An Awakening To The Value Of Biopesticides [Opinion]

Rick Melnick BPIAWhen I worked with Meister Media Worldwide to engineer its last special report on biopesticides in 2011, I was the company’s editorial director. At the time I had been covering ag production for about 16 years, and Meister was regarded as the most progressive and knowledgeable media company with respect to biological control.

A lot of that knowledge came from our involvement in a then fledgling organization called BPIA — the Biopesticide Industry Alliance. We became an ad hoc member of BPIA in 2003 and I attended my first BPIA meeting to learn more about the category. I recall that meeting vividly because everyone sat at the same table. It was a close-knit group totaling around 20 people.

By the time I recommended that first special report to the editorial team in 2011, membership in BPIA had surpassed 60 companies. Another group called the International Biocontrol Manufacturers Association (IBMA) had since sprung up in Europe and was beginning to draw large crowds to its meetings. There were changes afoot and where once I’d felt more than a hint of desperation within BPIA, I now sensed the mood had transformed to expectation. Something big was about to happen.

Biocontrols 2015 Conference
That’s exactly what I wrote about in my introduction to the first Rise of Biopesticides report. The biopesticide industry appeared to be at an inflection point, I told our readers. I have to admit that despite the changes I’d seen, part of me felt like I was going out on a limb. But as it turns out, I had no idea just how swift the changes in the biopesticide industry would be.

A Lot More Seats at the Table

Flash forward three years and I’m the Chairman of BPIA’s Board of Directors and work on the business management team at one of its founding member companies. Today, in addition to the tens of smaller biopesticide-producing members, BPIA membership includes such ag chem stalwarts as Bayer CropScience, Syngenta, DuPont, Monsanto, and BASF. Billions of biopesticide-driven dollars have changed hands since that first report and I can safely say that if there’s a table big enough to hold everyone at today’s BPIA meetings, I haven’t seen it.

If you’ve taken the time to read this report, hopefully you better understand what’s behind the dramatic growth. Agriculture — indeed the food value chain — has had a real awakening concerning the value of biopesticides as part of an integrated crop production program.

With the entry of these major suppliers into the biopesticide arena, whether or not biopesticides work is no longer the question. Now, people want to understand how they work. Consumers and regulators see biopesticides as environmentally responsible tools that can help minimize impact. Food companies see suppliers using biopesticides as strategic partners who bolster their sustainability efforts. Retailers see biopesticides as resistance fighters that can fill gaps in their portfolios and help maintain the life cycle of other important products. Crop advisors see all of the above and seek practical knowledge about biopesticides to help meet the demand and differentiate themselves among their peers.

As for my prediction in advance of the next report, I’m going to postulate that any lingering euphoria from this phase shift among biopesticide producers will quickly subside. The big boys are in town, and it’s time to get down to business. That’s good news for growers and the whole value chain.

Topics: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

One comment on “An Awakening To The Value Of Biopesticides [Opinion]

  1. RICK;
    GREAT ARTICLE CAPTURING THE AMAZING GROWTH OF THE BIOPESTICIDE INDUSTRY AND BPIA IN THE LAST DECADE ! YOUR LEADERSHIP AS BPIA CHAIR IS A VERY POSITIVE MOVE. I REALLY ENJOYED MY 13 PLUS YEARS ASSOCIATED WITH BPIA IN THE EARLY YEARS AS THE IR-4 EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR AND MORE RECENTLY AS MEMBERSHIP CHAIR AND BOARD VICE-CHAIR UNTIL RETIREMENT IN 2013.

Apples & Pears Stories
Apples & Pears
October 3, 2017
Mexican Fruit Grower Union Says U.S. Still Smuggling in Apples
Union seeks investigation into how 200 tons of U.S. ‘Golden Delicious’ apples were smuggled into the country. Read More
Apples & Pears
September 22, 2017
Media Reflects Modern Society [Opinion]
Little about fruit growing — or any agriculture — appears because too few of us are willing to illuminate the media. Read More
Apples & Pears
September 16, 2017
Researcher Finds Bacteria Can Stop Blue Mold on Apples
The natural bacterium found in soil can survive in cold storage; this promising biocontrol offers an alternative to chemical treatments. Read More
Apples & Pears
September 5, 2017
Pears Finding Home in Fermentation
Perry, a fermented beverage similar to hard apple cider, is gaining popularity in the U.S., and growers are learning about the production process from square one. Read More
Apples & Pears
August 26, 2017
‘EverCrisp’ Apple gets PLU Approval
Midwest Apple Improvement Association prepares for large harvest and larger distribution reach for first variety released. Read More
Apple Grower of the Year
August 22, 2017
U.S. Apple Association Hosts Annual Apple Outlook Conference in Chicago
American Fruit Grower® and Western Fruit Grower® magazine’s 2017 Apple Grower of the Year will be officially presented on Thursday, Aug. 24, during the first day of the conference. Read More
Apples & Pears
August 20, 2017
APHIS Seeks Comments on Risk Removal for Dormant Apple Cuttings
Dormant live cuttings from countries in the European Union must currently go through pest risk assessment. Read More
Apples & Pears
August 15, 2017
Wet Weather Breeds Phytophthora in Young Apple Plantings
Crown rot, root rot flourishing in very wet growing season. Read More
Apples & Pears
August 9, 2017
2017 Washington Apple Crop Down Slightly
Forecasted harvest predicted to be 131 million boxes, down 1.2% from 2016. Read More
Apples & Pears
August 5, 2017
Penn State University Develops Bitter Pit Prediction Model
Research team unlocks relationship between bitter pit, minerals, and shoot lengths. Read More
Apples & Pears
August 1, 2017
New York Growers’ Input Needed on Apple Tree Decline
Project has begun to identify rapid collapse and chronic decline being found in young Eastern apple orchards. Read More
Apples & Pears
July 25, 2017
Tips to Transition to an Apple Fruiting Wall System
Follow these suggestions to make the move from a 3-D spindle-shaped canopy to a 2-D system using mechanical pruning. Read More
Apples & Pears
June 30, 2017
Tackling the Challenges of Organic Apple Production Head-on
Researchers at Michigan State University test organic controls for fire blight. Read More
Apples & Pears
June 29, 2017
Integrating Control Methods to Tackle Fire Blight
Fire blight is a damaging disease, no matter the location. Most production areas of the Pacific Northwest and California experience Read More
The Latest
Apples & Pears
October 9, 2017
How to Transition to Multileader Product…
Use this guide to help you determine whether multileader production is a good fit for your farm. Read More
Apples & Pears
October 6, 2017
What You Need to Know About Multileader …
While multiple leaders shrink the tree canopy, experts warn there are places where missteps can be made. Read More
Apples & Pears
October 5, 2017
Apple Growers Moving to Multileaders
Growers shift from single leader to multiple leader systems to increase light interception and production. But this system isn’t without its risks and costs. Read More
Apples & Pears
October 3, 2017
Mexican Fruit Grower Union Says U.S. Sti…
Union seeks investigation into how 200 tons of U.S. ‘Golden Delicious’ apples were smuggled into the country. Read More
Apples & Pears
September 22, 2017
Media Reflects Modern Society [Opinion]
Little about fruit growing — or any agriculture — appears because too few of us are willing to illuminate the media. Read More
Apples & Pears
September 16, 2017
Researcher Finds Bacteria Can Stop Blue …
The natural bacterium found in soil can survive in cold storage; this promising biocontrol offers an alternative to chemical treatments. Read More
Apples & Pears
September 5, 2017
Pears Finding Home in Fermentation
Perry, a fermented beverage similar to hard apple cider, is gaining popularity in the U.S., and growers are learning about the production process from square one. Read More
Apples & Pears
August 26, 2017
‘EverCrisp’ Apple gets PLU Approval
Midwest Apple Improvement Association prepares for large harvest and larger distribution reach for first variety released. Read More
Apple Grower of the Year
August 22, 2017
U.S. Apple Association Hosts Annual Appl…
American Fruit Grower® and Western Fruit Grower® magazine’s 2017 Apple Grower of the Year will be officially presented on Thursday, Aug. 24, during the first day of the conference. Read More
Apples & Pears
August 20, 2017
APHIS Seeks Comments on Risk Removal for…
Dormant live cuttings from countries in the European Union must currently go through pest risk assessment. Read More
Apples & Pears
August 15, 2017
Wet Weather Breeds Phytophthora in Young…
Crown rot, root rot flourishing in very wet growing season. Read More
Apples & Pears
August 9, 2017
2017 Washington Apple Crop Down Slightly
Forecasted harvest predicted to be 131 million boxes, down 1.2% from 2016. Read More
Apples & Pears
August 5, 2017
Penn State University Develops Bitter Pi…
Research team unlocks relationship between bitter pit, minerals, and shoot lengths. Read More
Apples & Pears
August 1, 2017
New York Growers’ Input Needed on Apple …
Project has begun to identify rapid collapse and chronic decline being found in young Eastern apple orchards. Read More
Apples & Pears
July 25, 2017
Tips to Transition to an Apple Fruiting …
Follow these suggestions to make the move from a 3-D spindle-shaped canopy to a 2-D system using mechanical pruning. Read More
Apples & Pears
July 6, 2017
International Fruit Tree Association See…
Deadline for proposals is July 31. Read More
Apples & Pears
June 30, 2017
Tackling the Challenges of Organic Apple…
Researchers at Michigan State University test organic controls for fire blight. Read More
Apples & Pears
June 29, 2017
Integrating Control Methods to Tackle Fi…
Fire blight is a damaging disease, no matter the location. Most production areas of the Pacific Northwest and California experience Read More