An Awakening To The Value Of Biopesticides [Opinion]

Rick Melnick BPIAWhen I worked with Meister Media Worldwide to engineer its last special report on biopesticides in 2011, I was the company’s editorial director. At the time I had been covering ag production for about 16 years, and Meister was regarded as the most progressive and knowledgeable media company with respect to biological control.

A lot of that knowledge came from our involvement in a then fledgling organization called BPIA — the Biopesticide Industry Alliance. We became an ad hoc member of BPIA in 2003 and I attended my first BPIA meeting to learn more about the category. I recall that meeting vividly because everyone sat at the same table. It was a close-knit group totaling around 20 people.

By the time I recommended that first special report to the editorial team in 2011, membership in BPIA had surpassed 60 companies. Another group called the International Biocontrol Manufacturers Association (IBMA) had since sprung up in Europe and was beginning to draw large crowds to its meetings. There were changes afoot and where once I’d felt more than a hint of desperation within BPIA, I now sensed the mood had transformed to expectation. Something big was about to happen.

Biocontrols 2015 Conference
That’s exactly what I wrote about in my introduction to the first Rise of Biopesticides report. The biopesticide industry appeared to be at an inflection point, I told our readers. I have to admit that despite the changes I’d seen, part of me felt like I was going out on a limb. But as it turns out, I had no idea just how swift the changes in the biopesticide industry would be.

A Lot More Seats at the Table

Flash forward three years and I’m the Chairman of BPIA’s Board of Directors and work on the business management team at one of its founding member companies. Today, in addition to the tens of smaller biopesticide-producing members, BPIA membership includes such ag chem stalwarts as Bayer CropScience, Syngenta, DuPont, Monsanto, and BASF. Billions of biopesticide-driven dollars have changed hands since that first report and I can safely say that if there’s a table big enough to hold everyone at today’s BPIA meetings, I haven’t seen it.

If you’ve taken the time to read this report, hopefully you better understand what’s behind the dramatic growth. Agriculture — indeed the food value chain — has had a real awakening concerning the value of biopesticides as part of an integrated crop production program.

With the entry of these major suppliers into the biopesticide arena, whether or not biopesticides work is no longer the question. Now, people want to understand how they work. Consumers and regulators see biopesticides as environmentally responsible tools that can help minimize impact. Food companies see suppliers using biopesticides as strategic partners who bolster their sustainability efforts. Retailers see biopesticides as resistance fighters that can fill gaps in their portfolios and help maintain the life cycle of other important products. Crop advisors see all of the above and seek practical knowledge about biopesticides to help meet the demand and differentiate themselves among their peers.

As for my prediction in advance of the next report, I’m going to postulate that any lingering euphoria from this phase shift among biopesticide producers will quickly subside. The big boys are in town, and it’s time to get down to business. That’s good news for growers and the whole value chain.

Topics: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

One comment on “An Awakening To The Value Of Biopesticides [Opinion]

  1. RICK;
    GREAT ARTICLE CAPTURING THE AMAZING GROWTH OF THE BIOPESTICIDE INDUSTRY AND BPIA IN THE LAST DECADE ! YOUR LEADERSHIP AS BPIA CHAIR IS A VERY POSITIVE MOVE. I REALLY ENJOYED MY 13 PLUS YEARS ASSOCIATED WITH BPIA IN THE EARLY YEARS AS THE IR-4 EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR AND MORE RECENTLY AS MEMBERSHIP CHAIR AND BOARD VICE-CHAIR UNTIL RETIREMENT IN 2013.

Apples & Pears Stories
Apples & Pears
March 5, 2017
Will ‘Ambrosia’ Take The Best Apple Variety Title Again This Year?
Varieties square off in ‘Apple Madness’ bracket-style championship. Read More
Apples & Pears
March 3, 2017
Apple Freeze Risk Tool Helps Growers Assess Troublesome Temperatures
Website helps growers determine whether or not crops are at risk of damage. Read More
Apples & Pears
March 2, 2017
Setting Trees Up Right is Theme of Second, Third Days of IFTA Conference
Presentations focus on making sure the orchard is productive and planted properly the first time. Read More
Apples & Pears
February 24, 2017
Don’t Underestimate the Importance of a Solid Foundation in Your Orchard
Trellising study helps growers understand the basics of setting up an orchard infrastructure properly. Read More
Apples & Pears
February 21, 2017
Snow Doesn’t Stop Day 1 of IFTA Conference
While the Wenatchee, WA, area has experienced higher-than expected snowfall, tour-goers trudge on to learn the latest about advanced production systems and high-value apple varieties. Read More
Apples & Pears
January 31, 2017
Pruning Demo Held in Pennsylvania
Penn State University Extension to present simplified pruning rules for employees, orchard managers. Read More
Apples & Pears
January 31, 2017
Tips to Prune Smarter, Not Harder in Your Orchard
Use this practical precision pruning exercise to help you and your employees. Read More
a firm handshake signifies a done deal
Apples & Pears
January 16, 2017
Earl Brown & Sons Sold to Washington Fruit Grower
Foreman family purchases Oregon’s largest grower, packer of fresh apples. Read More
Apples & Pears
January 14, 2017
Washington State University Researchers Develop Hard Cider Apple Storage, Harvesting Recommendations
A study by researchers at Washington State University offer cider apple harvesting and storage recommendations for growers. Travis Alexander, Jaqueline Read More
Apples & Pears
January 11, 2017
‘Arctic Golden’ Slices to hit Midwestern Stores
Ready-to-eat packs will be in test markets early this year. Read More
Apples & Pears
January 10, 2017
New Zealand Scientists Hope to Prevent Diabetes Through Apple Breeding
Apples are found to have a compound that reduces the risk of obesity, diabetes. Read More
Apples & Pears
January 5, 2017
Produce Veteran Tapped as New York Apple President
New president and CEO Cynthia Haskin has experience with Washington Apple Commission, takes over for Jim Allen. Read More
Apples & Pears
January 5, 2017
Traditional Varieties Still the Focus of Pome Plantings
Moneymakers — that’s what traditional apple varieties such as ‘Fuji,’ ‘Gala,’ and ‘Honeycrisp’ are often referred to in the industry. Read More
Apples & Pears
December 31, 2016
Association Seeks Proposals for Hard Cider Research Grant
Projects aim to elevate U.S. hard cider industry. Read More
Apples & Pears
December 29, 2016
Stark Bro’s Nurseries & Orchards Co. Celebrates 200th Anniversary
This growing season marked the 200th anniversary for Stark Bro’s Nurseries & Orchards Co. in Louisiana, MO. Stark Bro’s is Read More
The Latest
Apples & Pears
March 21, 2017
Two More Lost Apple Varieties Found In S…
Amateur apple detective strikes again with two more finds in abandoned orchards near state park. Read More
Apples & Pears
March 11, 2017
Stark Bro’s Debuts Two New ‘Honeycrisp’ …
Both ‘Stark Ruby Darling’ and ‘Stark Scarlet Crush’ boast sweetness, crunch, and non-browning attributes. Read More
Apples & Pears
March 6, 2017
Future Is Now At IFTA Conference
Robotics, bi-axe growing systems the highlight of sessions. Read More
Apples & Pears
March 5, 2017
Will ‘Ambrosia’ Take The Best Apple Vari…
Varieties square off in ‘Apple Madness’ bracket-style championship. Read More
Apples & Pears
March 3, 2017
Apple Freeze Risk Tool Helps Growers Ass…
Website helps growers determine whether or not crops are at risk of damage. Read More
Apples & Pears
March 2, 2017
Setting Trees Up Right is Theme of Secon…
Presentations focus on making sure the orchard is productive and planted properly the first time. Read More
Apples & Pears
February 24, 2017
Don’t Underestimate the Importance…
Trellising study helps growers understand the basics of setting up an orchard infrastructure properly. Read More
Apples & Pears
February 21, 2017
Snow Doesn’t Stop Day 1 of IFTA Conferen…
While the Wenatchee, WA, area has experienced higher-than expected snowfall, tour-goers trudge on to learn the latest about advanced production systems and high-value apple varieties. Read More
Apples & Pears
January 31, 2017
Pruning Demo Held in Pennsylvania
Penn State University Extension to present simplified pruning rules for employees, orchard managers. Read More
Apples & Pears
January 31, 2017
Tips to Prune Smarter, Not Harder in You…
Use this practical precision pruning exercise to help you and your employees. Read More
Apples & Pears
January 16, 2017
Earl Brown & Sons Sold to Washington…
Foreman family purchases Oregon’s largest grower, packer of fresh apples. Read More
Apples & Pears
January 14, 2017
Washington State University Researchers …
A study by researchers at Washington State University offer cider apple harvesting and storage recommendations for growers. Travis Alexander, Jaqueline Read More
Apples & Pears
January 11, 2017
‘Arctic Golden’ Slices to hit Midwestern…
Ready-to-eat packs will be in test markets early this year. Read More
Apples & Pears
January 10, 2017
New Zealand Scientists Hope to Prevent D…
Apples are found to have a compound that reduces the risk of obesity, diabetes. Read More
Apples & Pears
January 5, 2017
Produce Veteran Tapped as New York Apple…
New president and CEO Cynthia Haskin has experience with Washington Apple Commission, takes over for Jim Allen. Read More
Apples & Pears
January 5, 2017
Traditional Varieties Still the Focus of…
Moneymakers — that’s what traditional apple varieties such as ‘Fuji,’ ‘Gala,’ and ‘Honeycrisp’ are often referred to in the industry. Read More
Apples & Pears
December 31, 2016
Association Seeks Proposals for Hard Cid…
Projects aim to elevate U.S. hard cider industry. Read More
Apples & Pears
December 29, 2016
Stark Bro’s Nurseries & Orchards Co.…
This growing season marked the 200th anniversary for Stark Bro’s Nurseries & Orchards Co. in Louisiana, MO. Stark Bro’s is Read More