An Awakening To The Value Of Biopesticides [Opinion]

Rick Melnick BPIAWhen I worked with Meister Media Worldwide to engineer its last special report on biopesticides in 2011, I was the company’s editorial director. At the time I had been covering ag production for about 16 years, and Meister was regarded as the most progressive and knowledgeable media company with respect to biological control.

A lot of that knowledge came from our involvement in a then fledgling organization called BPIA — the Biopesticide Industry Alliance. We became an ad hoc member of BPIA in 2003 and I attended my first BPIA meeting to learn more about the category. I recall that meeting vividly because everyone sat at the same table. It was a close-knit group totaling around 20 people.

By the time I recommended that first special report to the editorial team in 2011, membership in BPIA had surpassed 60 companies. Another group called the International Biocontrol Manufacturers Association (IBMA) had since sprung up in Europe and was beginning to draw large crowds to its meetings. There were changes afoot and where once I’d felt more than a hint of desperation within BPIA, I now sensed the mood had transformed to expectation. Something big was about to happen.

Biocontrols 2015 Conference
That’s exactly what I wrote about in my introduction to the first Rise of Biopesticides report. The biopesticide industry appeared to be at an inflection point, I told our readers. I have to admit that despite the changes I’d seen, part of me felt like I was going out on a limb. But as it turns out, I had no idea just how swift the changes in the biopesticide industry would be.

A Lot More Seats at the Table

Flash forward three years and I’m the Chairman of BPIA’s Board of Directors and work on the business management team at one of its founding member companies. Today, in addition to the tens of smaller biopesticide-producing members, BPIA membership includes such ag chem stalwarts as Bayer CropScience, Syngenta, DuPont, Monsanto, and BASF. Billions of biopesticide-driven dollars have changed hands since that first report and I can safely say that if there’s a table big enough to hold everyone at today’s BPIA meetings, I haven’t seen it.

If you’ve taken the time to read this report, hopefully you better understand what’s behind the dramatic growth. Agriculture — indeed the food value chain — has had a real awakening concerning the value of biopesticides as part of an integrated crop production program.

With the entry of these major suppliers into the biopesticide arena, whether or not biopesticides work is no longer the question. Now, people want to understand how they work. Consumers and regulators see biopesticides as environmentally responsible tools that can help minimize impact. Food companies see suppliers using biopesticides as strategic partners who bolster their sustainability efforts. Retailers see biopesticides as resistance fighters that can fill gaps in their portfolios and help maintain the life cycle of other important products. Crop advisors see all of the above and seek practical knowledge about biopesticides to help meet the demand and differentiate themselves among their peers.

As for my prediction in advance of the next report, I’m going to postulate that any lingering euphoria from this phase shift among biopesticide producers will quickly subside. The big boys are in town, and it’s time to get down to business. That’s good news for growers and the whole value chain.

Topics: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

One comment on “An Awakening To The Value Of Biopesticides [Opinion]

  1. RICK;
    GREAT ARTICLE CAPTURING THE AMAZING GROWTH OF THE BIOPESTICIDE INDUSTRY AND BPIA IN THE LAST DECADE ! YOUR LEADERSHIP AS BPIA CHAIR IS A VERY POSITIVE MOVE. I REALLY ENJOYED MY 13 PLUS YEARS ASSOCIATED WITH BPIA IN THE EARLY YEARS AS THE IR-4 EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR AND MORE RECENTLY AS MEMBERSHIP CHAIR AND BOARD VICE-CHAIR UNTIL RETIREMENT IN 2013.

Apples & Pears Stories
Apples & Pears
June 29, 2017
Integrating Control Methods to Tackle Fire Blight
Fire blight is a damaging disease, no matter the location. Most production areas of the Pacific Northwest and California experience Read More
Apples & Pears
June 28, 2017
Apple Tree Insurance Program Being Developed
U.S. Apple Association working with AgriLogic Consulting, LLC and USDA Risk Management Agency to offer new risk management option which takes into effect weather damage and fire blight loses. Read More
Apples & Pears
June 26, 2017
Cosmic Changes Coming in Apple Production [Opinion]
‘Cosmic Crisp’ is an apt moniker for Washington’s new apple, because the changes coming to the industry are immense Read More
Apples & Pears
June 23, 2017
Take Advantage of Technology to Help Manage Diseases, Pest Pressure
Expert farm advisers provide several options for apple orchard management decisions. Read More
Apples & Pears
June 19, 2017
Bee-ware: New Resources Released for National Pollinator Week
New videos, webinars available during week-long observance. Read More
Apples & Pears
June 13, 2017
Two Bookkeepers and Family Charged With Stealing $1M from Zirkle Fruit
Payroll-scheme printed checks for phantom employees on payroll, but not working for the operation. Read More
Apples & Pears
June 9, 2017
Northwest Pear Crop Down Slightly
Washington and Oregon growers estimate the crop will be down 2% from 2016, 10% off the five-year average. Read More
Apples & Pears
June 9, 2017
San Jose Scale Control Strategies
It’s time to start scouting and treat trees when trapping indicates. Read More
Apples & Pears
June 5, 2017
Ease Bitter Pit by Boosting Calcium
Promising research shows the link between transpiration and calcium uptake and how abscisic acid may help reduce calcium disorders in ‘Honeycrisp.’ Read More
Apples & Pears
June 2, 2017
Pruning Goes High-Tech
Researchers moving toward robotics that shift dormant pruning from an art to a science. Read More
Apples & Pears
June 2, 2017
Learning Pruning, by Doing
A firsthand account of using four pruning rules. Read More
Apples & Pears
May 23, 2017
Grower Shares Personal Impact of Labor Shortage
USApple leader Phil Glaize of Virginia stresses need for reform with current labor regulations, programs at Congressional briefing on agriculture labor crisis. Read More
Apples & Pears
May 15, 2017
U.S. Apple Board Member Stresses Labor Reform At Senate Farm Bill Hearing
Michigan apple grower says agriculture’s future depends on Farm Bill funding. Read More
Apples & Pears
May 8, 2017
Abundant Robotics Gets $10M Investment for an Apple Harvester
The goal is to pick apples with the same, if not better, fruit quality than traditional harvesting. Read More
Apples & Pears
May 2, 2017
Washington Apple Industry Giants Merge
Chelan Fresh and Borton Fruit combine; total sales volume increases by nearly half. Read More
The Latest
Apples & Pears
July 25, 2017
Tips to Transition to an Apple Fruiting …
Follow these suggestions to make the move from a 3-D spindle-shaped canopy to a 2-D system using mechanical pruning. Read More
Apples & Pears
July 6, 2017
International Fruit Tree Association See…
Deadline for proposals is July 31. Read More
Apples & Pears
June 30, 2017
Tackling the Challenges of Organic Apple…
Researchers at Michigan State University test organic controls for fire blight. Read More
Apples & Pears
June 29, 2017
Integrating Control Methods to Tackle Fi…
Fire blight is a damaging disease, no matter the location. Most production areas of the Pacific Northwest and California experience Read More
Apples & Pears
June 28, 2017
Apple Tree Insurance Program Being Devel…
U.S. Apple Association working with AgriLogic Consulting, LLC and USDA Risk Management Agency to offer new risk management option which takes into effect weather damage and fire blight loses. Read More
Apples & Pears
June 26, 2017
Cosmic Changes Coming in Apple Productio…
‘Cosmic Crisp’ is an apt moniker for Washington’s new apple, because the changes coming to the industry are immense Read More
Apples & Pears
June 23, 2017
Take Advantage of Technology to Help Man…
Expert farm advisers provide several options for apple orchard management decisions. Read More
Apples & Pears
June 19, 2017
Bee-ware: New Resources Released for Nat…
New videos, webinars available during week-long observance. Read More
Apples & Pears
June 13, 2017
Two Bookkeepers and Family Charged With …
Payroll-scheme printed checks for phantom employees on payroll, but not working for the operation. Read More
Apples & Pears
June 9, 2017
Northwest Pear Crop Down Slightly
Washington and Oregon growers estimate the crop will be down 2% from 2016, 10% off the five-year average. Read More
Apples & Pears
June 9, 2017
San Jose Scale Control Strategies
It’s time to start scouting and treat trees when trapping indicates. Read More
Apples & Pears
June 5, 2017
Ease Bitter Pit by Boosting Calcium
Promising research shows the link between transpiration and calcium uptake and how abscisic acid may help reduce calcium disorders in ‘Honeycrisp.’ Read More
Apples & Pears
June 2, 2017
Pruning Goes High-Tech
Researchers moving toward robotics that shift dormant pruning from an art to a science. Read More
Apples & Pears
June 2, 2017
Learning Pruning, by Doing
A firsthand account of using four pruning rules. Read More
Apples & Pears
May 23, 2017
Grower Shares Personal Impact of Labor S…
USApple leader Phil Glaize of Virginia stresses need for reform with current labor regulations, programs at Congressional briefing on agriculture labor crisis. Read More
Apples & Pears
May 15, 2017
U.S. Apple Board Member Stresses Labor R…
Michigan apple grower says agriculture’s future depends on Farm Bill funding. Read More
Apples & Pears
May 8, 2017
Abundant Robotics Gets $10M Investment f…
The goal is to pick apples with the same, if not better, fruit quality than traditional harvesting. Read More
Apples & Pears
May 2, 2017
Washington Apple Industry Giants Merge
Chelan Fresh and Borton Fruit combine; total sales volume increases by nearly half. Read More