeding Proc…
Educational video illustrates how and why new varieties are developed. Read More
Apples & Pears
November 2, 2016
Market In Wisconsin Gets Confused For iP…
The Apple Store in Green Bay, WI, fields calls about technical support or new releases. Read More
Apples & Pears
November 2, 2016
Consider Alternatives To Finished Apple …
While tree availability has been a challenge, you may find other options give you a similar result. Read More
Apples & Pears
October 30, 2016
New Project Targets BMSB – Sustain…
Armed with a $3.7 million grant, North Carolina State University researchers have the brown marmorated stink bug, which has been found in 43 states, in their cross hairs. Read More
Apples & Pears
October 27, 2016
Let’s Not Lose Sight Of The Classic Appl…
Consumers may want the latest and greatest varieties, but don’t forget there are some consumers – like me – who enjoy traditional varieties you may be considering ripping out. Read More
Apples & Pears
October 11, 2016
Growers Report Bitter Rot On Apples
Wet fall weather has washed off plant protection materials, leaving fruit susceptible. Read More
Apples & Pears
October 10, 2016
Outlook Is Positive For Several Specialt…
The Northwest Farm Credit Services has released its quarterly Market Snapshot publications that look at the state of major agricultural commodities in the Northwest, including apples, cherries, onions, pears, and potatoes. Read More
Apples & Pears
October 4, 2016
Timely Tasks To Do During Down Times Of …
Amy Irish-Brown of Michigan State University Extension offers helpful tips for growers to help prioritize any lulls in harvest season. Read More
Apples & Pears
September 26, 2016
New Apple Variety Is One Stemilt Hopes C…
University of Minnesota apple variety will be grown and packed exclusively by Stemilt. Read More
Apples & Pears
September 23, 2016
USDA Approves Nonregulated Status For ‘A…
Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service announces deregulation of third non-browning apple released from Canadian company. Read More
Apples & Pears
September 23, 2016
Growers Encouraged To Monitor Fruit Temp…
With early harvests, Randy Beaudry of Michigan State University says temperature monitoring is a must. Read More
Apples & Pears
September 9, 2016
Year Of The Apple Art Contest Winner Fea…
The Washington Apple Education Foundation (WAEF) contest, sponsored by Dow AgroSciences, was won by 2016 Sunnyside High School graduate Esteban Garibay. Read More